*New 11.4 series Release:
2020-07-03: XigmaNAS 11.4.0.4.7633 - released!

*New 12.1 series Release:
2020-04-17: XigmaNAS 12.1.0.4.7542 - released


We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money. Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

Memory allocation problem and question

VirtualBox, VM config and HDD images.
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
erik
experienced User
experienced User
Posts: 83
Joined: 14 Jul 2014 09:45
Status: Offline

Memory allocation problem and question

#1

Post by erik »

Is it possible to pre-allocate and lock all memory for a VM so it never will fight with the ARC about memory and you never get swapping?
Or should I use the zfs tune thing to reduce the max amount of memory the ARC will use?

I'd rather have virtualbox complaing it can not start a VM then a crash of the VM later.
primary NAS: 2*8Tb raidz1, backup NAS: 6*2TB raidz2, remote backup NAS: 3*2TB raidz1 : All NAS4Free 11.0

Onichan
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 240
Joined: 04 Jul 2012 21:41
Status: Offline

Re: Memory allocation problem and question

#2

Post by Onichan »

It's better to set the vfs.zfs.arc_max, it's set in System|Advanced|loader.conf

I had to set mine to 27GB to get OOM Killer to stop killing the VM. I have 32GB and a 2GB VM, but VirtualBox has some overhead and have to account for system processes.

erik
experienced User
experienced User
Posts: 83
Joined: 14 Jul 2014 09:45
Status: Offline

Re: Memory allocation problem and question

#3

Post by erik »

Thanks.
5 gb reserve to make a 2gb vm work
Will have to buy extra memory
primary NAS: 2*8Tb raidz1, backup NAS: 6*2TB raidz2, remote backup NAS: 3*2TB raidz1 : All NAS4Free 11.0

User avatar
apollo567
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 746
Joined: 23 Jun 2012 06:37
Location: Ludwigshafen, Germany
Status: Offline

Re: Memory allocation problem and question

#4

Post by apollo567 »

erik wrote:Thanks.
5 gb reserve to make a 2gb vm work
Will have to buy extra memory
Well show us more from your system....
my NAS and its development until today: viewtopic.php?f=63&t=39&sid=039fed830cf ... 4d0abe4a04

erik
experienced User
experienced User
Posts: 83
Joined: 14 Jul 2014 09:45
Status: Offline

Re: Memory allocation problem and question

#5

Post by erik »

I using a A4-5000 with 16GByte memory
Could it be that enabling I/O APIC leads to instability?
I'm running a 32 bit windows 2003 guest so no need for I/O APIC to be enabled I assume.
And I disabled nested paging as on a embedded configuration without a page file this does not make sense
Testing now if this improves.
primary NAS: 2*8Tb raidz1, backup NAS: 6*2TB raidz2, remote backup NAS: 3*2TB raidz1 : All NAS4Free 11.0

erik
experienced User
experienced User
Posts: 83
Joined: 14 Jul 2014 09:45
Status: Offline

Re: Memory allocation problem and question

#6

Post by erik »

First impression is performance improved.
Will wait for a day or two
primary NAS: 2*8Tb raidz1, backup NAS: 6*2TB raidz2, remote backup NAS: 3*2TB raidz1 : All NAS4Free 11.0

Post Reply

Return to “VM|VirtualBox”