*New 12.1 series Release:
2019-11-08: XigmaNAS 12.1.0.4.7091 - released!

*New 11.3 series Release:
2019-10-19: XigmaNAS 11.3.0.4.7014 - released


We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money. Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

Active Directory Settings

Authenticating XigmaNAS users using Active Directory or NT PDC
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
meelos
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 2
Joined: 11 Dec 2014 16:50
Status: Offline

Active Directory Settings

#1

Post by meelos » 11 Dec 2014 17:01

I'm finding conflicting information and want to ensure I'm not inputting the wrong data when I try and join to an Active Directory domain. I've read that inputting the wrong info in certain fields can really screw up AD bad with FreeNAS, so I'm assuming the same could happen with NAS4Free too.

Can anyone tell me what is required in the second domain name field (netbios name)? Is it the actual hostname?

In the wiki screenshot, it looks like its the hostname of the NAS4Free server. (which would be what we see in the System-->General-->Hostname field in the NAS4Free GUI)

In one forum post, I saw someone say to put the following which is either confusing, misleading, or both.

- domain controller name: myadserver
- domain name: mydomain.com
- domain name: MYDOMAIN

Thanks in advance for the clarification.

P.S. The time out (auto log out) is too short on this board.

meelos
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 2
Joined: 11 Dec 2014 16:50
Status: Offline

Re: Active Directory Settings

#2

Post by meelos » 11 Dec 2014 18:26

wtf, every reboot resets my nic, as well as every other setting. nevermind. I'm done.

shanky
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 1
Joined: 16 Feb 2017 13:09
Status: Offline

Re: Active Directory Settings

#3

Post by shanky » 16 Feb 2017 13:12

great one lucky patcher

Post Reply

Return to “Active Directory”