*New 11.3 series Release:
2019-10-19: XigmaNAS 11.3.0.4.7014 - released

*New 12.0 series Release:
2019-10-05: XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4.6928 - released!

*New 11.2 series Release:
2019-09-23: XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4.6881 - released!

We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money. Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

NFS and Windows ... *sigh*

Network filesystems.
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
Floh
Starter
Starter
Posts: 24
Joined: 10 Feb 2013 22:55
Status: Offline

NFS and Windows ... *sigh*

#1

Post by Floh » 29 Dec 2016 00:37

I am running a brand new NAS4Free system (11.0.0.4). I have SMB and NFS protocols enabled, and shares set up for both protocols. My Kodi boxes access the NFS shares just fine (although I had to enable zeroconf for them to see it), and it is much faster than SMB.

So I thought my Windows machine that I also back up to the server regularly would profit from NFS as well, and installed the required stuff (running Win7 Ultimate). I can mount the share using "mount -u:xxx -P:yyy 192.123.123.1:/mnt/media x:"
and I can browse it just fine. But when I try to copy anything (I have a small robocopy batch file that I run regularly), I get this kind of message:
"Error 0x80070021: cannot access the file because it is in use by another process" even though I just mounted the drive and nothing else is accessing it AFAIK that is.

I know NFS and Windows don't mix well, but my data transfer rates over SMB suck. Any pointers as to what I should do differently?

Floh
Starter
Starter
Posts: 24
Joined: 10 Feb 2013 22:55
Status: Offline

Re: NFS and Windows ... *sigh*

#2

Post by Floh » 29 Dec 2016 00:43

Never mind. I kept searching the net, and I found that the option "nolock" is required for it to work. Now getting much better data rates through NFS on my Windows machine.

Maybe leave this on here in case somebody else has the same problem.

User avatar
gomario
Starter
Starter
Posts: 73
Joined: 17 Dec 2016 08:45
Status: Offline

Re: NFS and Windows ... *sigh*

#3

Post by gomario » 29 Dec 2016 07:55

Yes, TX buddy. Can you help me do the same thing please? It will be much appreciated if you could give us a step by step Nas4Free and Widows (7_Ultimate) setting configuration. Some of us are absolute beginners :(

Sent from my LG-V490 using Tapatalk

Post Reply

Return to “NFS”