*New 11.3 series Release:
2019-10-05: XigmaNAS 11.3.0.4.6928 - released, 11.2 series are soon unsupported!

*New 12.0 series Release:
2019-10-05: XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4.6928 - released!

*New 11.2 series Release:
2019-09-23: XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4.6881 - released!

We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money. Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

Seems iSCSI is not running

iSCSI over TCP/IP.
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
drnicolas
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 182
Joined: 15 Aug 2013 14:03
Location: Wiesbaden, Germany
Status: Offline

Seems iSCSI is not running

#1

Post by drnicolas » 07 Jan 2017 17:49

I do not find any processes which look alike iSCSI.
How can I manuall start this service and get a verbos log of what is going on?
HP Proliant N54L - Bios Mod -16GB non-ECC-RAM - ZFS RAIDZ1 (3x3TB) - 1VM running XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4.6026

Riften
Starter
Starter
Posts: 15
Joined: 04 Jul 2015 16:02
Location: Los Angeles County
Status: Offline

Re: Seems iSCSI is not running

#2

Post by Riften » 23 Jan 2017 00:52

No, ISCSI (and most services) aren't setup or running by default. Don't put the cart before the horse. First you need to have either a software or ZFS volume created. You can then use that volume to create an extent in SERVICES/ISCSI TARGET, which you can use to create your ISCSI target. Check here for more info: http://www.wiki.nas4free.org/doku.php?i ... zfs_volume
Tzvia
11.2.0.4 - Omnius (revision 5774)
Supermicro X10SL7-F, Intel Xeon E3-1241 v3, 3.5 GHz
32gigs Pacific Sun ECC 1600MHz
4x Toshiba 3TB NAS drives, 4x Toshiba 4TB NAS drives: ZFS stripped mirrors
4 port Intel NIC
Thermaltake V71 Case (yea it's huge) & EVGA 650W PSU

drnicolas
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 182
Joined: 15 Aug 2013 14:03
Location: Wiesbaden, Germany
Status: Offline

Re: Seems iSCSI is not running

#3

Post by drnicolas » 23 Jan 2017 10:17

To be more precise, I have configured iSCSI.

I have bound it to the second NIC with a separate IP.
But this NIC does not work by Default, I have to ifconfig ... with Startup script.
Therefore I would like to have a more detailed log to find out what happens (or not)
HP Proliant N54L - Bios Mod -16GB non-ECC-RAM - ZFS RAIDZ1 (3x3TB) - 1VM running XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4.6026

User avatar
ms49434
Developer
Developer
Posts: 718
Joined: 03 Sep 2015 18:49
Location: Neuenkirchen-Vörden, Germany - GMT+1
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Seems iSCSI is not running

#4

Post by ms49434 » 23 Jan 2017 23:46

there's no need to configure your NIC via scripts.

Just go to Network -> Interface Management and add your interface.
If the missing interface is already there you should press the save button followed by a reboot (just to be sure).
Your 2nd interface should now be available via Network -> OPT1 and you should be able to configure it via webgui.
1) XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4 amd64-embedded on a Dell T20 running in a VM on ESXi 6.7U2, 22GB out of 32GB ECC RAM, LSI 9300-8i IT mode in passthrough mode. Pool 1: 2x HGST 10TB, mirrored, SLOG: Samsung 850 Pro, L2ARC: Samsung 850 Pro, Pool 2: 1x Samsung 860 EVO 1TB , services: Samba AD, CIFS/SMB, ftp, ctld, rsync, syncthing, zfs snapshots.
2) XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4 amd64-embedded on a Dell T20 running in a VM on ESXi 6.7U2, 8GB out of 32GB ECC RAM, IBM M1215 crossflashed, IT mode, passthrough mode, 2x HGST 10TB , services: rsync.

drnicolas
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 182
Joined: 15 Aug 2013 14:03
Location: Wiesbaden, Germany
Status: Offline

Re: Seems iSCSI is not running

#5

Post by drnicolas » 24 Jan 2017 11:24

That is correct.
I did this and assigned IP 10.0.0.1 to this additional NIC including netmask.
Nevertheless, an ifconfig issued from commandline shows the second NIC with NO IP! assigned. Of course, this NIc is not working correctly.
After something like "ifconfig bge0 10.0.0.1" I have my IP assigned - after a reboot anything is screwed up again.
See my posting under network.
I have no solution for this besides ofputting the ifconfig command in a startup script
I
HP Proliant N54L - Bios Mod -16GB non-ECC-RAM - ZFS RAIDZ1 (3x3TB) - 1VM running XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4.6026

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4921
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Seems iSCSI is not running

#6

Post by raulfg3 » 24 Jan 2017 11:35

drnicolas wrote:
24 Jan 2017 11:24
That is correct.
I did this and assigned IP 10.0.0.1 to this additional NIC including netmask.
Nevertheless, an ifconfig issued from commandline shows the second NIC with NO IP! assigned. Of course, this NIc is not working correctly.
After something like "ifconfig bge0 10.0.0.1" I have my IP assigned - after a reboot anything is screwed up again.
See my posting under network.
I have no solution for this besides ofputting the ifconfig command in a startup script
I
this is not a normal behabiour, sometimes a reinstall fron scratch and configure by hand services, solve the problem ( not to load previosly saved config that perpetue the problem), so if is possible for you, do a new fresh install on a NEW boot device ( to preserve actual boot device), and test if this time your second NIC=OPT1 works as expected.
12.0.0.4 (revision 6766)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes

Post Reply

Return to “iSCSI (Internet Small Computer Systems Interface)”