Latest News:
2018-11-29: XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4.6229 - released!

We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS cost money, please consider a donation to our project so we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

No DNS setting found

Dynamic DNS services.
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
aputamkon
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 4
Joined: 18 Jul 2016 01:32
Status: Offline

No DNS setting found

#1

Post by aputamkon » 11 Feb 2017 04:36

not sure if this is what is preventing me from connecting remotely. I can connect through my web browser but when i try to connect from a friends house or by using winscp i cannot connect. i do have a no-ip domain name cipenuk.ddns.net and i did port forward port 22 to my ip for my nas4free ip adderss. any ideas on why i cant connect remotely? locally i can connect from all my home devices i just want to be able to access my files when i away. thanks

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4627
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: No DNS setting found

#2

Post by raulfg3 » 11 Feb 2017 09:19

you need to define apropiate host allow in webGUI: http://wiki.nas4free.org/doku.php?id=do ... em_options


Please search forum to find apropiate values
XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4 - Omnius (revision 6195)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes
Old Wiki

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4627
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: No DNS setting found

#3

Post by raulfg3 » 11 Feb 2017 09:33

Ok, I search the forum and is not clear what to write on Host allow for a NO-IP external conection.


any help are wellcome .

If some of the users that read this have a external working conection using NO-IP or other dynDNS service, please share with us , what to write on "Host Allow"
XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4 - Omnius (revision 6195)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes
Old Wiki

User avatar
ms49434
Developer
Developer
Posts: 444
Joined: 03 Sep 2015 18:49
Location: Neuenkirchen, Germany - GMT+1
Status: Offline

Re: No DNS setting found

#4

Post by ms49434 » 11 Feb 2017 11:58

the most insecure configuration that allows you (but anyone else as well) to access your nas4free box from anywhere is to put the following into hosts allow:
your_nas4free_ip/your_subnet_suffix 0.0.0.0/1 128.0.0.0/1

if your NAS4Free box is maintained over IP address 192.168.0.222 and your subnet suffix is 24 (255.255.255.0) you should enter:
192.168.0.222/24 0.0.0.0/1 128.0.0.0/1

It is always recommended to connect to your home via VPN.
1) XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4 amd64-embedded on a Dell T20 running in a VM on ESXi 6.7, 22GB out of 32GB ECC RAM, LSI 9300-8i IT mode in passthrough mode. Pool 1: 2x HGST 10TB, mirrored, SLOG: Samsung 850 Pro, L2ARC: Samsung 850 Pro, Pool 2: 1x Samsung 860 EVO 1TB , services: Samba AD, CIFS/SMB, ftp, ctld, rsync, syncthing, zfs snapshots.
2) XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4 amd64-embedded on a Dell T20 running in a VM on ESXi 6.7, 8GB out of 32GB ECC RAM, IBM M1215 crossflashed, IT mode, passthrough mode, 1x HGST 10TB , services: rsync.

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4627
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: No DNS setting found

#5

Post by raulfg3 » 16 Feb 2017 15:21

Hello, one question, It's possible add dyndns names on Host allow to permit root login from internet and do not open widely?

Or

if not possible is a way to add some type of secure access only if you enter the corrent name (dyndnsname)?
1.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4 - Omnius (revision 6195)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes
Old Wiki

dreadylock
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 1
Joined: 14 Apr 2017 18:36
Status: Offline

Re: No DNS setting found

#6

Post by dreadylock » 21 Apr 2017 01:48

hi i'm first time nas4free user and not trying to connect with anything outside my house
i'm just nas4free as a media server and file server inhouse only
why do i have this message? no dns found
how can i fix this also i keep loosing ip address on rebootmy verion is 11.0.0.4195
my box is ZOTAC Turion II Neo K625 AMD M880G SATA3&USB3.0 WiFi A&V&GbE Mini ITX Motherboard - M880GITX-A-E
with 8 gb ram and 2 hd wdc 500 blue and seagate ironwolf 4tb disk combo drive
i installed embedded to cruzer fit 16gb

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4627
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: No DNS setting found

#7

Post by raulfg3 » 21 Apr 2017 07:34

dreadylock wrote:
21 Apr 2017 01:48
hi i'm first time nas4free user and not trying to connect with anything outside my house
i'm just nas4free as a media server and file server inhouse only
why do i have this message? no dns found
how can i fix this also i keep loosing ip address on rebootmy verion is 11.0.0.4195
my box is ZOTAC Turion II Neo K625 AMD M880G SATA3&USB3.0 WiFi A&V&GbE Mini ITX Motherboard - M880GITX-A-E
with 8 gb ram and 2 hd wdc 500 blue and seagate ironwolf 4tb disk combo drive
i installed embedded to cruzer fit 16gb
post screen capture of your home page to check that really have embeded install, lost config on rebbot usually mean that you boot from liveUSB.

and post if you use DHCP or fixed IP and some screen capture of how is configured.
XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4 - Omnius (revision 6195)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes
Old Wiki

aputamkon
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 4
Joined: 18 Jul 2016 01:32
Status: Offline

Re: No DNS setting found

#8

Post by aputamkon » 11 Sep 2017 06:22

I still cant login from any where else but home. why cant i access my server from any where else like my neighbors house?

User avatar
F8BOE
experienced User
experienced User
Posts: 106
Joined: 03 Jun 2013 23:09
Location: France
Status: Offline

Re: No DNS setting found

#9

Post by F8BOE » 18 Sep 2017 21:33

Hello,

So the "No DNS setting found" problem is still not solved... Why should I have a DNS set, and which DNS service should be meant?

I have the same problem on my Pi2 10.3.0.3 - Pilingitam (revision 4529) but not on my PII 400 10.3.0.3 - Pilingitam (revision 4299) where I have configured a DDNS service as this is the server I use as fileserver for the WAN.

Ciao @+

User avatar
F8BOE
experienced User
experienced User
Posts: 106
Joined: 03 Jun 2013 23:09
Location: France
Status: Offline

Re: No DNS setting found

#10

Post by F8BOE » 18 Sep 2017 22:13

Update!!!

I definitely found where the DNS should be configured!

It is in the menu "system - general" there you can enter the primary and the secondary DNS server address of your ISP.

Ciao @+

Post Reply

Return to “Dynamic DNS”