*New 11.3 series Release:
2019-10-05: XigmaNAS 11.3.0.4.6928 - released, 11.2 series are soon unsupported!

*New 12.0 series Release:
2019-10-05: XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4.6928 - released!

*New 11.2 series Release:
2019-09-23: XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4.6881 - released!

We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money. Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

Cannot Access WebGUI using DDNS

Dynamic DNS services.
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
Mathew
Starter
Starter
Posts: 18
Joined: 22 Jun 2013 09:58
Status: Offline

Cannot Access WebGUI using DDNS

#1

Post by Mathew » 24 Sep 2014 20:19

Hello,

I recently completely reinstalled Nas4Free. Everything seems to be running as it should but I am now unable to access the WebGUI using DDNS. I use no-ip.com for this service and kept everything the same to the best of my knowledge. I am able to SSH into my system using the DDNS domain, but I am not able to get to my WebGUI. I am at a loss as to what I need to do to get this working again.

Thanks!

chrisf4lc0n
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 265
Joined: 07 May 2013 13:15
Location: West Drayton (London)
Status: Offline

Re: Cannot Access WebGUI using DDNS

#2

Post by chrisf4lc0n » 24 Sep 2014 20:43

I have encountered the same problem, I got it working somehow in the past not knowing what I did. I can live with that as I normally connect through the SSH SOCKS5 Proxy when outside (for security reasons and to bypass restrictions), so everything works on local/home IP addresses, but it would be nice to have it working... All the other services I run like Transmission, BubbleUPnP, BTSync seem to be accessible from the internet over the HTTPS, but not the webGUI.
I will follow this thread to find something more out.
Watercooling is just the beginning ;)

Mathew
Starter
Starter
Posts: 18
Joined: 22 Jun 2013 09:58
Status: Offline

Re: Cannot Access WebGUI using DDNS

#3

Post by Mathew » 25 Sep 2014 03:26

I was able to resolve the issue. I changed the default WebGUI port number and now it works as long as I task on the port number at the end of the domain! Hope that helps you as well!

chrisf4lc0n
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 265
Joined: 07 May 2013 13:15
Location: West Drayton (London)
Status: Offline

Re: Cannot Access WebGUI using DDNS

#4

Post by chrisf4lc0n » 28 Sep 2014 11:13

Mathew wrote:I was able to resolve the issue. I changed the default WebGUI port number and now it works as long as I task on the port number at the end of the domain! Hope that helps you as well!
I have never used the default 443 port, as that has been reserved for different service I am running, so that solution does not work for me :(
The NAS4Free is DMZ, so no port forwarding is needed.
Watercooling is just the beginning ;)

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4921
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Cannot Access WebGUI using DDNS

#5

Post by raulfg3 » 28 Sep 2014 14:43

chrisf4lc0n wrote:he NAS4Free is DMZ, so no port forwarding is needed.
yes, no port forwarding is needed but your N4F is totally exposed to Internet, so it can be easyly detected & attacked.


Do you use embeded N4F firewall and it's properly configured?.

If no, your data and your NAS are really in serious troubles.
12.0.0.4 (revision 6766)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes

chrisf4lc0n
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 265
Joined: 07 May 2013 13:15
Location: West Drayton (London)
Status: Offline

Re: Cannot Access WebGUI using DDNS

#6

Post by chrisf4lc0n » 29 Sep 2014 11:07

raulfg3 wrote: Do you use embeded N4F firewall and it's properly configured?.

If no, your data and your NAS are really in serious troubles.
I think I should be fairly safe I am using Fail2Ban, as well as the firewall...
Watercooling is just the beginning ;)

longshaw
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 3
Joined: 29 Oct 2014 13:51
Status: Offline

Cannot Access WebGUI using DDNS

#7

Post by longshaw » 21 Feb 2015 13:26

I have the same problem as described.

I have a NoIP URL and can't get to it from outside my LAN any ideas?? I thought I'm supposed to be doing with this port forwarding however not 100% sure what I should be forwarding any ideas ?
All I want to do it access transmission from outside my LAN ?



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

kk68
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 6
Joined: 26 Jun 2012 11:47
Location: Vlaams Brabant Belgium
Status: Offline

Re: Cannot Access WebGUI using DDNS

#8

Post by kk68 » 21 Feb 2015 13:38

You can try the port forwarding on the no-ip side, so you just have to remember the name. Make sure the ports match, and in staid of dmz just forward the needed ports on your routher

longshaw
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 3
Joined: 29 Oct 2014 13:51
Status: Offline

Cannot Access WebGUI using DDNS

#9

Post by longshaw » 21 Feb 2015 13:48

Sorry I am really new to this. Do u know of any tutorials on how to do this?
And do u mean on the NoIP website?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

longshaw
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 3
Joined: 29 Oct 2014 13:51
Status: Offline

Cannot Access WebGUI using DDNS

#10

Post by longshaw » 21 Feb 2015 13:52

I wanna access this transmission web gui

Using this:
Free4nas.ddns.net

I can't believe how simple everyone else seems to make this ...


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

kk68
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 6
Joined: 26 Jun 2012 11:47
Location: Vlaams Brabant Belgium
Status: Offline

Re: Cannot Access WebGUI using DDNS

#11

Post by kk68 » 22 Feb 2015 10:25

Free4nas.ddns.net Doesn't seem to be a noip domain . Did you register with them or somewhere else? Noip has a good FAQs section.

pw0982
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 1
Joined: 09 Apr 2015 00:29
Status: Offline

Re: Cannot Access WebGUI using DDNS

#12

Post by pw0982 » 17 Apr 2015 01:20

kk68 wrote:Free4nas.ddns.net Doesn't seem to be a noip domain . Did you register with them or somewhere else? Noip has a good FAQs section.
It is a noip domain name. One of the free ones.

Post Reply

Return to “Dynamic DNS”