*New 12.1 series Release:
2019-11-08: XigmaNAS 12.1.0.4.7091 - released!

*New 11.3 series Release:
2019-10-19: XigmaNAS 11.3.0.4.7014 - released


We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money. Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

Setting up UPS on NAS4Free

Uninterruptable Power Supply service using NUT.
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
philm
Starter
Starter
Posts: 24
Joined: 20 Jul 2016 01:10
Status: Offline

Setting up UPS on NAS4Free

#1

Post by philm » 18 Aug 2016 17:41

Hello everyone,

I am currently working on setting up the NAS4Free with the UPS service. I have a dell UPS 1920W UPS. I have been attempting to setup the service but I am recieving the Error Code 1.

I am connecting the UPS to the serial port. Would it be better if I connected it to the USB port? Is there better compatibility that way?

Also on the console, I am recieving the error UPS UPS1@locahost unavaible.

I am attaching a screenshot of the settings. Did I set everything up correctly?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
tony1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 172
Joined: 14 Jul 2016 19:04
Status: Offline

Re: Setting up UPS on NAS4Free

#2

Post by tony1 » 18 Aug 2016 18:49

you did not say what model ups.
maybe try a different driver like usbhid-ups
usb be is easier to set up I think, for usb you can just use auto for the port.
have a look at http://networkupstools.org/ for more info.
double check if the port is correct, maybe it is cuau0?

philm
Starter
Starter
Posts: 24
Joined: 20 Jul 2016 01:10
Status: Offline

Re: Setting up UPS on NAS4Free

#3

Post by philm » 18 Aug 2016 21:42

The ups is a dell 1920W UPS. I thought this was the model?

Or should the model go in the identifier?

Looking at the diagram for supported drivers, it says that the Dell 1920 W UPS is suppose to use the mge-shut for serial. For USB, it uses the different driver.

I tried using the USB; however, it did not work

User avatar
tony1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 172
Joined: 14 Jul 2016 19:04
Status: Offline

Re: Setting up UPS on NAS4Free

#4

Post by tony1 » 19 Aug 2016 16:20

try the usbhid-ups driver and take a closer look at the port. (should work with usb, maybe with serial?)
it could possible be you are using the wrong port? try cuau0 in the image you posted you are using cuad0
the reason for the error code1 is probably because a connection to the ups can't be made. should be in the logs.

aviator01
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 2
Joined: 30 Jan 2014 01:44
Status: Offline

Re: Setting up UPS on NAS4Free

#5

Post by aviator01 » 13 Nov 2017 20:59

I use the APC SC1000i SMART-UPS not working, Is it not compatible?

User avatar
tony1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 172
Joined: 14 Jul 2016 19:04
Status: Offline

Re: Setting up UPS on NAS4Free

#6

Post by tony1 » 13 Nov 2017 21:22

it might take a different driver.
maybe "apcsmart"? look at http://networkupstools.org for specific information.

Post Reply

Return to “UPS”