Latest News:
*New 11.2 series Release:
2019-06-20: XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4.6766 - released!

*New 12.0 series Release:
2019-06-20: XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4.6766 - released!

We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

APC BE550G-SP

Uninterruptable Power Supply service using NUT.
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
pee2002
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 7
Joined: 01 Jun 2013 20:21
Status: Offline

APC BE550G-SP

#1

Post by pee2002 » 01 Jun 2013 20:23

Hi folks!

I have a APC Power-Saving Back ES 550VA - BE550G-SP
And cannot make it to work with my nas4free system (9.1.0.1 - Sandstorm (revision 724)) :/

I configured this way:
Image


And keep getting these errors:

Code: Select all

upsmon[46619]: UPS [ups@localhost]: connect failed: No such host
upsmon[46619]: Communications with UPS ups@localhost lost
upssched-cmd: Communications with the UPS ups@localhost are lost

How can i solve this?

Thank you!

chrisf4lc0n
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 265
Joined: 07 May 2013 13:15
Location: West Drayton (London)
Status: Offline

Re: APC BE550G-SP

#2

Post by chrisf4lc0n » 02 Jun 2013 23:09

How do you get it connected to your NAS4free box? USB perhaps?
It it is USB just put "USB" as a port...
UPS.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Watercooling is just the beginning ;)

pee2002
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 7
Joined: 01 Jun 2013 20:21
Status: Offline

Re: APC BE550G-SP

#3

Post by pee2002 » 03 Jun 2013 20:49

It doesnt work :/

This is the error i get after putting USB as port:

Code: Select all

root: Unknown USB device: vendor 0x051d product 0x0002 bus uhub4
root: nut service started
root: nut_upslog service started
root: nut_upsmon service started
upsmon[55493]: UPS [ups@localhost]: connect failed: No such host
upsmon[55493]: Communications with UPS ups@localhost lost
upssched-cmd: Communications with the UPS ups@localhost are lost
upsmon[55493]: UPS [ups@localhost]: connect failed: No such host
upsmon[55493]: UPS ups@localhost is unavailable
upssched-cmd: UPS ups@localhost - The ups is unavailable
Help :/

fsbruva
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 383
Joined: 21 Sep 2012 14:50
Status: Offline

Re: APC BE550G-SP

#4

Post by fsbruva » 03 Jun 2013 21:11

root: Unknown USB device: vendor 0x051d product 0x0002 bus uhub4
That's your problem!!!!!

chrisf4lc0n
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 265
Joined: 07 May 2013 13:15
Location: West Drayton (London)
Status: Offline

Re: APC BE550G-SP

#5

Post by chrisf4lc0n » 03 Jun 2013 22:26

fsbruva wrote:
root: Unknown USB device: vendor 0x051d product 0x0002 bus uhub4
That's your problem!!!!!
Yup, seems like the driver you have chosen does not support this particular UPS. Try different ones.
My Back-UPS ES 700 is not listed under usbhid-ups driver but it works flawlessly:
UPS 2.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Watercooling is just the beginning ;)

pee2002
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 7
Joined: 01 Jun 2013 20:21
Status: Offline

Re: APC BE550G-SP

#6

Post by pee2002 » 04 Jun 2013 10:15

Heres the odd thing:

This NAS have just a couple of hours always with the same NAS4Free version.. and in the beginning it worked great with this UPS.
Then i had to change the place and connected a KVM USB switch.. From there it never worked.

:/

chrisf4lc0n
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 265
Joined: 07 May 2013 13:15
Location: West Drayton (London)
Status: Offline

Re: APC BE550G-SP

#7

Post by chrisf4lc0n » 04 Jun 2013 10:28

pee2002 wrote:Heres the odd thing:

This NAS have just a couple of hours always with the same NAS4Free version.. and in the beginning it worked great with this UPS.
Then i had to change the place and connected a KVM USB switch.. From there it never worked.

:/
I think you have just answered your own question... KVM USB Switch is at fault!
Watercooling is just the beginning ;)

fsbruva
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 383
Joined: 21 Sep 2012 14:50
Status: Offline

Re: APC BE550G-SP

#8

Post by fsbruva » 04 Jun 2013 13:30

Not necessarily... it is likely that the KVM is the cause of the USB errors. Is the UPS plugged into to the KVM?

Disconnect the KVM, and give it another try. You can also debug this a little more effectively if you can SSH into the machine and run some commands to attempt to restart the service over and over again as you mess around with the config.
upsmon[55493]: UPS [ups@localhost]: connect failed: No such host
This indicates that the ups daemon is not actually running, and so the UPS monitor (upsmon) is not able to speak to it.

pee2002
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 7
Joined: 01 Jun 2013 20:21
Status: Offline

Re: APC BE550G-SP

#9

Post by pee2002 » 02 Jul 2013 23:53

Folks.. i finally solve the problem.. it was not the KVM.
The "domain" field in GUI cannot be empty:

Image

As soon as i change this to "local" for example, the UPS starts to communicate :) :)

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4911
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: APC BE550G-SP

#10

Post by raulfg3 » 03 Jul 2013 10:04

please post the image of domain you refer.
12.0.0.4 - BETA (revision 6625)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes
Old Wiki

pee2002
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 7
Joined: 01 Jun 2013 20:21
Status: Offline

Re: APC BE550G-SP

#11

Post by pee2002 » 03 Jul 2013 10:34

raulfg3 wrote:please post the image of domain you refer.
I already posted the screenshot in my previous post.
The domain value can be anything as long as it is not EMPTY!

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4911
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: APC BE550G-SP

#12

Post by raulfg3 » 03 Jul 2013 10:48

please revise post I do not see your image:
PrtScr capture.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
12.0.0.4 - BETA (revision 6625)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes
Old Wiki

pee2002
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 7
Joined: 01 Jun 2013 20:21
Status: Offline

Re: APC BE550G-SP

#13

Post by pee2002 » 03 Jul 2013 10:53

Here it goes:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Ups-Reviews
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 1
Joined: 01 Aug 2016 20:39
Status: Offline

Re: APC BE550G-SP

#14

Post by Ups-Reviews » 01 Aug 2016 20:45

I have that same problem with that ups. But I read a good apc be550g ups review and i totally understood what was the problem!

Jack Foobar
experienced User
experienced User
Posts: 131
Joined: 07 Jul 2015 01:24
Status: Offline

Re: APC BE550G-SP

#15

Post by Jack Foobar » 15 Aug 2016 07:23

To hijack your thread, sort of, I just configured a Belkin F6C1500, and the thing that got me was finding the damned device in the first place. Turns out it was /dev/cuau0 as a rs232/serial connection.

And yes, you need a domain to communicate with it. Because it communicates as monkey@butt.com. So ups@nas4free.local will do as well. But I thought all the NAS's had .local by default already, unless it was removed manually.

Post Reply

Return to “UPS”