*New 11.4 series Release:
2020-07-03: XigmaNAS 11.4.0.4.7633 - released!

*New 12.1 series Release:
2020-04-17: XigmaNAS 12.1.0.4.7542 - released


We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money. Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

Disable Ping resolve

NIC, network controllers, compatibility questions, WOL, wake on lan
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
icey
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 3
Joined: 07 Mar 2016 21:31
Status: Offline

Disable Ping resolve

#1

Post by icey »

Hey Guys,

after googeling yesterday and trying out some things I don´t get it working. I don´t want that my Nas4free 10.2.2 box is naswering to a ping or trace request from inside the lan.

I tried a firewall rule with the ICMP Protocol and denied it from any to any. Doesn´t work...

So eventually someone has an idea how to get this working for me.

Thanks a lot.

Cheers

User avatar
b0ssman
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2454
Joined: 14 Feb 2013 08:34
Location: Munich, Germany
Status: Offline

Re: Disable Ping resolve

#2

Post by b0ssman »

can you explain why you want to do that?

you should be able to disable is using the firewall
see
viewtopic.php?t=233
Nas4Free 11.1.0.4.4517. Supermicro X10SLL-F, 16gb ECC, i3 4130, IBM M1015 with IT firmware. 4x 3tb WD Red, 4x 2TB Samsung F4, both GEOM AES 256 encrypted.

icey
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 3
Joined: 07 Mar 2016 21:31
Status: Offline

Re: Disable Ping resolve

#3

Post by icey »

because my router is looking in the network by ping if a host is available. so my port forwarding just goes to the nas host. the jail is answering later so it does not exist for the router. because both are using the same physical network adapter i cant add the jail host manually... so if the nas4free host doesn´t answer anymore, the router recognizes the jail host and i can make my port forwarding.

but i don´t get it working...

User avatar
b0ssman
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2454
Joined: 14 Feb 2013 08:34
Location: Munich, Germany
Status: Offline

Re: Disable Ping resolve

#4

Post by b0ssman »

what router do you have.
a lot of routers firmware can be replaced by openwrt.
or build your own using ipfire / pfsense.
Nas4Free 11.1.0.4.4517. Supermicro X10SLL-F, 16gb ECC, i3 4130, IBM M1015 with IT firmware. 4x 3tb WD Red, 4x 2TB Samsung F4, both GEOM AES 256 encrypted.

icey
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 3
Joined: 07 Mar 2016 21:31
Status: Offline

Re: Disable Ping resolve

#5

Post by icey »

this is unfortunately not possible in my case.. so this is not solving my problem at all...

is it so difficult to disable the ping resolve??

User avatar
b0ssman
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2454
Joined: 14 Feb 2013 08:34
Location: Munich, Germany
Status: Offline

Re: Disable Ping resolve

#6

Post by b0ssman »

well the problem with that is that if you disable i over the firewall it would not get to the vm either.
Nas4Free 11.1.0.4.4517. Supermicro X10SLL-F, 16gb ECC, i3 4130, IBM M1015 with IT firmware. 4x 3tb WD Red, 4x 2TB Samsung F4, both GEOM AES 256 encrypted.

Post Reply

Return to “LAN , Network controllers”