*New 11.4 series Release:
2020-07-03: XigmaNAS 11.4.0.4.7633 - released!

*New 12.1 series Release:
2020-04-17: XigmaNAS 12.1.0.4.7542 - released


We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money. Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

Fast Ethernet and then Gigabit...Why??

NIC, network controllers, compatibility questions, WOL, wake on lan
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
r186mgt
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 6
Joined: 03 Oct 2016 00:19
Status: Offline

Fast Ethernet and then Gigabit...Why??

#1

Post by r186mgt »

Hello, when I turn on the system, the connection is always fast ethernet, while enough that I unplug the cable from the MB and reconnect that magically switch to the appropriate Gigabit. I have 10.3.0.3 full with Core 2 Quad E8400 on a MB Asus P5G41T-M LX and 8GB RAM. Why for you? How can I fix the problem? Sorry for my bad english.. I'm Italian :-)

Jack Foobar
experienced User
experienced User
Posts: 110
Joined: 07 Jul 2015 01:24
Status: Offline

Re: Fast Ethernet and then Gigabit...Why??

#2

Post by Jack Foobar »

All Gigabit is autonegotiation. If you have it set to auto and it drops down to 100 Mbit, your cable is either not cat 5e or better, or your port is having a problem on either end. Check your hardware.

r186mgt
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 6
Joined: 03 Oct 2016 00:19
Status: Offline

Re: Fast Ethernet and then Gigabit...Why??

#3

Post by r186mgt »

Hello, thank you for the answer, no it's just the point, I set in 1000 base tx the connection, the LAN cables are all 5e and all Gigabit switch. The home LAN works perfectly .. just that every time I turn on the NAS is in fast.. while enough that I unplug the cable from the MB and reconnect that switch to Gigabit..from 11.4 MB/s max passes to 114 MB/s..I think is very good as well..

r186mgt
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 6
Joined: 03 Oct 2016 00:19
Status: Offline

Re: Fast Ethernet and then Gigabit...Why??

#4

Post by r186mgt »

..maybe some problem with integrated Gigabit card of MB and driver??

octave
experienced User
experienced User
Posts: 124
Joined: 30 Sep 2013 12:37
Status: Offline

Re: Fast Ethernet and then Gigabit...Why??

#5

Post by octave »

hi

have you a switch port free on it, move cable to another port switch.
it could be a switch port break down maybe.
Project
Cluster Pfsense (end)
Cluster ESXI /Hyperv (standby)
Cluster NAS/SAN (in project)
---
2x Dell Poweredge C6100
2x SuperMicro X8dth-i (NAS/SAN Build) ISCSI

r186mgt
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 6
Joined: 03 Oct 2016 00:19
Status: Offline

Re: Fast Ethernet and then Gigabit...Why??

#6

Post by r186mgt »

Hello, I tried.. same result. I turn on and is in fast .. wait 1 or 2 hours.. always fast ..disconnect and riconnect and switches to Gigabit immediatly.

r186mgt
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 6
Joined: 03 Oct 2016 00:19
Status: Offline

Re: Fast Ethernet and then Gigabit...Why??

#7

Post by r186mgt »

Fixed with an Intel Pro 1000 PCIe! :D

octave
experienced User
experienced User
Posts: 124
Joined: 30 Sep 2013 12:37
Status: Offline

Re: Fast Ethernet and then Gigabit...Why??

#8

Post by octave »

hi
i prefere use all intel pro 1000 single to quad ports pcie.
Why ?
It's simple because more shipset ar based on realtek components are not stable et safe in time on production cluster nas for my part.
yes they are more expensived than all over components, but count time passed and money spend to change a nic without intel pro ship, and you have price spend on intell nic.

have fun
Project
Cluster Pfsense (end)
Cluster ESXI /Hyperv (standby)
Cluster NAS/SAN (in project)
---
2x Dell Poweredge C6100
2x SuperMicro X8dth-i (NAS/SAN Build) ISCSI

r186mgt
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 6
Joined: 03 Oct 2016 00:19
Status: Offline

Re: Fast Ethernet and then Gigabit...Why??

#9

Post by r186mgt »

Hi
Oh yes..Intel is Intel... :D

Post Reply

Return to “LAN , Network controllers”