*New 11.3 series Release:
2019-10-19: XigmaNAS 11.3.0.4.7014 - released

*New 12.0 series Release:
2019-10-05: XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4.6928 - released!

*New 11.2 series Release:
2019-09-23: XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4.6881 - released!

We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money. Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

Realtek RTL8111GR: can it provide 1Gb/sec or must be repalced? What NICs are good for this?

NIC, network controllers, compatibility questions, WOL, wake on lan
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
Shperrung
experienced User
experienced User
Posts: 95
Joined: 04 Apr 2018 16:29
Status: Offline

Realtek RTL8111GR: can it provide 1Gb/sec or must be repalced? What NICs are good for this?

#1

Post by Shperrung » 09 Dec 2018 13:41

Hi!
The same question as asked most of Xigmanas users in this forum thread: how to speed up my NIC?
Motherboard: Asrock J3710 with Realtek RTL8111GR on board LAN adapter. Router is Asus AC-RT68U.
Network > LAN Management:
Media: Autoselect
It always selects "100baseTX". When I try to select "1000baseTX(SX)" I get error in start-up log "no media". As I see in "ifconfig -m" output below Realtek RTL8111GR doesn't have "1000baseTX(or SX)" supported media type.
May "1000baseT" media type be added in the next FreeBSD (Xigmanas) releases? May it be fixed "manually"? :?
What NICs for mini PCI-E reliably have 1000baseTX(or SX) media type mode?
I realize that Realtek RTL8111GR is cheap onboard LAN adapter... but I certain conditions it able to give half of 1Gb/s at least. I'll be happy if it's reachable.
Thank you!

iperf3:

Code: Select all

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
(c) Корпорация Майкрософт 2012. Все права защищены.

C:\Users\Molchka>cd C:\Users\Molchka\Desktop\iperf-3.1.3-win32

C:\Users\Molchka\Desktop\iperf-3.1.3-win32>iperf3 -c 192.168.1.4
Connecting to host 192.168.1.4, port 5201
[  4] local 192.168.1.172 port 61264 connected to 192.168.1.4 port 5201
[ ID] Interval           Transfer     Bandwidth
[  4]   0.00-1.00   sec  5.66 MBytes  47.5 Mbits/sec
[  4]   1.00-2.00   sec  10.8 MBytes  90.3 Mbits/sec
[  4]   2.00-3.00   sec  10.8 MBytes  90.8 Mbits/sec
[  4]   3.00-4.00   sec  10.8 MBytes  90.3 Mbits/sec
[  4]   4.00-5.00   sec  7.63 MBytes  64.0 Mbits/sec
[  4]   5.00-6.00   sec  10.8 MBytes  90.8 Mbits/sec
[  4]   6.00-7.00   sec  7.75 MBytes  65.0 Mbits/sec
[  4]   7.00-8.00   sec  7.75 MBytes  65.0 Mbits/sec
[  4]   8.00-9.00   sec  11.2 MBytes  93.9 Mbits/sec
[  4]   9.00-10.00  sec  7.75 MBytes  65.0 Mbits/sec
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
[ ID] Interval           Transfer     Bandwidth
[  4]   0.00-10.00  sec  90.9 MBytes  76.3 Mbits/sec                  sender
[  4]   0.00-10.00  sec  90.9 MBytes  76.2 Mbits/sec                  receiver
iperf Done.
$ ifconfig -m

Code: Select all

re0: flags=8943<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
	options=8209b<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,VLAN_HWCSUM,WOL_MAGIC,LINKSTATE>
	capabilities=18399b<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,VLAN_HWCSUM,TSO4,WOL_UCAST,WOL_MCAST,WOL_MAGIC,LINKSTATE,NETMAP>
	ether 70:85:c2:40:6b:af
	hwaddr 70:85:c2:40:6b:af
	inet 192.168.1.4 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.1.255 
	nd6 options=29<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
	media: Ethernet autoselect (100baseTX <full-duplex>)
	status: active
	supported media:
		media autoselect mediaopt flowcontrol
		media autoselect
		media 1000baseT mediaopt full-duplex,flowcontrol,master
		media 1000baseT mediaopt full-duplex,flowcontrol
		media 1000baseT mediaopt full-duplex,master
		media 1000baseT mediaopt full-duplex
		media 100baseTX mediaopt full-duplex,flowcontrol
		media 100baseTX mediaopt full-duplex
		media 100baseTX
		media 10baseT/UTP mediaopt full-duplex,flowcontrol
		media 10baseT/UTP mediaopt full-duplex
		media 10baseT/UTP
		media none
lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 16384
	options=600003<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
	capabilities=600003<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
	inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128 
	inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x2 
	inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000 
	nd6 options=21<PERFORMNUD,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
	groups: lo 
vboxnet0: flags=8802<BROADCAST,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
	ether 0a:00:27:00:00:00
	hwaddr 0a:00:27:00:00:00
	nd6 options=29<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
	media: Ethernet autoselect
	status: active
	supported media:
	media autoselect
$ ifconfig

Code: Select all

re0: flags=8943<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
	options=8209b<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,VLAN_HWCSUM,WOL_MAGIC,LINKSTATE>
	ether 70:85:c2:40:6b:af
	hwaddr 70:85:c2:40:6b:af
	inet 192.168.1.4 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.1.255 
	nd6 options=29<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
	media: Ethernet autoselect (100baseTX <full-duplex>)
	status: active
lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 16384
	options=600003<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
	inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128 
	inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x2 
	inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000 
	nd6 options=21<PERFORMNUD,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
	groups: lo 
vboxnet0: flags=8802<BROADCAST,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
	ether 0a:00:27:00:00:00
	hwaddr 0a:00:27:00:00:00
	nd6 options=29<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
	media: Ethernet autoselect
	status: active
11.2.0.4 - Omnius (revision 6177)
ASRock J3710-ITX, LAN: Realtek RTL8111GR; 16Gb RAM; WD 1Tbx2, WD 2Tb; UPS Powercom WOW500U.

User avatar
lindsay
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 307
Joined: 23 Jun 2012 09:59
Location: Steinkjer,Norway
Status: Offline

Re: Realtek RTL8111GR: can it provide 1Gb/sec or must be repalced? What NICs are good for this?

#2

Post by lindsay » 09 Dec 2018 17:32

The realtek`s i had before gave me 90-100 MB/s but Intel is more stable in my opinion and gives me 110-115 MB/ s.
Though i do have 10Gbps Mellanox and Chelsio cards and Ubiquiti Unifi 16XG as switch
Protected by smoothiebox Red,Green,
Purple,Orange Zones/VLAN`s
Powered by AMD A10-6700T


XigmaNAS Box-1 11.2.0.4 - Omnius (revision 6625)
Platform : x64-embedded on 2X Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2620 v4 @ 2.10GHz
Motherboard: ASUS Z10PA-D8, 2xSocket-2011-3
SATA Controllers : 1X Avago Technologies (LSI) SAS2008 and 1x Avago Technologies (LSI) SAS2308
Pool 1 (Media-Pool) 8X4TB in raidz2
Pool 2 (Media-Pool-2) 4X2TB in raidz2 and 2X2TB in mirror mirror and 2X3TB in mirror
Pool 3 (Media-Pool-3) 2X2TB in mirror and 2X4TB in mirror and 2X1TB in mirror

Shperrung
experienced User
experienced User
Posts: 95
Joined: 04 Apr 2018 16:29
Status: Offline

Re: Realtek RTL8111GR: can it provide 1Gb/sec or must be repalced? What NICs are good for this?

#3

Post by Shperrung » 09 Dec 2018 19:27

Is it possible to add "media 1000baseT" into next Xigmanas releases?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
11.2.0.4 - Omnius (revision 6177)
ASRock J3710-ITX, LAN: Realtek RTL8111GR; 16Gb RAM; WD 1Tbx2, WD 2Tb; UPS Powercom WOW500U.

User avatar
Snufkin
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 289
Joined: 01 Jul 2012 11:27
Location: Etc/GMT-3 (BSD style)
Status: Offline

Re: Realtek RTL8111GR: can it provide 1Gb/sec or must be repalced? What NICs are good for this?

#4

Post by Snufkin » 09 Dec 2018 22:20

Shperrung wrote:
09 Dec 2018 13:41
When I try to select "1000baseTX(SX)" I get error in start-up log "no media".
There could be two possible reasons:
  • bad Ethernet cable or cable with two pairs only,
  • ASUS router Green Ethernet mode
.
XNAS 11.3.0.4 embedded, ASUS P5B-E, Intel DC E6600, 4 GB DDR2, 2 x HGST HDN726040ALE614, 2 x WDC WD5000AAKS, Ippon Back Power Pro 400

Shperrung
experienced User
experienced User
Posts: 95
Joined: 04 Apr 2018 16:29
Status: Offline

Re: Realtek RTL8111GR: can it provide 1Gb/sec or must be repalced? What NICs are good for this?

#5

Post by Shperrung » 10 Dec 2018 07:34

Snufkin wrote:
09 Dec 2018 22:20
Shperrung wrote:
09 Dec 2018 13:41
When I try to select "1000baseTX(SX)" I get error in start-up log "no media".
There could be two possible reasons:
  • bad Ethernet cable or cable with two pairs only,
  • ASUS router Green Ethernet mode
.
Hi!
Cable is UTP-8 cat 5E (including connectors)
Anothes NAS (DS212J) transmits data on 400 Mbit/sec in the same router and cables.
I suggest about another reason: kernel includes drivers for Realtek 8111XX NICs without 1000baseT media support... or Xigmanas doesn't have support 1000baseT (not TX or TS!).
Manual switch to 1000baseTX or 1000baseTS leads to "no media" and "waiting carrier" at startup. In other words Xigmanas can't recognize NIC because it (or driver) does not support TX and TS media type (refer ifconfig -m output above.
I check in stores what NICs supports 1000baseTX and found only expensive "industrial" LAN adapters.
11.2.0.4 - Omnius (revision 6177)
ASRock J3710-ITX, LAN: Realtek RTL8111GR; 16Gb RAM; WD 1Tbx2, WD 2Tb; UPS Powercom WOW500U.

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4925
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Realtek RTL8111GR: can it provide 1Gb/sec or must be repalced? What NICs are good for this?

#6

Post by raulfg3 » 10 Dec 2018 08:31

try any intel NIC , have the best BSD Support.

PD: You can try to boot from a BSD live CD to test your actual NIC and confirm if works on pure BSD
12.0.0.4 (revision 6766)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes

Shperrung
experienced User
experienced User
Posts: 95
Joined: 04 Apr 2018 16:29
Status: Offline

Re: Realtek RTL8111GR work fine. Problem was in bad cable.

#7

Post by Shperrung » 16 Dec 2018 21:54

It was a "bug" in cable. I mixed two wires and NIC used only two pairs as 100baseTX mode.
When I crimped new connector I got 740 Mbit/sec. Xigmanas works fine but not me :)
viewtopic.php?p=88512#p88512
11.2.0.4 - Omnius (revision 6177)
ASRock J3710-ITX, LAN: Realtek RTL8111GR; 16Gb RAM; WD 1Tbx2, WD 2Tb; UPS Powercom WOW500U.

Post Reply

Return to “LAN , Network controllers”