*New 11.3 series Release:
2019-10-19: XigmaNAS 11.3.0.4.7014 - released

*New 12.0 series Release:
2019-10-05: XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4.6928 - released!

*New 11.2 series Release:
2019-09-23: XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4.6881 - released!

We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money. Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

Added new disk - appears to have replaced existing ZFS disk at ada0

Hard disks, HDD, RAID Hardware, disk controllers, SATA, PATA, SCSI, IDE, On Board, USB, Firewire, CF (Compact Flash)
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
RichT
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 5
Joined: 15 May 2018 02:45
Status: Offline

Added new disk - appears to have replaced existing ZFS disk at ada0

#1

Post by RichT » 08 Jul 2019 05:30

I had a 4 3TB disk set up, with 3 disks in a Z1 pool and 1 disk in a single disk ZFS pool (I know no protection).

The single disk was filling up, so I wanted to add a new larger 8TB single disk ZFS pool and copy from the old to the new, then reuse the old single disk. I have completed both a Disk Import with clear and a Raid Import with clear from the Disk Management page.

When I added the new disk, it was on a separate controller card and was added as ada0.
Annotation 2019-07-07 230537.png
When I try to format the new disk, it's not on the Format page of the WebGUI... ada4 (an old 3TB used in an existing (pool) is there.
Annotation 2019-07-07 230743.png
When I look at my Zpools they show as expected...
Annotation 2019-07-07 231008.png
When I look at the single disk vdevice it shows the new unformated 8TB drive...
Annotation 2019-07-07 231344.png
When I look at the Pool > Information, the pools show the correct disks... i.e. the new unformated 8TB is not being part of the existing pools.
Annotation 2019-07-07 231514.png
When I try to access the pools, they behave normally.... as per the Info summary

I think things are getting a bit messed up us the new disk was placed at the front of the disk numbering, ada0, instead of on to the end as ada4.

Any thoughts on what to do next to fix this / get ada0 formatted or moved to ada4?

I'm also concerned that the Media_disk1 virtual device shows ada0, the un formatted 8TB disk.

Thank you
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4925
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Added new disk - appears to have replaced existing ZFS disk at ada0

#2

Post by raulfg3 » 08 Jul 2019 08:16

when you add a new disk, allways its recommended to do a "clear config & import disk", and a sync webGUI with real on ZFS page, to avoid situations like yours.
12.0.0.4 (revision 6766)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes

RichT
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 5
Joined: 15 May 2018 02:45
Status: Offline

Re: Added new disk - appears to have replaced existing ZFS disk at ada0

#3

Post by RichT » 08 Jul 2019 14:04

Brilliant. Completed the ZFS Configuration Sync and everything looks good and as expected.

Thank you SO much.

Post Reply

Return to “Hard disk & controller”