Latest News:
*New 11.2 series Release:
2019-06-20: XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4.6766 - released!

*New 12.0 series Release:
2019-06-20: XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4.6766 - released!

We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

NAS is Always at 97% of RAM capacity + Monitoring not working

Motherboard compatibillity with XigmaNAS, questions, answers, suggestions
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
FEAR-40
Starter
Starter
Posts: 19
Joined: 13 Nov 2016 18:39
Status: Offline

NAS is Always at 97% of RAM capacity + Monitoring not working

#1

Post by FEAR-40 » 10 Jul 2017 11:31

Dear All ,

I had just set up a new Nas4free server with ZFS and 10 GB or ECC ram , and 2 disk in mirror

The server worked just fine , but Something strange happens that the Memory usage is always at 97% capacity ,

did anyone had a similar problem ?
Nas4free Version .: 11.0.0.4 - Sayyadina (revision 4383)

also At the monitoring Page some parts(like CPU clock , memory , Network usage .e.t.c) don't have graphs ...

Thank you in advance
FEAR-40

User avatar
mooblie
experienced User
experienced User
Posts: 87
Joined: 23 Jun 2012 13:31
Location: The Highlands, Scotland
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: NAS is Always at 97% of RAM capacity + Monitoring not working

#2

Post by mooblie » 10 Jul 2017 12:19

Yes, I have the "97% RAM usage" phenomena too:

I have two NAS4Free systems - both v.11.0.0.4 - Sayyadina (revision 4303):

- an HP N36L with 8GB RAM, which moves around 37% usage, (normal?) and
- an HP N40L with 16GB RAM, which always sticks at 97% usage (weird??)
Martin

FEAR-40
Starter
Starter
Posts: 19
Joined: 13 Nov 2016 18:39
Status: Offline

Re: NAS is Always at 97% of RAM capacity + Monitoring not working

#3

Post by FEAR-40 » 10 Jul 2017 12:25

Dear Martin ,

Yeah it is also strange ... because is literally doing nothing :D not even scrubbing or SMART status or anything .... all process are sleeping except the Web server(GUI)

well I glad that I am not alone ,

and Hope that is not a Sign for Failure , Speaking of Failure I had a BAD SATA cable on the OS drive and it made the CPU and RAM go to 100% for hours(CPU temp 105oC :D LooL) :D Until I realized what was the problem I've changed 2 HDD's 1 SSD , 3 setups and almost a MB , and 7 clean installs :D

I hope this does not happen to anyone else :D

Thank you in advance

FEAR-40

User avatar
tony1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 172
Joined: 14 Jul 2016 19:04
Status: Offline

Re: NAS is Always at 97% of RAM capacity + Monitoring not working

#4

Post by tony1 » 10 Jul 2017 16:21

it is normal and desired to have high memory usage.
freebsd does a good job at managing memory.

User avatar
mooblie
experienced User
experienced User
Posts: 87
Joined: 23 Jun 2012 13:31
Location: The Highlands, Scotland
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: NAS is Always at 97% of RAM capacity + Monitoring not working

#5

Post by mooblie » 10 Jul 2017 16:53

Thanks, Tony.

I thought that maybe high RAM usage was normal and OK (especially when using ZFS), it's just that:
(a) my 8GB RAM NAS4Free has always been low (37%) and
(b) my 16GB RAM NAS4Free has always been high (97%).

It has been like this for several years, over many versions of NAS4Free, and the difference seems rather odd.
Martin

User avatar
tony1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 172
Joined: 14 Jul 2016 19:04
Status: Offline

Re: NAS is Always at 97% of RAM capacity + Monitoring not working

#6

Post by tony1 » 10 Jul 2017 19:54

maybe it's a version issue? older versions use about 1/2 the ram while newer release better manage memory utilization.
bottom line is that it should be using almost all your ram and on a system with low usage it can take some time to fill up.

kenZ71
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 403
Joined: 27 Jun 2012 20:18
Location: Northeast, USA
Status: Offline

Re: NAS is Always at 97% of RAM capacity + Monitoring not working

#7

Post by kenZ71 » 22 Jul 2017 18:05

A bit late, but I'll offer this comment:

Yes, most of the memory shows as used but it is readily available for other functions as needed. Said differently- think if hiring a few people to do some work. Would you want them sitting around doing nothing when business is slow? Or would it be better to see them go do some busy work / maintenance?

Having said that, no idea what the in use memory is doing when the system is idle. Calculating pi? Searching for extra-terrestrial intelligent life?
11.2-RELEASE-p3 | ZFS Mirror - 2 x 8TB WD Red | 28GB ECC Ram
HP ML10v2 x64-embedded on Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-4150 CPU @ 3.50GHz

Extra memory so I can host a couple VMs
1) Unifi Controller on Ubuntu
2) Librenms on Ubuntu

FEAR-40
Starter
Starter
Posts: 19
Joined: 13 Nov 2016 18:39
Status: Offline

Re: NAS is Always at 97% of RAM capacity + Monitoring not working

#8

Post by FEAR-40 » 22 Jul 2017 19:23

Well That's the deal, Do stuff that are relevant to me ....
Not to anyone else, so Yes if I have nothing for the workers to do I would like to have them siting on their bottoms , if that is efficient you might ask , no its not, but still is better to work for me than for the guy next door from my paycheck ..

User avatar
tony1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 172
Joined: 14 Jul 2016 19:04
Status: Offline

Re: NAS is Always at 97% of RAM capacity + Monitoring not working

#9

Post by tony1 » 23 Jul 2017 16:31

Having said that, no idea what the in use memory is doing
its mainly cache. memory will automatically be freed as needed.

User avatar
ChriZathens
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 832
Joined: 23 Jun 2012 09:14
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: NAS is Always at 97% of RAM capacity + Monitoring not working

#10

Post by ChriZathens » 24 Jul 2017 22:56

That's how *nix systems work.
If you have Ram why not use it?
My Nas
  1. Case: Fractal Design Define R2
  2. M/B: Supermicro x9scl-f
  3. CPU: Intel Celeron G1620
  4. RAM: 16GB DDR3 ECC (2 x Kingston KVR1333D3E9S/8G)
  5. PSU: Chieftec 850w 80+ modular
  6. Storage: 8x2TB HDDs in a RaidZ2 array ~ 10.1 TB usable disk space
  7. O/S: XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4.6625 -amd64 embedded
  8. Extra H/W: Dell Perc H310 SAS controller, crosflashed to LSI 9211-8i IT mode, 8GB Innodisk D150SV SATADOM for O/S

Backup Nas: HP N40L (4x1TB HP branded Seagate disks in RaidZ configuration - 8GB ECC RAM)

MikeVR
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 9
Joined: 14 Jun 2019 21:55
Status: Offline

Re: NAS is Always at 97% of RAM capacity + Monitoring not working

#11

Post by MikeVR » 26 Jun 2019 17:33

Same bug. When copy from/to smb share mem grows from fresh restart to 97-98%. And after that - copy errors and mem never comeback (only after restart).
And it's not "how work". vfs.zfs.arc_max limited to 50% now. Other cable tried too.

User avatar
ms49434
Developer
Developer
Posts: 660
Joined: 03 Sep 2015 18:49
Location: Neuenkirchen-Vörden, Germany - GMT+1
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: NAS is Always at 97% of RAM capacity + Monitoring not working

#12

Post by ms49434 » 26 Jun 2019 18:53

MikeVR wrote:
26 Jun 2019 17:33
Same bug. When copy from/to smb share mem grows from fresh restart to 97-98%. And after that - copy errors and mem never comeback (only after restart).
And it's not "how work". vfs.zfs.arc_max limited to 50% now. Other cable tried too.
It is not a good idea to set vfs.zfs.arc_max to the highest value right from the beginning, not knowing the requirements of the other services.
It is known that ARC is not quick enough to release resources (here: memory) in an appropriate period of time, therefore it needs a helping hand.

You should always start with a low vfs.zfs.arc_max, i.e. 1-2GB, on systems with 8-16GB memory installed.
Enable monitoring zfs arc and free memory, to get an idea how much memory the other services consume.
Increase vfs.zfs.arc_max in small steps, i.e. by 1GB-2GB.
Read about vfs.zfs.arc_free_target, it could be the better option (instead of vfs.zfs.arc_max), or use a combination of both.

Use case:
One of my production systems had 22GB of RAM with vfs.zfs.arc_max is set to 12GB, showing 730MB free.
This system is running Samba AD, rsync and a few other services - consuming neary 10GB.

Conclusion:
- A system with 16GB memory with all the above services running would be able to provide a maximum of 6GB for ZFS caching, without interfering with other services.
- A system with 8GB memory and all the above services running will encounter issues and will start to swap. vfs.zfs.arc_free_target might an option to release memory early enough.

Remarks:
The above system has been reconfigured in the meantime, using vfs.zfs.arc_free_target only(set to 1M pages = 4GB), so far it's running stable but tests haven't been finished yet.

Hint:
Always start with low values for vfs.zfs.arc_max!
1) XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4 amd64-embedded on a Dell T20 running in a VM on ESXi 6.7U2, 22GB out of 32GB ECC RAM, LSI 9300-8i IT mode in passthrough mode. Pool 1: 2x HGST 10TB, mirrored, SLOG: Samsung 850 Pro, L2ARC: Samsung 850 Pro, Pool 2: 1x Samsung 860 EVO 1TB , services: Samba AD, CIFS/SMB, ftp, ctld, rsync, syncthing, zfs snapshots.
2) XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4 amd64-embedded on a Dell T20 running in a VM on ESXi 6.7U2, 8GB out of 32GB ECC RAM, IBM M1215 crossflashed, IT mode, passthrough mode, 2x HGST 10TB , services: rsync.

MikeVR
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 9
Joined: 14 Jun 2019 21:55
Status: Offline

Re: NAS is Always at 97% of RAM capacity + Monitoring not working

#13

Post by MikeVR » 27 Jun 2019 16:38

ms49434 wrote:
26 Jun 2019 18:53
It is not a good idea to set vfs.zfs.arc_max
In reality (my case) doesn't matter what in vfs.zfs.arc_max or it's not set at all - it's ignored: memory always stay full (97-98%) when using smb and not comeback until restart. (problem with any mem size - from 2Gb to 16Gb). Details here. At first I think to disk/lan, but it's connected with memory and soft error (I'm sure now).

User avatar
Lee Sharp
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 253
Joined: 13 May 2013 21:12
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: NAS is Always at 97% of RAM capacity + Monitoring not working

#14

Post by Lee Sharp » 28 Jul 2019 01:32

Try restarting specific services to see if that frees up some of the caching. There are a number of services that can be cache hungry. (Rsync and cifs, I am looking at you!) And yes, my 32gig system are often full when idle.

Post Reply

Return to “Motherboards”