*New 12.1 series Release:
2019-11-08: XigmaNAS 12.1.0.4.7091 - released!

*New 11.3 series Release:
2019-10-19: XigmaNAS 11.3.0.4.7014 - released


We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money. Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

change/migrate to another motherboard

Motherboard compatibillity with XigmaNAS, questions, answers, suggestions
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
mbembi
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 4
Joined: 03 Jan 2015 08:17
Status: Offline

change/migrate to another motherboard

#1

Post by mbembi » 03 Jan 2015 08:58

I have old PC with Embedded N4F v9.1.0.1 setting ZFS RAIDZ2, 4x2T WD red.
I plan to change Mobo with newer one with memory ecc support (intel server series).

The question is:
How to migrate MB without backup the data.
If I reconfiguration ZFS with the same I/O SATA setting, whether the data will be lost?
Last edited by mbembi on 05 Jan 2015 04:51, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
crowi
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1189
Joined: 21 Feb 2013 16:18
Location: Munich, Germany
Status: Offline

Re: change/migrate to another motherboard

#2

Post by crowi » 03 Jan 2015 11:07

How to migrate MB without backup the data.
You should always backup your data, if you change your mainboard or not :roll:

To change the mainboard, first save your configuration file.
Change the mainboard
Then go to disks | management and press "clear config and import disks"
Then go to Disks|ZFS|Configuration|Detected and synchronize your pool
Then everything should be up and running again
NAS 1: Milchkuh: Asrock C2550D4I, Intel Avoton C2550 Quad-Core, 16GB DDR3 ECC, 5x3TB WD Red RaidZ1 +60 GB SSD for ZIL/L2ARC, APC-Back UPS 350 CS, NAS4Free 11.0.0.4.3460 embedded
NAS 2: Backup: HP N54L, 8 GB ECC RAM, 4x4 TB WD Red, RaidZ1, NAS4Free 11.0.0.4.3460 embedded
NAS 3: Office: HP N54L, 8 GB ECC RAM, 2x3 TB WD Red, ZFS Mirror, APC-Back UPS 350 CS NAS4Free 11.0.0.4.3460 embedded

User avatar
Lee Sharp
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 255
Joined: 13 May 2013 21:12
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: change/migrate to another motherboard

#3

Post by Lee Sharp » 04 Jan 2015 07:34

I have done this many times and the only thing I had to change was the drive order and the nics. I have even moved disks to a newer computer and just took the boot flash drive with then and it all just came right up.

kenZ71
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 403
Joined: 27 Jun 2012 20:18
Location: Northeast, USA
Status: Offline

Re: change/migrate to another motherboard

#4

Post by kenZ71 » 04 Jan 2015 13:29

I agree with both comments above.

I will add why not look for another case to put the old mother board & memory into so you can backup. 4 x2 gb would fit into one 4gb for backup.

Or use a hot swap trayless cage to load your backup drive, copy data, then store at work or some other safe location.
11.2-RELEASE-p3 | ZFS Mirror - 2 x 8TB WD Red | 28GB ECC Ram
HP ML10v2 x64-embedded on Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-4150 CPU @ 3.50GHz

Extra memory so I can host a couple VMs
1) Unifi Controller on Ubuntu
2) Librenms on Ubuntu

mbembi
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 4
Joined: 03 Jan 2015 08:17
Status: Offline

Re: change/migrate to another motherboard

#5

Post by mbembi » 05 Jan 2015 05:09

thanks for yours reply.

I just want make sure the data not lost in pool, if I changed mobo.
I'm not realy familiar with RAID, how is it work ZFS pool in RAID-Z2 or RAID-Z1 if migrate PC and if disaster recovering the pool. (I'm hear took so long recover the pool)

anyway thanks for the answers.

User avatar
Lee Sharp
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 255
Joined: 13 May 2013 21:12
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: change/migrate to another motherboard

#6

Post by Lee Sharp » 06 Jan 2015 01:31

I had an 8 drive server let the magic smoke out... I put the drives on USB adapters, and hooked them to my laptop and booted off the flash drive, and was able to see all the data. Slower than death, but it was up!

Tjugie1
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 4
Joined: 05 Jan 2017 08:10
Status: Offline

Re: change/migrate to another motherboard

#7

Post by Tjugie1 » 05 Jan 2017 08:13

Hey guys,

I have done this. Its seems that the disk import is still running, from two days ago.

Does anyone know how much longer it may take?
I have 3TB Western Digital drives attached.

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5078
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: change/migrate to another motherboard

#8

Post by raulfg3 » 06 Jan 2017 02:09

import is quickly, so probably your webgui is locked.

post some scren captures to be sure, but my recomendation is to reboot the NAS.
12.0.0.4 (revision 6766)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes

Post Reply

Return to “Motherboards”