Latest News:
2018-11-29: XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4.6229 - released!

We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS cost money, please consider a donation to our project so we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

connect without router possible?

Routers, switch, hub, LAN, WAN, port forwarding, configuration etc go here
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
jdjon
Starter
Starter
Posts: 52
Joined: 17 Sep 2018 20:52
Status: Offline

connect without router possible?

#1

Post by jdjon » 11 Nov 2018 10:51

Is it possible, and how, to connect a computer and the NAS directly, without a router offereing the computer and NAS a DHCP, through ethernet? So an ethernet cable straight between computer and NAS ? Thanks!

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4627
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: connect without router possible?

#2

Post by raulfg3 » 11 Nov 2018 18:52

yes, but is not the best way and you do not have internet.

you need to put as gateway in your NAS the IP of your PC and use fixed IP ( not DHCP)

eg:
NAS: 192.168.1.10 255.255.255.0 192.168.1.100

PC: 192.168.1.100 255.255.255.0 192.168.1.10

IP mask gateway
XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4 - Omnius (revision 6195)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes
Old Wiki

jdjon
Starter
Starter
Posts: 52
Joined: 17 Sep 2018 20:52
Status: Offline

Re: connect without router possible?

#3

Post by jdjon » 11 Nov 2018 20:26

raulfg3 wrote:
11 Nov 2018 18:52
yes, but is not the best way ...
I was hoping to improve backup speeds by not going through a realtek based router. You have me intrigued, why is it not the best to go direct PC to xigmanas without router?

biggsy
Starter
Starter
Posts: 50
Joined: 02 Jul 2012 10:24
Location: Sydney, Australia
Status: Offline

Re: connect without router possible?

#4

Post by biggsy » 12 Nov 2018 08:38

If your router has, say, four LAN ports they will usually be connected by a switch, not routed.

With the PC and the NAS both connected to that switch, it should not be slowing down transfers. Switches are generally pretty fast these days.

If the transfers are slow, make sure you have good cables first.

Post Reply

Return to “Network switchs & routers”