*New 11.3 series Release:
2019-10-19: XigmaNAS 11.3.0.4.7014 - released

*New 12.0 series Release:
2019-10-05: XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4.6928 - released!

*New 11.2 series Release:
2019-09-23: XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4.6881 - released!

We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money. Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

connect without router possible?

Routers, switch, hub, LAN, WAN, port forwarding, configuration etc go here
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
jdjon
Starter
Starter
Posts: 56
Joined: 17 Sep 2018 20:52
Status: Offline

connect without router possible?

#1

Post by jdjon » 11 Nov 2018 10:51

Is it possible, and how, to connect a computer and the NAS directly, without a router offereing the computer and NAS a DHCP, through ethernet? So an ethernet cable straight between computer and NAS ? Thanks!

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4923
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: connect without router possible?

#2

Post by raulfg3 » 11 Nov 2018 18:52

yes, but is not the best way and you do not have internet.

you need to put as gateway in your NAS the IP of your PC and use fixed IP ( not DHCP)

eg:
NAS: 192.168.1.10 255.255.255.0 192.168.1.100

PC: 192.168.1.100 255.255.255.0 192.168.1.10

IP mask gateway
12.0.0.4 (revision 6766)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes

jdjon
Starter
Starter
Posts: 56
Joined: 17 Sep 2018 20:52
Status: Offline

Re: connect without router possible?

#3

Post by jdjon » 11 Nov 2018 20:26

raulfg3 wrote:
11 Nov 2018 18:52
yes, but is not the best way ...
I was hoping to improve backup speeds by not going through a realtek based router. You have me intrigued, why is it not the best to go direct PC to xigmanas without router?

biggsy
experienced User
experienced User
Posts: 80
Joined: 02 Jul 2012 10:24
Location: Sydney, Australia
Status: Offline

Re: connect without router possible?

#4

Post by biggsy » 12 Nov 2018 08:38

If your router has, say, four LAN ports they will usually be connected by a switch, not routed.

With the PC and the NAS both connected to that switch, it should not be slowing down transfers. Switches are generally pretty fast these days.

If the transfers are slow, make sure you have good cables first.

was-armandh
experienced User
experienced User
Posts: 116
Joined: 19 Nov 2018 11:30
Location: St Louis County MO USA
Status: Offline

Re: connect without router possible?

#5

Post by was-armandh » 22 Jan 2019 15:22

+1 on the good cables. be sure you are not defaulting to T100

if your WAN side provider's built in router is a POS put a good router after it for all the house hold traffic
by using this free advise, you, your heirs, etc
absolve, save, and hold harmless the advisor.
CAVEAT EMPTOR
YMMV

User avatar
Lee Sharp
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 255
Joined: 13 May 2013 21:12
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: connect without router possible?

#6

Post by Lee Sharp » 07 May 2019 07:02

Yes you can, and I have. Specifically when I have 2 10gig devices that only need to talk to each other. They just need static IP addresses in a different IP range and no default gateway on that network. The gateway is on the other network. Then hit the share by IP address. 100 meg will need a crossover cable but 1 gig 10 gig and the new 2.5/5 multigig will not.

Post Reply

Return to “Network switchs & routers”