*New 11.3 series Release:
2019-10-19: XigmaNAS 11.3.0.4.7014 - released

*New 12.0 series Release:
2019-10-05: XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4.6928 - released!

*New 11.2 series Release:
2019-09-23: XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4.6881 - released!

We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money. Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

HP T510

Show off that NAS4Free system!
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4925
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

HP T510

#1

Post by raulfg3 » 01 Jun 2017 14:46

I find this small thin HP client and try to use, and was very surprised because I can install latest N4F.

HP T510 only have 1Gb SSD IDE Disk to install N4F, and the CPU (VIA EDEN X2 U4200) is x64 at 1GHz

I Install ZFSOnRoot and OBI and DNSMasq DHCP Server

My goal is to use as DNS name server of my lan and use as download server , so my next steps are to buy a compatible SSD

and install ml-donkey server and configure Transmission.


some images.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
12.0.0.4 (revision 6766)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes

biggsy
experienced User
experienced User
Posts: 80
Joined: 02 Jul 2012 10:24
Location: Sydney, Australia
Status: Offline

Re: HP T510

#2

Post by biggsy » 02 Jun 2017 02:27

Watch out for this problem.

User avatar
JoseMR
Hardware & Software Guru
Hardware & Software Guru
Posts: 1160
Joined: 16 Apr 2014 04:15
Location: PR
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: HP T510

#3

Post by JoseMR » 04 Jun 2017 20:35

Very nice to see NAS4Free root-on-zfs running smoothly on such hardware, just plugin a branded 32/64GB USB3.0 or even better a cheap SSD and your good to go for such light-weight tasks.

Regards
System: FreeBSD 12 RootOnZFS, MB: Supermicro X8SI6-F, Xeon X3450, 16GB DDR3 ECC RDIMMs.
Addons at GitHub
JoseMRPubServ
Boot Environments Intro

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4925
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: HP T510

#4

Post by raulfg3 » 04 Jun 2017 22:40

I buy a cheap internal SSD to Install OBI and DHCP server and thebrig+several jails like mlnet to download files.

SSD= https://www.alternate.es/Transcend/TS32 ... ct/1171311?
12.0.0.4 (revision 6766)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4925
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: HP T510

#5

Post by raulfg3 » 06 Jun 2017 07:33

Bad news, the new SSD is detected by BIOS, by BTX loader but not by BSD, I'll try embeded install, ZFSonRoot install, old install (9.2.x) and all install do not detect new 32GB disk.

I, install OMV on a USB ( Do not Fit on 1GB Boot Disk), and detect the new 32GB Disk, so is clear a BSD Problem.

some screen shots:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
12.0.0.4 (revision 6766)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes

User avatar
JoseMR
Hardware & Software Guru
Hardware & Software Guru
Posts: 1160
Joined: 16 Apr 2014 04:15
Location: PR
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: HP T510

#6

Post by JoseMR » 08 Jun 2017 17:39

raulfg3 wrote:
06 Jun 2017 07:33
Bad news, the new SSD is detected by BIOS, by BTX loader but not by BSD

Hi raulfg3, sorry to heard that, however you could try and update the HP T510 to latest BIOS and re-try, also you could try another 2.5" SSD/HDD to test, as some chipsets/disk controllers don't play well together causing unexpected behaviors.

For the HP t510 Flexible Thin Client I found the following info regrading latest BIOS:
"HP Compaq Thin Client Series System BIOS (786R11 BIOS) v1.05 Rev. A 2.3 MB Jul 2, 2013"

Another option was to try UEFI, though is temporary disabled in RootOnZFS due console output issues, but I believe the HP T510 don't feature it at all.

Regards
System: FreeBSD 12 RootOnZFS, MB: Supermicro X8SI6-F, Xeon X3450, 16GB DDR3 ECC RDIMMs.
Addons at GitHub
JoseMRPubServ
Boot Environments Intro

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4925
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: HP T510

#7

Post by raulfg3 » 09 Jun 2017 07:01

Test was done with latest version of BIOS: download/file.php?id=5766&mode=view

I'll Try UEFI when works.


Thanks JoseMR.
12.0.0.4 (revision 6766)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4925
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: HP T510

#8

Post by raulfg3 » 05 Jul 2017 23:39

more photos about my build, I'll try a 2,5"HD and a CF Reader:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
12.0.0.4 (revision 6766)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes

StockpartsPH
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 1
Joined: 28 Feb 2019 08:40
Status: Offline

Re: HP T510

#9

Post by StockpartsPH » 28 Feb 2019 08:41

Hi! I bought a second hand HP T510 and T610 Thin Client from a scrap seller. Everything's okay with the units, but when i try to use the 2 units, i found out that it comes with Digital persona program that preventing me to use the units. It requires a log in ID which i didn't know. Is there someone who can help me to remove the program? I cannot use the units. Thank you.

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4925
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: HP T510

#10

Post by raulfg3 » 28 Feb 2019 11:31

Sorry, no help in my side, I have my units unlocket, so no need for my part to unlock and do not know how to do it.


PD: google a bit about how to restore BIOS to default values, normally this revert all password and protection to default state. perhaps helps you.
12.0.0.4 (revision 6766)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes

Samir
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 1
Joined: 20 Oct 2019 21:04
Location: SFO and HSV
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: HP T510

#11

Post by Samir » 20 Oct 2019 21:40

raulfg3 wrote:
28 Feb 2019 11:31
PD: google a bit about how to restore BIOS to default values, normally this revert all password and protection to default state. perhaps helps you.
A little late to the party, but reimaging the units should take care of any os passwords. HP has great support resources on these, so you should find the help you need there (if you haven't already). 8-)

Post Reply

Return to “Gallery”