*New 11.3 series Release:
2019-10-05: XigmaNAS 11.3.0.4.6928 - released, 11.2 series are soon unsupported!

*New 12.0 series Release:
2019-10-05: XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4.6928 - released!

*New 11.2 series Release:
2019-09-23: XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4.6881 - released!

We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money. Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

Mount Network Location

Filesystems(UFS, EXT2, FAT, NTFS, ZFS), mount points, partitions
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
t_knightt
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 10
Joined: 18 Dec 2017 00:22
Status: Offline

Mount Network Location

#1

Post by t_knightt » 27 Dec 2017 22:11

I have a N4F server with on pool of 7x 1TB with an additional drive for redundancy.

My "important" data is only backed up on a secondary 250GB stripe drive.

I would like to also back-up to a network location.

I have a Buffalo NAS with a 500GB drive.

I've been able to mount the network location using putty, and add a samba share pointing to this location, but it still requires manually doing it every time I reboot the system, because for example trying to mount the network location includes a password prompt (but a simple ENTER is fine as there is no password)

is there a way to do this programatically, so that I don't have to do it manually each time I reboot.

I have attached a screenshot of what I do in putty.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4921
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Mount Network Location

#2

Post by raulfg3 » 27 Dec 2017 23:45

do a script, copy to your N4F and execute on postinit or when you want.
12.0.0.4 (revision 6766)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes

t_knightt
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 10
Joined: 18 Dec 2017 00:22
Status: Offline

Re: Mount Network Location

#3

Post by t_knightt » 28 Dec 2017 16:28

how do i specify the username and password via script ?

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4921
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Mount Network Location

#4

Post by raulfg3 » 28 Dec 2017 17:26

sorry, not sure, is only a suggest
12.0.0.4 (revision 6766)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes

User avatar
ChriZathens
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 833
Joined: 23 Jun 2012 09:14
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Mount Network Location

#5

Post by ChriZathens » 28 Dec 2017 18:45

My Nas
  1. Case: Fractal Design Define R2
  2. M/B: Supermicro x9scl-f
  3. CPU: Intel Celeron G1620
  4. RAM: 16GB DDR3 ECC (2 x Kingston KVR1333D3E9S/8G)
  5. PSU: Chieftec 850w 80+ modular
  6. Storage: 8x2TB HDDs in a RaidZ2 array ~ 10.1 TB usable disk space
  7. O/S: XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4.6625 -amd64 embedded
  8. Extra H/W: Dell Perc H310 SAS controller, crosflashed to LSI 9211-8i IT mode, 8GB Innodisk D150SV SATADOM for O/S

Backup Nas: HP N40L (4x1TB HP branded Seagate disks in RaidZ configuration - 8GB ECC RAM)

t_knightt
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 10
Joined: 18 Dec 2017 00:22
Status: Offline

Re: Mount Network Location

#6

Post by t_knightt » 29 Dec 2017 04:16

I tried, but did not work. there is a mention of needing a .nsmbrc file but no clue on the syntax to use of where to put this file.

User avatar
ChriZathens
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 833
Joined: 23 Jun 2012 09:14
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Mount Network Location

#7

Post by ChriZathens » 30 Dec 2017 01:20

Instead of just enter test to see if any random keypress can be accepted as a password.
Then you could try something like user:password@host in your mount command.
Haven't tried it and currently afk but does not harm to try
My Nas
  1. Case: Fractal Design Define R2
  2. M/B: Supermicro x9scl-f
  3. CPU: Intel Celeron G1620
  4. RAM: 16GB DDR3 ECC (2 x Kingston KVR1333D3E9S/8G)
  5. PSU: Chieftec 850w 80+ modular
  6. Storage: 8x2TB HDDs in a RaidZ2 array ~ 10.1 TB usable disk space
  7. O/S: XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4.6625 -amd64 embedded
  8. Extra H/W: Dell Perc H310 SAS controller, crosflashed to LSI 9211-8i IT mode, 8GB Innodisk D150SV SATADOM for O/S

Backup Nas: HP N40L (4x1TB HP branded Seagate disks in RaidZ configuration - 8GB ECC RAM)

netware5
experienced User
experienced User
Posts: 118
Joined: 31 Jan 2017 21:39
Location: Sofia, BULGARIA
Status: Offline

Re: Mount Network Location

#8

Post by netware5 » 06 Jan 2018 19:41

https://www.nas4free.org/wiki/doku.php?id=faq:0056

How to enter username and password is described there.
XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4 - Reticulus (rev.6881) embedded on HP Proliant Microserver Gen8, Xeon E3-1265L, 16 GB ECC, 2x4TB WD Red ZFS Mirror

Post Reply

Return to “Basic storage concept”