*New 11.4 series Release:
2020-07-03: XigmaNAS 11.4.0.4.7633 - released!

*New 12.1 series Release:
2020-04-17: XigmaNAS 12.1.0.4.7542 - released


We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money. Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

SoftRaid1 DEGRADED - bad cable

Software RAID information and help
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
waynea
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 8
Joined: 12 Jul 2015 06:06
Status: Offline

SoftRaid1 DEGRADED - bad cable

#1

Post by waynea »

Running 9.3.0.2 (1681)

Had a cable problem with one of the disks in my SoftRaid1 array. It's fixed now, but the array is of course DEGRADED. Looking at the FAQ for replacing a drive (http://wiki.nas4free.org/doku.php?id=faq:0059), it says

"replace with good new disk that has been wiped clean of any old partitions or data."

In my case, I have a drive that has data in it, but is not in sync with the array. Do I need to completely reformat (or something) the disk (that had the bad cable) or can I just do the "forget" and "insert"? Or is there some other procedure I should follow?

thanks

Wayne

waynea
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 8
Joined: 12 Jul 2015 06:06
Status: Offline

Re: SoftRaid1 DEGRADED - bad cable

#2

Post by waynea »

Anybody?

User avatar
b0ssman
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2454
Joined: 14 Feb 2013 08:34
Location: Munich, Germany
Status: Offline

Re: SoftRaid1 DEGRADED - bad cable

#3

Post by b0ssman »

there is a faq entry for this

http://wiki.nas4free.org/doku.php?id=faq:0129
Nas4Free 11.1.0.4.4517. Supermicro X10SLL-F, 16gb ECC, i3 4130, IBM M1015 with IT firmware. 4x 3tb WD Red, 4x 2TB Samsung F4, both GEOM AES 256 encrypted.

waynea
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 8
Joined: 12 Jul 2015 06:06
Status: Offline

Re: SoftRaid1 DEGRADED - bad cable

#4

Post by waynea »

Thanks!

So, I was about to follow the instructions in the faq you reference when I thought I would just double check the device I needed to reset. Have some confusion. My problem mirror, Mirror3TBa, is composed of da3 and da4. If I execute "geom mirror list" seems to indicate that da3 is the good device (such that I would need to destroy/re-add da4), but when I look at the iostat #'s when using the mirror, it shows me that da4 is the one being used/active. What am I missing?

Here's the geom output
Geom name: Mirror3TBa
State: DEGRADED
Components: 2
Balance: round-robin
Slice: 4096
Flags: NONE
GenID: 1
SyncID: 1
ID: 1992325191
Providers:
1. Name: mirror/Mirror3TBa
Mediasize: 3000592981504 (2.7T)
Sectorsize: 512
Stripesize: 4096
Stripeoffset: 0
Mode: r0w0e0
Consumers:
1. Name: da3
Mediasize: 3000592982016 (2.7T)
Sectorsize: 512
Stripesize: 4096
Stripeoffset: 0
Mode: r1w1e1
State: ACTIVE
Priority: 0
Flags: NONE
GenID: 1
SyncID: 1
ID: 2037164299

nas4free: ~ # geom mirror status
Name Status Components
mirror/Mirror3TBa DEGRADED da3 (ACTIVE)
Here's the iostat output when I copied some files to the DEGRADED mirror. iostat showed that da4 was getting the traffic.

Code: Select all

 
       tty             da0              da1              da2              da3              da4              da5              da6             cpu
 tin  tout  KB/t tps  MB/s   KB/t tps  MB/s   KB/t tps  MB/s   KB/t tps  MB/s   KB/t tps  MB/s   KB/t tps  MB/s   KB/t tps  MB/s  us ni sy in id
   0   145  0.00   0  0.00   0.00   0  0.00   0.00   0  0.00   0.00   0  0.00  89.84 1018 89.30   0.00   0  0.00   0.00   0  0.00   5  0 16  0 79
   0   435  0.00   0  0.00   0.00   0  0.00   0.00   0  0.00   0.00   0  0.00  93.48 892 81.42   0.00   0  0.00   0.00   0  0.00   2  0 16  2 80
   0   145  0.00   0  0.00   0.00   0  0.00   0.00   0  0.00   0.00   0  0.00  101.03 737 72.69   0.00   0  0.00   0.00   0  0.00   5  0 12  1 81
   0   146  0.00   0  0.00   0.50   1  0.00   0.00   0  0.00   0.00   0  0.00  91.95 954 85.62   0.00   0  0.00   0.50   1  0.00   5  0 20  1 74
   0   145  0.00   0  0.00   0.00   0  0.00   0.00   0  0.00   0.00   0  0.00  95.27 873 81.25   0.00   0  0.00   0.00   0  0.00   4  0  9  1 87
   0   145  0.00   0  0.00   0.00   0  0.00   0.00   0  0.00   0.00   0  0.00  93.93 886 81.28   0.00   0  0.00   0.00   0  0.00   2  0 18  0 81
So, don't know which device to destroy. Assuming "geom mirror status/list" is showing the active/good devices, then I need to destroy da4, but it appears that da4 is the good device according to iostat. Which is correct?

thanks

Wayne

User avatar
b0ssman
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2454
Joined: 14 Feb 2013 08:34
Location: Munich, Germany
Status: Offline

Re: SoftRaid1 DEGRADED - bad cable

#5

Post by b0ssman »

that is the problem when raid1 get out of sync.
they will both work as the raid array.

pull one of the drives. reboot see of the raid has the latest files.
if not switch.
Nas4Free 11.1.0.4.4517. Supermicro X10SLL-F, 16gb ECC, i3 4130, IBM M1015 with IT firmware. 4x 3tb WD Red, 4x 2TB Samsung F4, both GEOM AES 256 encrypted.

Post Reply

Return to “Software RAID”