*New 11.3 series Release:
2019-10-19: XigmaNAS 11.3.0.4.7014 - released

*New 12.0 series Release:
2019-10-05: XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4.6928 - released!

*New 11.2 series Release:
2019-09-23: XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4.6881 - released!

We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money. Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

Block size = 1 Mib?

Software RAID information and help
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
Anton77
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 4
Joined: 05 May 2018 21:47
Status: Offline

Block size = 1 Mib?

#1

Post by Anton77 » 05 May 2018 22:57

I had created a RAID 1 (information about it is bellow)
Looks like block size should be 4096 bytes.
But after I turn on CIFS/SMB each file takes on the disk at least 1Mib (1 048 576 bytes) or divisible volumes. Looks like the block size in fack is 1MiB. Why?

Code: Select all

Geom name: GEOMR1
State: COMPLETE
Components: 2
Balance: split
Slice: 4096
Flags: NONE
GenID: 0
SyncID: 1
ID: 578354023
Type: AUTOMATIC
Providers:
1. Name: mirror/GEOMR1
   Mediasize: 2000397851648 (1.8T)
   Sectorsize: 512
   Stripesize: 4096
   Stripeoffset: 0
   Mode: r1w1e3
Consumers:
1. Name: ada1
   Mediasize: 2000398934016 (1.8T)
   Sectorsize: 512
   Stripesize: 4096
   Stripeoffset: 0
   Mode: r1w1e1
   State: ACTIVE
   Priority: 1
   Flags: NONE
   GenID: 0
   SyncID: 1
   ID: 3093043900
2. Name: ada0
   Mediasize: 2000397852160 (1.8T)
   Sectorsize: 512
   Mode: r1w1e1
   State: ACTIVE
   Priority: 0
   Flags: NONE
   GenID: 0
   SyncID: 1
   ID: 2939740914
Last edited by Anton77 on 10 May 2018 15:20, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4921
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Sector size = 1 Mib?

#2

Post by raulfg3 » 10 May 2018 09:14

probably you are mixing sector size and block size and are not the same
12.0.0.4 (revision 6766)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes

Anton77
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 4
Joined: 05 May 2018 21:47
Status: Offline

Re: Sector size = 1 Mib?

#3

Post by Anton77 » 10 May 2018 15:25

raulfg3 wrote:
10 May 2018 09:14
probably you are mixing sector size and block size and are not the same
Thank you. I replaced "sector" by "block". But anyway the problem is every file takes volume multiple 1 048 576 byte. Even if it is some KBytes it takes 1 MiB on the disk. It leads huge space utilizations if I put on the RAID many small files like graphic detail etc...

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4921
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Block size = 1 Mib?

#4

Post by raulfg3 » 10 May 2018 18:25

not sure if is possible to change block size when create a raid.
12.0.0.4 (revision 6766)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes

Post Reply

Return to “Software RAID”