*New 11.4 series Release:
2020-07-03: XigmaNAS 11.4.0.4.7633 - released!

*New 12.1 series Release:
2020-04-17: XigmaNAS 12.1.0.4.7542 - released


We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money. Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

Have i lost all my data?

Software RAID information and help
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
uday_ananth
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 3
Joined: 04 Jan 2013 10:28
Status: Offline

Have i lost all my data?

#1

Post by uday_ananth »

Hi,

I had configured a software raid over 2 * 1TB disks ( raid 0) on freenas 0.7.2

After upgrading to version 9.1.0.1, i started getting this message saying geometry does not match.
i found out that it is would not be fixed from here.
http://sourceforge.net/p/nas4free/bugs/43/#3d39

i later decide to downgrade and i did to 9.0.0.1
It worked. but i kept receiving an error message stating that the config file was old and i should redo it.
But the idiot in me decided to setup to factory defaults and after that, i recreated the software raid.
It worked and i decided to delete the raid volume (<--- this is think was the stupid thing i did) and try this method again on 9.1.0.1

now it did not work on 9.1.0.1
And it does not work on 9.0.0.1
Nor does it work on freenas 0.7.2

Did i just wipe out all my data by doing that stupid step.
I do not know why i ignored the warning!

is there any way i can recover my data?
Please let there be way.
Last edited by uday_ananth on 04 Jan 2013 10:52, edited 1 time in total.

uday_ananth
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 3
Joined: 04 Jan 2013 10:28
Status: Offline

Re: Have i lost all my data?

#2

Post by uday_ananth »

yes i also know that raid 0 was a stupid thing.. but it was needed.. :(

User avatar
shakky4711
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 273
Joined: 25 Jun 2012 08:27
Status: Offline

Re: Have i lost all my data?

#3

Post by shakky4711 »

Hello,

Let NAS4Free detect the drives and the raid array at the section drives with the buttons "Import", then let us know if the raid array was identified.

Shakky

uday_ananth
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 3
Joined: 04 Jan 2013 10:28
Status: Offline

Re: Have i lost all my data?

#4

Post by uday_ananth »

Hi Shakky,

The import options did not work.
I finally realized the severity of my mistake.
The drives do get detected. But the ufs information and gpt information was wiped clean. :(

I decided to think of it as a fresh start and have now reset my machine.

Thank you,
-uday

al562
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 221
Joined: 12 Dec 2012 08:02
Location: New Jersey, U.S.A.
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Have i lost all my data?

#5

Post by al562 »

Hi Uday,
uday_ananth wrote: i decided to delete the raid volume
Unfortunately this was not a good idea, particularly with RAID0. When you delete a RAID, the stored metadata may be altered in order to prepare the drives for future use, the effect is loss of data.

Regards,
Al

Post Reply

Return to “Software RAID”