*New 11.4 series Release:
2020-07-03: XigmaNAS 11.4.0.4.7633 - released!

*New 12.1 series Release:
2020-04-17: XigmaNAS 12.1.0.4.7542 - released


We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money. Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

Lost RAID5 array going from FN7 - FN 8.3.1

Software RAID information and help
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
donbot
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Jul 2013 22:05
Status: Offline

Lost RAID5 array going from FN7 - FN 8.3.1

#1

Post by donbot »

Hi All,

A couple of days ago I decided to give Freenas 8.3.1 a go so shutdown my old version 0.7.whatever box whipped out the OS usb stick dropped in another one with FN 8 installed. Powered up and all seemed fine until i tried to find my 4 disk RAID5 array! It knows the 4 drives ar there but can't ID the array.
Poop! FN8 doesn't support UFS RAID5. Hey ho.
Dropped my FN0.7 USB stick back in booted up fine but... NO ARRAY! Again it sees my drives and kinda knows there was an array But i can't mount it or do anything with it.
I know next to nothing about unix/linux so I hope you guys can help me. Ive got 4 or 5 TB of data on that thing and am going to be gutted to lose it! In fact, if you can help me get my array back I promise to donate as a sign of appreciation!
I know you'll need fore info from me to help but not sure what you'll need so just ask and I will provide any info i can.

I've started a thread on the Freenas forums ( http://forums.freenas.org/threads/lost- ... 3-1.13715/ ) but they mostly recommend i come here.

I'm now back booting from my original freenas 7 usb stick. Checked the log on the webui and found this:

Jul 10 20:11:26 freenas kernel: ad4: 1907729MB <SAMSUNG HD204UI 1AQ10001> at ata2-master SATA300
Jul 10 20:11:26 freenas kernel: ad6: 1907729MB <SAMSUNG HD204UI 1AQ10001> at ata3-master SATA300
Jul 10 20:11:26 freenas kernel: ad8: 1907729MB <SAMSUNG HD204UI 1AQ10001> at ata4-master SATA300
Jul 10 20:11:26 freenas kernel: ad10: 1907729MB <SAMSUNG HD204UI 1AQ10001> at ata5-master SATA300
Jul 10 20:11:26 freenas kernel: GEOM: ad6: corrupt or invalid GPT detected.
Jul 10 20:11:26 freenas kernel: GEOM: ad6: GPT rejected -- may not be recoverable.

Jul 10 20:11:26 freenas kernel: SMP: AP CPU #1 Launched!
Jul 10 20:11:26 freenas kernel: da0 at umass-sim0 bus 0 target 0 lun 0
Jul 10 20:11:26 freenas kernel: da0: <SanDisk Cruzer Blade 1.01> Removable Direct Access SCSI-2 device
Jul 10 20:11:26 freenas kernel: da0: 40.000MB/s transfers
Jul 10 20:11:26 freenas kernel: da0: 1908MB (3908352 512 byte sectors: 255H 63S/T 243C)
Jul 10 20:11:26 freenas kernel: Trying to mount root from ufs:/dev/md0
Jul 10 20:11:26 freenas kernel: GEOM_RAID5: registered shutdown event handler.
Jul 10 20:11:26 freenas kernel: GEOM_RAID5: ad10: geom_raid5.ko module is too old.
Jul 10 20:11:26 freenas kernel: GEOM_RAID5: ad8: geom_raid5.ko module is too old.
Jul 10 20:11:26 freenas kernel: GEOM_RAID5: ad6: geom_raid5.ko module is too old.
Jul 10 20:11:26 freenas kernel: GEOM_RAID5: ad4: geom_raid5.ko module is too old.



Hope you can help folks!
DonnyB

User avatar
shakky4711
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 273
Joined: 25 Jun 2012 08:27
Status: Offline

Re: Lost RAID5 array going from FN7 - FN 8.3.1

#2

Post by shakky4711 »

Hi,

possible FreeNAS 8 wrote some metadata to the array during your operations.

So my suggestion:

Donwload latest NAS4Free Live-CD Image, use the 64bit version when your hardware contains a 64bit CPU, otherwise 32bit
Verify md5 checksum to be sure not to have a broken download
Burn the ISO to CD
Boot your main computer with this CD and install EMBEDDED on a flashdrive/usb pendrive
Plug in the pendrive to your NAS, connect a keyboard and screen
Boot, setup a fixed IP address and netmask which fits to your network, leave IP v6 empty
Connect by a webbrowser
Find and press button "Clear config and import disks"
Check if all disks appear
Find and press button "Clear config and import software raid"
When positive identified you could normally mount the array now. When your operations damaged the file system you must do an fsck, a dirty file system can not get mounted.

HINTS: Always have a backup from your date, from important data two our more backups
Never do any operating-system hopping/toying with your real hardware, use an old machine for testings
If anyhow possible consider to kick off the obselete raid5 array, replace it with the much more reliable and powerful up-to-date ZFS

Good luck
Shakky

donbot
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Jul 2013 22:05
Status: Offline

Re: Lost RAID5 array going from FN7 - FN 8.3.1

#3

Post by donbot »

Thanks Shakky, I'll give that a try in a bit. Can the fsck be run from the webgui? Not noticed that option before...

Ok, tried that. Finds the disks but reports no new software raid disk found.
Any other ideas?... Anyone?

donbot
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Jul 2013 22:05
Status: Offline

Re: Lost RAID5 array going from FN7 - FN 8.3.1

#4

Post by donbot »

WooooooHoooooooooooo!!!!
First topic in this sub-forum!
My old freenas 7 OS would still report from it's config that there should be an array but size was zero, status was stopped and couldn' do anything with it.
So thought, fsck it! (excuse the pun) Lets just try this:

Delete array from SoftwareRAID|Management.
Here I get: Warning: You are going to delete a RAID volume. All data will get lost and can not be recovered.
Apply to confirm and the array is gone.

Re-create the array using the same members and the same name but not selecting Create and Initialize RAID. The array is in "Stopped" status. Re-create the array using the same members and the same name but selecting Create and initializeRAID. Even if the WebGUI shows a warning:
This will erase ALL data on the selected disks! Do not use this option if you want to add an already existing RAID again.
Apply and the status shows that my array is UP.
OK, so I don't format the array since it should already be formatted and have data on it, just mount the array.
Check my data on array and everything is there and the checksum matches for all files.

Bloody marvelous! Array now re-syncing! 380 minutes to go so I better start thinking about some sort of backup I guess!

User avatar
shakky4711
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 273
Joined: 25 Jun 2012 08:27
Status: Offline

Re: Lost RAID5 array going from FN7 - FN 8.3.1

#5

Post by shakky4711 »

Hi, good to hear you seem to be lucky :-)

Because of the masses of data the trend is more and more to have a second backup NAS, because it must be powered up only for backup time old hardware can be used and recycled this way :D

Shakky

Post Reply

Return to “Software RAID”