*New 11.4 series Release:
2020-07-03: XigmaNAS 11.4.0.4.7633 - released!

*New 12.1 series Release:
2020-04-17: XigmaNAS 12.1.0.4.7542 - released


We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money. Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

RAID 1 degraded impossible to rebuild

Software RAID information and help
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
profwalken
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 4
Joined: 08 Jul 2015 13:14
Status: Offline

RAID 1 degraded impossible to rebuild

#1

Post by profwalken »

Hi,
i'm french user of N4F in 9.201 version on amd64 plateform, i use a software Raid1 with 2 HDD "WD 1To RED" all was working well but Raid1 was degraded by failure on drive ada2 due to lots of bads clusters.

i changed the WD HDD with same new model, i added to freenas and format in software raid, in GUI i can see my new hdd but when i want to add it in my software raid1 config to rebuild, the drive is not seen.

What can i do to rebuild properly my software raid with no loose of datas?

is there any other solution than backup all the datas from good ada1 HD to external drive and then wipe all software raid config and rebuild completely a new one array.

Thank's for help
best regards
Profwalken

User avatar
b0ssman
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2454
Joined: 14 Feb 2013 08:34
Location: Munich, Germany
Status: Offline

Re: RAID 1 degraded impossible to rebuild

#2

Post by b0ssman »

you should have read the faq

http://wiki.nas4free.org/doku.php?id=faq:0059

and not have formated the drive.
Nas4Free 11.1.0.4.4517. Supermicro X10SLL-F, 16gb ECC, i3 4130, IBM M1015 with IT firmware. 4x 3tb WD Red, 4x 2TB Samsung F4, both GEOM AES 256 encrypted.

profwalken
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 4
Joined: 08 Jul 2015 13:14
Status: Offline

Re: RAID 1 degraded impossible to rebuild

#3

Post by profwalken »

Hi Bossman,
thanks for answer, i've already seen this in faq but it don't work on my N4F.

it give me everytime same message : geom: No such geom: Raid1Mirroir.

i can't see the ada2 Hard drive and it's impossible to add it to array.

is it possible to remove the array with no data lost on ada1 HD and trying to reinstall from scratch N4F in latest stable version and after try to restore config or make new array
is it a good idea or i'm sure to loose all my datas ?

profwalken
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 4
Joined: 08 Jul 2015 13:14
Status: Offline

Re: RAID 1 degraded impossible to rebuild

#4

Post by profwalken »

i ve read the threads for Supernova and i have the same problems he encountered but with only 2 WD red 1To
it seem lot of info in N4F are not reliable some menu say that raid 1 exist and some other don't find it.

is my only safe way is to make complete backup of ada1 HD and reinstall from scratch?

profwalken
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 4
Joined: 08 Jul 2015 13:14
Status: Offline

Re: RAID 1 degraded impossible to rebuild

#5

Post by profwalken »

Hi guys, I could use some help

I tried removing all the raid configuration and mount point. after a reboot i restored an old config file with raid1 configuration.

first step N4F says that ada2 HD is not the same,which is normal since i changed it for a new one, so i removed old config in disk management and add new ada2 unformated.

now i can see ada2 in software raid1 config but i'm still not able to rebuild, always the same message : geom: No such geom: Raid1Mirroir.

Raid1Mirror volume in software raid is seen with unknown size and stopped status.

Is there any hope to restart and rebuild.?

Post Reply

Return to “Software RAID”