*New 11.3 series Release:
2019-10-05: XigmaNAS 11.3.0.4.6928 - released, 11.2 series are soon unsupported!

*New 12.0 series Release:
2019-10-05: XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4.6928 - released!

*New 11.2 series Release:
2019-09-23: XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4.6881 - released!

We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money. Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

larger Disk replacement

Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
maddes8cht
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 12
Joined: 07 Jun 2017 18:26
Status: Offline

larger Disk replacement

#1

Post by maddes8cht » 29 Jun 2019 01:00

I replaced my 1-TB Disks with 2-TB disks, one by another.
As far as i understood the specifications, the disk space should have been determined by the smallest available disk and grow from 2 TB to 4 TB after sucessful replacement of the last disk.

Now on the System Information page it says
Total: 3.98 TB
which looks correct, the same on the Disks / ZFS / Pools / Management page.

But df -h results in

Code: Select all

Filesystem     Size    Used   Avail Capacity  Mounted on

[...]

NudelPool      1.7T    254G    1.5T    15%    /mnt/NudelPool

[...]
which is only the old available Space.
Do i have to do anything to get the full available Space?

So far i have no Datasets and no Volumes specified, Im storing just on the ZFS virtual device.

User avatar
ms49434
Developer
Developer
Posts: 718
Joined: 03 Sep 2015 18:49
Location: Neuenkirchen-Vörden, Germany - GMT+1
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: larger Disk replacement

#2

Post by ms49434 » 29 Jun 2019 01:22

If you haven't enabled autoexpand on the pool before you started to replace all disks of the related virtual device with higher capacity disks, you have to issue command zpool online -e [device] either via WebGUI (Disks > ZFS > Tools > Bring a device online) or command line.
Reference: FreeBSD Manual Pages - zpool > online

Code: Select all

zpool online [-e] pool device ...

	 Brings	the specified physical device online.

	 This command is not applicable	to spares or cache devices.

	 -e	 Expand	the device to use all available space. If the device
		 is part of a mirror or raidz then all devices must be
		 expanded before the new space will become available to the
		 pool.
after you successfully expanded the vdev you should synchronize ZFS information with the WebGUI (Disks > ZFS > Configuration > Synchronize)
1) XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4 amd64-embedded on a Dell T20 running in a VM on ESXi 6.7U2, 22GB out of 32GB ECC RAM, LSI 9300-8i IT mode in passthrough mode. Pool 1: 2x HGST 10TB, mirrored, SLOG: Samsung 850 Pro, L2ARC: Samsung 850 Pro, Pool 2: 1x Samsung 860 EVO 1TB , services: Samba AD, CIFS/SMB, ftp, ctld, rsync, syncthing, zfs snapshots.
2) XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4 amd64-embedded on a Dell T20 running in a VM on ESXi 6.7U2, 8GB out of 32GB ECC RAM, IBM M1215 crossflashed, IT mode, passthrough mode, 2x HGST 10TB , services: rsync.

maddes8cht
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 12
Joined: 07 Jun 2017 18:26
Status: Offline

Re: larger Disk replacement

#3

Post by maddes8cht » 29 Jun 2019 01:47

Aha - thank you.

Now before doing so i discovered one strange thing:
On the page
disk / zfs / Pools / Virtual Device
then edit my virtual device, i can see my Disks, each of them saying in 'Partition' : Entire Device.
With exception of one disks, where it says p1.
Seems i have done a mistake when i formated the disk? Should i correct this first, and if, then how do i do it best?
(its RaidZ2, so have another redundant disk when i need to fumble on one...)

maddes8cht
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 12
Joined: 07 Jun 2017 18:26
Status: Offline

Re: larger Disk replacement

#4

Post by maddes8cht » 29 Jun 2019 02:01

.. and it didn't work.
I guess the partition p1 on that certain disk is having a certain size, thus preventing the pool to grow.

Is it even possible to repartition this in the WebGui?
Did i get a pre-partitioned Disk?

What do i have to do now?

Post Reply

Return to “ZFS (only!)”