*New 11.3 series Release:
2019-10-05: XigmaNAS 11.3.0.4.6928 - released, 11.2 series are soon unsupported!

*New 12.0 series Release:
2019-10-05: XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4.6928 - released!

*New 11.2 series Release:
2019-09-23: XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4.6881 - released!

We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money. Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

to confirm that it isn't possible ... add drives to Raidz1

Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
igr4free
Starter
Starter
Posts: 72
Joined: 19 Dec 2016 15:12
Status: Offline

to confirm that it isn't possible ... add drives to Raidz1

#1

Post by igr4free » 29 Jun 2019 13:47

hi!

I have a raidz1 with 4 drives, and I would like to add two more.

I read that it is not possible to add disks to the raidz1, but to the pool, although these would not be integrated in the parity of the raid. it is right?

I'm doing an rsync to dump the data, delete the current pool, do it again with 6 disks, and return the data ...

it's recommended 6 drives in raidz1? (they are only 900Gb) or do you recommend some other option?
XigmaNAS version 12.0.0.4.6881 - Reticulus RootOnZFS (mirror disk)
HPE Proliant Microserver Gen8 / CPU: E3-1265L V2 @ 2.50GHz / Mem: 16GB DDR3 ECC / Storage: IBM ServerRaid m1015, 4x 1TB HITACHI RaidZ1, 2x 1TB HITACHI Stripe, OS Disk: 2x 80GB INTEL SSD

sleid
PowerUser
PowerUser
Posts: 752
Joined: 23 Jun 2012 07:36
Location: FRANCE LIMOUSIN CORREZE
Status: Offline

Re: to confirm that it isn't possible ... add drives to Raidz1

#2

Post by sleid » 29 Jun 2019 20:26

If you want flexibility to increase the size of your pool, opt for a pool of 2 vdev RZ1 of 3 disks each.
You will be able to increase the capacity of your pool by changing only 3 disks instead of 6.
12.1.0.4 - RC1 (revision 6999)
FreeBSD 12.1-RC1 #0 r353550M: Tue Oct 15 16:23:25 CEST 2019
X64-embedded sur Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU C2750 @ 2.40GHz Boot UEFI
ASRock C2750D4I 2 X 8GB DDR3 ECC
Pool of 2 vdev Raidz1: 3 x WDC WD40EFRX + 3 x WDC WD30EZRX

igr4free
Starter
Starter
Posts: 72
Joined: 19 Dec 2016 15:12
Status: Offline

Re: to confirm that it isn't possible ... add drives to Raidz1

#3

Post by igr4free » 30 Jun 2019 01:01

:roll:

So, would I create two raidz1 in virtual devices and then a pool composed of these two? So would I lose two parity disks? but would it gain read / write speed?
XigmaNAS version 12.0.0.4.6881 - Reticulus RootOnZFS (mirror disk)
HPE Proliant Microserver Gen8 / CPU: E3-1265L V2 @ 2.50GHz / Mem: 16GB DDR3 ECC / Storage: IBM ServerRaid m1015, 4x 1TB HITACHI RaidZ1, 2x 1TB HITACHI Stripe, OS Disk: 2x 80GB INTEL SSD

Onichan
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 237
Joined: 04 Jul 2012 21:41
Status: Offline

Re: to confirm that it isn't possible ... add drives to Raidz1

#4

Post by Onichan » 30 Jun 2019 04:44

Yes, two 3 disk raidz vdevs in one pool. Yes you would then loose two disks to parity. Yes you should gain more IOPS.

What are you using this pool for? What protocols, SMB or NFS? If you're going with two 3 disk raidz then I'd probably just do a 6 disk raidz2. It would have less IOPS, but unless you're running VMs on it then I'd rather have the better disk tolerance. If this is SMB traffic then IOPS wouldn't be as important as Samba is asynchronous by default anyways and all writes get buffered in RAM.

A pool consists of one or more vdevs. Data is striped across all vdevs (mostly, I think it's more complicated than that). This is why the vdevs must have the parity as the pool itself doesn't. More vdevs equals more IOPS. More disks in a single vdev generally increases sequential speeds though as well. Technically you can put multiple different types of vdevs in a pool, but it's recommended to kept them similar.

sleid
PowerUser
PowerUser
Posts: 752
Joined: 23 Jun 2012 07:36
Location: FRANCE LIMOUSIN CORREZE
Status: Offline

Re: to confirm that it isn't possible ... add drives to Raidz1

#5

Post by sleid » 30 Jun 2019 05:41

igr4free wrote:
30 Jun 2019 01:01
:roll:

So, would I create two raidz1 in virtual devices and then a pool composed of these two? So would I lose two parity disks? but would it gain read / write speed?
ZFS does not have a parity disk, parity is distributed on all vdev disks.
You can lose 1 disk on each vdev, but not 2 on 1 vdev.
12.1.0.4 - RC1 (revision 6999)
FreeBSD 12.1-RC1 #0 r353550M: Tue Oct 15 16:23:25 CEST 2019
X64-embedded sur Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU C2750 @ 2.40GHz Boot UEFI
ASRock C2750D4I 2 X 8GB DDR3 ECC
Pool of 2 vdev Raidz1: 3 x WDC WD40EFRX + 3 x WDC WD30EZRX

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4921
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: to confirm that it isn't possible ... add drives to Raidz1

#6

Post by raulfg3 » 30 Jun 2019 09:35

12.0.0.4 (revision 6766)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes

igr4free
Starter
Starter
Posts: 72
Joined: 19 Dec 2016 15:12
Status: Offline

Re: to confirm that it isn't possible ... add drives to Raidz1

#7

Post by igr4free » 07 Jul 2019 20:42

Thxs raulfg3.

I have read the link and I begin to understand concepts. I think I'll keep my raidz1 for backups and photos, so it has 1 hdd of parity. and I will create another zpool with the other two devices for plex, software, and data that I do not mind missing...

I read that if I add a new vdev to my current zpool and pass something to one of those drives, I will lose the full zpool. and I'm not interested ...;)

I understand that in order to make a stripe I have to create a new vdev, so I will create a new zpool in turn.

But I don't understanding what is gained by adding more vdevs to the same zpool if all the data can be lost
XigmaNAS version 12.0.0.4.6881 - Reticulus RootOnZFS (mirror disk)
HPE Proliant Microserver Gen8 / CPU: E3-1265L V2 @ 2.50GHz / Mem: 16GB DDR3 ECC / Storage: IBM ServerRaid m1015, 4x 1TB HITACHI RaidZ1, 2x 1TB HITACHI Stripe, OS Disk: 2x 80GB INTEL SSD

User avatar
gomario
Starter
Starter
Posts: 73
Joined: 17 Dec 2016 08:45
Status: Offline

Re: to confirm that it isn't possible ... add drives to Raidz1

#8

Post by gomario » 17 Aug 2019 09:51

igr4free wrote:
29 Jun 2019 13:47
hi!

I have a raidz1 with 4 drives, and I would like to add two more.

I read that it is not possible to add disks to the raidz1, but to the pool, although these would not be integrated in the parity of the raid. it is right?

I'm doing an rsync to dump the data, delete the current pool, do it again with 6 disks, and return the data ...

it's recommended 6 drives in raidz1? (they are only 900Gb) or do you recommend some other option?
Yes, I do recomend other options. Few people know this. Without going into details, here is the optimal setup for any ZFS format:
2+1 = 3 disc setup for small home server (cheapest to later increase in sise)
4+1 = 5 disc setup for large home server (most used format for our needs)
8+2 = 10 disc setup for small bussines server
16+3= 19 disc setup for medium bussiness server
For large Bussiness servers use private technician(s)
If you are into computer you'll notice the "power of 2" in there (2, 4, 8, 16).
Keep in mind. It is all about Capacity, Performance, Integrity!

When it comes to RAM you have 2 options:
1. As little as possible. No more than 4GB - NONE ECC
2. As much as possible. Prefferably 1/1000 of your RAID capacity. (for a 8+2 Disc system of 8TB each disc, use 8*8GB=64GB Not buffered, ECC RAM)
For Bussiness systems always use UNBUFFERED, ECC RAM. Unless you need a lot and your Mobo does not support the amount needed by the above formula. In that case use buffered ecc RAM and accept the overall (slight) slowing down of your system.

Post Reply

Return to “ZFS (only!)”