*New 12.1 series Release:
2019-11-08: XigmaNAS 12.1.0.4.7091 - released!

*New 11.3 series Release:
2019-10-19: XigmaNAS 11.3.0.4.7014 - released

We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money. Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

Newbie - How to enable compression? Lost...

Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
tine1999
NewUser
NewUser

Newbie - How to enable compression? Lost...

Post by tine1999 » 02 Jul 2012 19:36

Hi,
I am a newbie at all this and lost in the dataset thingy. I have set-up a zfs raided pool with 5 disks called tank1. I have been using it for a while as a simple CIFS share.
Now, that the pool is starting to fill-in, I just realize that I should have enabled compression.... upsi.....

Anyhow, since I still have some room left in the pool, I was thinking I could perhaps:

1 - Create a dataset in the pool tank1 (let's call it T1Dataset with no quota)
2 - Enable compression in the dataset T1Dataset - gzip 6
3 - Move all the files from tank1 into T1Dataset

The gist of it is that as files are "removed" from tank1 and compressed into T1Dataset, as space frees from tank1, this space can be used by T1Dataset. Since the actual space used by T1Dataset will be less than the uncompressed files in tank1, I am guessing it should work.

However, I am lost at the whole datast thingy.
To create a dataset in GUI, I go to Disk / ZFS / Datasets and create one with compression enabled. Save.
So far, so good. And now what?

If I check Disk / ZFS / Dataset / Information, is not listed there (only tank1)
If I check Disk / ZFS / Dataste is listed there
If I check Disk / ZFS / Configuration / Current, it is there
If I check Disk / ZFS / Configuration / Detected, it's not there

Furthermore, where is T1Dataset mounted? I can't find it anywhere.