*New 12.1 series Release:
2019-11-08: XigmaNAS 12.1.0.4.7091 - released!

*New 11.3 series Release:
2019-10-19: XigmaNAS 11.3.0.4.7014 - released

We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money. Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

Pure SSD pool or not?

Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
DigitalDaz
NewUser
NewUser

Pure SSD pool or not?

Post by DigitalDaz » 12 Feb 2013 11:23

I'm looking to create a shared storage box for a couple of hypervisors. I'm going to chunk the hypervisors up into 1GB RAM VPS so over to there will potentially be about 60. They're for VOIP so there will be no huge demand on IO.

I've decided ZFS is the way to go and there is no great budget here so I'm trying to make the best of what I have.

I've had some bad experiences with cheap SSD, I put 8 256GB Crucial V4s in two HP DL360 G5 boxes and 4 of them are ruined within a month.

For my storage box, I have a i3-2100 with 16GB RAM and am thinking of going either four or even six Samsung 840 Pro 256GB drives to create a pure SSD pool.

The alternative is using say a one (or two) small intel SSD as a ZIL and maybe one 840 Pro 256GB as L2ARC with some 250GB 10K Velociraptors as pool.

I'm new to ZFS and would like to know how the more experienced people would tackle this.

Darkfall
NewUser
NewUser

Re: Pure SSD pool or not?

Post by Darkfall » 26 Feb 2013 08:42

Hi, DigitalDaz,

An all SSD storage array is awesome for IOPs, but they're expensive if you don't need the speed (you indicate that you won't see huge demand on I/O, so I'm not sure why you're looking to build a box with the most expensive drive options possible).