*New 11.3 series Release:
2019-10-05: XigmaNAS 11.3.0.4.6928 - released, 11.2 series are soon unsupported!

*New 12.0 series Release:
2019-10-05: XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4.6928 - released!

*New 11.2 series Release:
2019-09-23: XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4.6881 - released!

We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money. Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

Hw/cpu needed to max out 1gb nic speeds

Encrypting information and help
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
gurkburk76
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Oct 2012 21:48
Status: Offline

Hw/cpu needed to max out 1gb nic speeds

#1

Post by gurkburk76 » 10 Oct 2012 21:58

Hey, been using nas4free for a while now on some old hardware i had around ( x64-embedded on Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E7600 @ 3.06GHz + 6gig mem) and i'm getting about 50mb/sec with a zfs raidz1 pool of 3 discs and aes-128 software witch is ok i guess.

But to my question, i'de like to throw this into a new computer and i was thinking that if i get a amd (that has aes instructions) fx-6200 cpu + 16gig memory (this comp would then later also be used an an esxi server with the drives forwarded to the nas4free vm via direct io for some speed) it really should be no problem pushing the speeds of the 1gb card, ~115-120megs/sec. I mainly just wanted to know what kind of hardware other ppl are using to max out a 1gb connection with aes enabled on the drives :)

jim71
Starter
Starter
Posts: 19
Joined: 09 Nov 2012 00:22
Status: Offline

Re: Hw/cpu needed to max out 1gb nic speeds

#2

Post by jim71 » 20 Jan 2013 10:58

Hi,

I was actually wondering if nas4free disk encryption will really use the aes HW capability of the recent processor as AMD FX ?
I have currently a system with a old Phenom II (without aes) and was thinking replacing it with a cheap AMD FX mainly
to have aes HW support (ans also a bit to lower consumption from 125 to 95 tpd), but before this I would like to be sure
it will work ? Any experience ?

Thank you

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4921
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Hw/cpu needed to max out 1gb nic speeds

#3

Post by raulfg3 » 20 Jan 2013 11:36

12.0.0.4 (revision 6766)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes

User avatar
Earendil
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 44
Joined: 23 Jun 2012 15:57
Location: near Boston, MA, USA.
Status: Offline

Re: Hw/cpu needed to max out 1gb nic speeds

#4

Post by Earendil » 20 Jan 2013 13:54

As you can see I have an AMD dual core as well as encryption (AES) plus RAIDZ1 pools. My best throughput when downloading a single file is nearly 40 MB/sec. I have never bested that. I had to get an intel NIC (Marvell and the on board Realtek were slower) plus Daoyama's ZFSKernTune to get to where I am now. CPU usage is near 100% (both cores) so there may be more I can do but it is in the depths of FreeBSD and device drivers which I am not that familiar with.

From everything I have read, especially back to FN7 when a group of people really tried to speed things up, I have never heard of throughput better than 100 MB/sec. There are lots of factors even outside of the NAS that can restrict these speeds. Good luck. :)
Earendil

XigmaNAS server:
-AMD A10-7860K APU
-Gigabyte F2A88XM-D3HP w/16GB RAM
-Green & Red HDDs
--4x 2TB
--6x 4TB
-Syba SI-PEX40064 PCI-e 1x
-External Orico USB 3.0 5 bay HDD external enclosure set at RAID 5
--5x 2TB
-650W power supply

rostreich
Status: Offline

Re: Hw/cpu needed to max out 1gb nic speeds

#5

Post by rostreich » 06 Feb 2013 22:37

Maybe the system in my sig is something for you. I have also ZFSKernTune and I'm using it with HW-crypto of the CPU. I'm getting 67 MB/s write and 74 MB/s read through CIFS with SMB and AIO (works now in .636!) at ~60% CPU load. This doesn't max out the nasbox, but my AMD-E350 Sourcemachine which has also a crypted drive. :D

I haven't benched iscsi, but it would be interesting, because it is not limited to single thread, right?

Post Reply

Return to “Encryption”