Sorry we lost some posts because of database errors!

*New 12.1 series Release:
2020-09-01: XigmaNAS 12.1.0.4.7728 - released

*New 11.4 series Release:
2020-08-27: XigmaNAS 11.4.0.4.7718 - released!


We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money. Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

Plex permanently "STOPPED"

XigmaNAS Extensions / Add-ons

Moderator: crest

Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
NeilP
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 222
Joined: 15 Jul 2012 11:45
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands, Europe
Status: Offline

Plex permanently "STOPPED"

#1

Post by NeilP »

Running

Version 11.0.0.4 - Sayyadina (revision 4303)
Compiled Friday May 26 00:48:40 BST 2017
Platform OS FreeBSD 11.0-RELEASE-p10 #0 r318902M: Fri May 26 00:03:18 CEST 2017
Platform x64-embedded on Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E6550 @ 2.33GHz
System Hewlett-Packard 0AA8h
System BIOS Hewlett-Packard Version: 786F1 v01.32 07/21/2011


Do not know when i last did any work on this Box, it is my music server and it has always just worked.


Was trying to connect to my Plex server last week..and no joy..Plex appears on try phone but the shares from this home box were not accessible.

So back home now and look to see that the problem is

Plex Status appears in red saying Stopped

Plex version plexmediaserver-1.10.1.4602 Plex Media Server component
Extension version 4.3.021
Status stopped PID:


I click enable check box and then hit the start button.

and get the message the tit started or restarted successfully ..but the Status stays in Red as Stopped and no PIS.

Maintenance shows :
Looking for new Plex Extension package!
Plex Extension is on the latest version!


I use the extended GUI to show Disk status so it seems I cannot upgrade to XigmaNAS 11.4 or 12.4 ....


I have no idea where to start looking.

Have doen a few reboots and still no joy


What extra info can i give , for you to help me start my Plex streaming again?

Thank you

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4980
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Plex permanently "STOPPED"

#2

Post by raulfg3 »

please give a oportunity to 12.4, and try it, ( yes extended GUI do not work), but other things work better.

from your original problem:


Not sure wat is, perhaps latest PLex versions do not support BSD 11 ??, <- I really do not knot, my suggest is that upgrade to latest and give it a try.


PD: If you do the new install on a new boot device, you can safely can use the old(actual) boot device in case that really do not solve your problem or you are not happy with the new 12.4 (120GB SSD is really cheaper this days and you have a lot of space to store on it your PLex Database.).

Only for curiosyty how many Megas use your plex database?.

mine use 33GB <- YES 33 Gigas
12.1.0.4 - Ingva (revision 7743) on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 11x3TB disk in 1 vdev = Vpool = 32TB Raw size , so 29TB usable size (I Have other NAS as Backup)

Wiki
Last changes

HP T510

NeilP
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 222
Joined: 15 Jul 2012 11:45
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands, Europe
Status: Offline

Re: Plex permanently "STOPPED"

#3

Post by NeilP »

OK, thanks for trying

about 8gb it is showing used with the Extended GUI on the disk that flex data is on .

I will give 12 a try and see...if my hardware is up to it.

eire1274
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 2
Joined: 20 Apr 2019 01:30
Status: Offline

Re: Plex permanently "STOPPED"

#4

Post by eire1274 »

Any solution? I backed up my Plex data, uninstalled it, installed a fresh copy, and restored. Worked until today, then the symptom returned: Start PlexMS and it immediately stops.
XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4r7728 64-bit, ASUS AM1M-A w/ Athlon 5350 SoC 4c/4t 2.05Ghz, 2x8GB ECC UDIMM, Patriot 60GB SSD SATA OS host, LSI SAS9200-8E, 4x2TB SATA ZFS, 1x8TB USB3 mirror

NeilP
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 222
Joined: 15 Jul 2012 11:45
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands, Europe
Status: Offline

Re: Plex permanently "STOPPED"

#5

Post by NeilP »

Since I first posted this in August I have still not got around to doing anything about it.

The server sits in my attic, it is still running as a server for Sonos, so had given up on Plex, If I screw with it to get Plex working, something else will probably be broken on a newer release .., so have not bothered. I don’t find old hardware for free anymore either now our dump has changed its policy on computers and data security etc.. the old computers just get crushed now.

Post Reply

Return to “Extensions / Add-ons”