Page 6 of 7

Re: [EXTENSION] OneButtonInstaller

Posted: 15 Feb 2020 13:20
by raulfg3
please post ls -la /mnt/NASys/

to know owner and permission of /mnt/NASys/Ext dataset

Re: [EXTENSION] OneButtonInstaller

Posted: 15 Feb 2020 16:53
by IG33
raulfg3 wrote:
15 Feb 2020 13:20
please post ls -la /mnt/NASys/

Code: Select all

ignasv: ~# ls -la /mnt/NASys/
total 14
drwxrwxrwx  4 root  wheel     512 Feb 14 15:19 .
drwxr-xr-x  3 root  wheel     512 Feb 14 18:13 ..
drwxrwxr-x  2 root  operator  512 Feb 14 18:00 .snap
drwxrwxrwx  3 root  wheel     512 Feb 14 15:19 Ext

Re: [EXTENSION] OneButtonInstaller

Posted: 15 Feb 2020 17:50
by raulfg3
all is good.

Sorry no more ideas what it's wrong.

Re: [EXTENSION] OneButtonInstaller

Posted: 15 Feb 2020 22:03
by IG33
raulfg3 wrote:
15 Feb 2020 17:50
no more ideas what it's wrong.
It is possible that the reasons are in the network settings in the place where the NAS is installed. I will talk to the network administrator and write if something clears up.

Re: [EXTENSION] OneButtonInstaller

Posted: 18 Feb 2020 11:07
by IG33
IG33 wrote:
14 Feb 2020 22:22
Help me, please.
...
As it turned out, the problem is related to the settings of the access restriction system in our company. Administrators are trying to figure out the problem, but I have so far bypassed it by temporarily connecting the NAS to the Internet via another provider (mobile 4G).

Re: [EXTENSION] OneButtonInstaller

Posted: 02 Mar 2020 14:59
by TJF
I have the same problem like IG33:

$ ls -la /mnt/extensions/
total 8
drwxrwxr-x 2 root wheel 512 Mar 2 14:56 .
drwxr-xr-x 4 root wheel 512 Mar 2 14:56 ..

No access restriction system at home!

Re: [EXTENSION] OneButtonInstaller

Posted: 02 Mar 2020 18:11
by raulfg3
TJF wrote:
02 Mar 2020 14:59
I have the same problem like IG33:

$ ls -la /mnt/extensions/
total 8
drwxrwxr-x 2 root wheel 512 Mar 2 14:56 .
drwxr-xr-x 4 root wheel 512 Mar 2 14:56 ..

No access restriction system at home!
but you bon't have a folder for extension like IG33 only . and ..

please read topic from the ini, and post your steps and the output of the shell to see what appends.

Re: [EXTENSION] OneButtonInstaller

Posted: 02 Mar 2020 18:43
by TJF
After installing OBI everything seems to be ok. After restart of the NAS it is totally gone.


/mnt/DATA/extensions

$ ls -la /mnt/DATA/
total 12
drwxrwxr-x 3 root wheel 512 Mar 2 18:25 .
drwxr-xr-x 4 root wheel 512 Mar 2 18:25 ..
drwxrwxr-x 3 root wheel 512 Mar 2 18:26 extensions

$ ls -la /mnt/DATA/extensions
total 12
drwxrwxr-x 3 root wheel 512 Mar 2 18:26 .
drwxrwxr-x 3 root wheel 512 Mar 2 18:25 ..
drwxrwxr-x 5 root wheel 512 Mar 2 18:37 onebuttoninstaller


$ fetch https://raw.github.com/crestAT/nas4free ... er/OBI.php && mkdir -p ext/OBI && echo '<a href="OBI.php">OneButtonInstaller</a>' > ext/OBI/menu.inc && echo -e "\nDONE"

DONE


$ ping -t 4 github.com
PING github.com (140.82.118.4): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 140.82.118.4: icmp_seq=0 ttl=58 time=48.453 ms
64 bytes from 140.82.118.4: icmp_seq=1 ttl=58 time=47.443 ms
64 bytes from 140.82.118.4: icmp_seq=2 ttl=58 time=47.444 ms
64 bytes from 140.82.118.4: icmp_seq=3 ttl=58 time=46.960 ms

--- github.com ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 4 packets received, 0.0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max/stddev = 46.960/47.575/48.453/0.544 ms


$ fetch https://github.com/crestAT/nas4free-one ... -v0402.zip
-> nothing happens

Re: [EXTENSION] OneButtonInstaller

Posted: 02 Mar 2020 19:48
by TJF
Before restart this (attachment) happens, when I try to install Plex Media Server.

Re: [EXTENSION] OneButtonInstaller

Posted: 04 Mar 2020 02:08
by JoseMR
TJF wrote:
02 Mar 2020 19:48
Before restart this (attachment) happens, when I try to install Plex Media Server.

This error may be related due a FreeBSD issue in they PKG causing mismatch ABI errors

"There's a known issue with the official FreeBSD package builders (which use ports-mgmt/pkg-devel) causing mismatched ABI error messages for package users. Pull request addressing the issue has been submitted..."

Regards

Re: [EXTENSION] OneButtonInstaller

Posted: 04 Mar 2020 06:19
by TJF
Thank you JoseMR!

Nobody any idea, why after restart of the NAS OBI is totally gone?

Re: [EXTENSION] OneButtonInstaller

Posted: 04 Mar 2020 19:27
by JoseMR
TJF wrote:
04 Mar 2020 06:19
Thank you JoseMR!

Nobody any idea, why after restart of the NAS OBI is totally gone?
Most likely you are running an XN Embedded installation don't installed the OBI Extension in a persistent data location i.e. your ZFS pool, or have an issue with the PostInit command.

Regards

Re: [EXTENSION] OneButtonInstaller

Posted: 05 Mar 2020 08:51
by TJF
I have installed it according to the recommendation ( viewtopic.php?f=71&t=11184#p69861 ):
/mnt/DATA/extensions

Re: [EXTENSION] OneButtonInstaller

Posted: 05 Mar 2020 10:45
by raulfg3
TJF wrote:
05 Mar 2020 08:51
I have installed it according to the recommendation ( viewtopic.php?f=71&t=11184#p69861 ):
/mnt/DATA/extensions
/mnt/DATA ia a dataset ?,

please post where point /mnt/DATA and try to copy something to it and see if survie a reboot.

Re: [EXTENSION] OneButtonInstaller

Posted: 05 Mar 2020 12:34
by TJF
No, DATA is not a dataset! I did not put it into a dataset. May be - like JoseMR said - that is the point. I will try...

Re: [EXTENSION] OneButtonInstaller

Posted: 05 Mar 2020 13:20
by TJF
Now, that was the problem. My dataset is named "pool1". Now I installed OBI in /mnt/pool1/DATA/extensions/ and OBI works - even after restart. But I went one step too much, too deep...

After installing Plex the same error like in #410, but there is a folder with Plex-Files. S. Attachment.

Re: [EXTENSION] OneButtonInstaller

Posted: 11 Mar 2020 15:58
by TJF
Meanwhile I could install Plex. It is working again -> #410

Re: [EXTENSION] OneButtonInstaller

Posted: 11 Mar 2020 16:48
by JoseMR
TJF wrote:
11 Mar 2020 15:58
Meanwhile I could install Plex. It is working again -> #410

Hi, latest Plex Media Server Extension now allow the user to initially install from official Plex Tarballs for convenience, so in case you have further problems with FreeBSD repositories with either Plex pkg version being too old or ABI/connection errors, just upload a latest Plex Tarball and that's it.

More on this in this small Plex Tarball Install/Upgrade How-To

Regards

Re: [EXTENSION] OneButtonInstaller

Posted: 11 Mar 2020 17:16
by TJF
Yes. Thank you! I've updated to the latest extension v. 4.3.015 and after that I downloaded and installed the FreeBSD-Version PlexMediaServer-1.18.7.2457-77cb9455c-FreeBSD-amd64.tar.bz2 from the Plex-Website. Installation over the extension (maintenance). Everything seems to work fine.

Re: [EXTENSION] OneButtonInstaller

Posted: 13 Apr 2020 13:29
by ernie
Dear all
I created a vm with xigmanas (12.1.0.4 - Ingva (revision 7509))
The vm contains 2 hdd: one for xigmanas installation and the other for data. No issue the fm works fully.
The vm is used for test.
I used a fresh install and launch the installation of obi.
I obtained the "done " information

But no extension menu with refresh.
I can ping from xigmanas 8.8.8.8
I put language in English.
I flushed the cache of my navigators (trials on safari and Firefox)
No menu
Any advice is welcome
Br

Re: [EXTENSION] OneButtonInstaller

Posted: 13 Apr 2020 14:18
by ms49434
ernie wrote:
13 Apr 2020 13:29
Dear all
I created a vm with xigmanas (12.1.0.4 - Ingva (revision 7509))
The vm contains 2 hdd: one for xigmanas installation and the other for data. No issue the fm works fully.
The vm is used for test.
I used a fresh install and launch the installation of obi.
I obtained the "done " information

But no extension menu with refresh.
I can ping from xigmanas 8.8.8.8
I put language in English.
I flushed the cache of my navigators (trials on safari and Firefox)
No menu
Any advice is welcome
Br
Please double check if the extension menu is enabled and is being scanned for extensions. Go to System > Advanced Setup and uncheck "Disable Extension Menu".

Re: [EXTENSION] OneButtonInstaller

Posted: 13 Apr 2020 14:22
by ernie
Thanks it works.
I didn't know this new option.
BR

Re: [EXTENSION] OneButtonInstaller

Posted: 26 Apr 2020 15:03
by DFRomanov
I had same problem.

Re: [EXTENSION] OneButtonInstaller

Posted: 26 Apr 2020 15:15
by ms49434
ernie wrote:
13 Apr 2020 14:22
Thanks it works.
I didn't know this new option.
BR
The option was added in March 2017.

Re: [EXTENSION] OneButtonInstaller

Posted: 26 Apr 2020 16:32
by crest
ms49434 wrote:
26 Apr 2020 15:15
ernie wrote:
13 Apr 2020 14:22
Thanks it works.
I didn't know this new option.
BR
The option was added in March 2017.
The extensions menu seems to be disabled by default now.

Re: [EXTENSION] OneButtonInstaller

Posted: 26 Apr 2020 17:04
by JoseMR
crest wrote:
26 Apr 2020 16:32
ms49434 wrote:
26 Apr 2020 15:15
ernie wrote:
13 Apr 2020 14:22
Thanks it works.
I didn't know this new option.
BR
The option was added in March 2017.
The extensions menu seems to be disabled by default now.
Manual solution is:
Extensions_Disabled.png

This was added on Revision 7486 and seems to be causing a lot of problem for newcomers.

I think like the same way the Extensions add the Postinit/Shutdown command scrips, this can be re-enabled
automatically upon an Extension install request in order to mitigate this question which will be asked over-and-over. :roll:

Had to make a quick test though. ;)

Regards

Re: [EXTENSION] OneButtonInstaller

Posted: 27 Apr 2020 06:00
by crest
JoseMR wrote:
26 Apr 2020 17:04
crest wrote:
26 Apr 2020 16:32
ms49434 wrote:
26 Apr 2020 15:15
ernie wrote:
13 Apr 2020 14:22
Thanks it works.
I didn't know this new option.
BR
The option was added in March 2017.
The extensions menu seems to be disabled by default now.
Manual solution is:
Extensions_Disabled.png


This was added on Revision 7486 and seems to be causing a lot of problem for newcomers.

I think like the same way the Extensions add the Postinit/Shutdown command scrips, this can be re-enabled
automatically upon an Extension install request in order to mitigate this question which will be asked over-and-over. :roll:

Had to make a quick test though. ;)

Regards
The question would be - what is the option good for? If users don't use extensions they don't care ;) and for the users which want to use extensions it's a stumbling block so in my opinion it would be the best to get rid of this option, what do you think of it?

Regards
crest

Re: [EXTENSION] OneButtonInstaller

Posted: 27 Apr 2020 07:14
by JoseMR
crest wrote:
27 Apr 2020 06:00
The question would be - what is the option good for? If users don't use extensions they don't care ;) and for the users which want to use extensions it's a stumbling block so in my opinion it would be the best to get rid of this option, what do you think of it?

Regards
crest
That is a stumbling good question indeed, no extensions users will never notice, but extensions users(mostly new comers) will get overwhelmed by.

Perhaps instead of hacking this to force enable under extensions scripts, this may be best to leave it as an user option for good.

Regards

Re: [EXTENSION] OneButtonInstaller

Posted: 27 Apr 2020 11:23
by ernie
Hi
Why not to display a warning during the installation or before the installation (warning for checking this option) ?
Example : before to launch installation thanks to check the option Xxxx. Is it disable ?
Yes = the installation is launched
No = thanks to disable it and then to launch again the installation. (Installation is not launched).

I discovered this option because of fresh installation. Normally I am just updating my embedded version via webgui. And this updating is transparent for the option.

BR

Re: [EXTENSION] OneButtonInstaller

Posted: 28 Apr 2020 07:35
by crest
ernie wrote:
27 Apr 2020 11:23
Hi
Why not to display a warning during the installation or before the installation (warning for checking this option) ?
Example : before to launch installation thanks to check the option Xxxx. Is it disable ?
Yes = the installation is launched
No = thanks to disable it and then to launch again the installation. (Installation is not launched).

I discovered this option because of fresh installation. Normally I am just updating my embedded version via webgui. And this updating is transparent for the option.

BR
For me the conclusion would be to have this option not ticked by default on a fresh installation ... :twisted: ;)

Regards
crest