*New 11.3 series Release:
2019-10-19: XigmaNAS 11.3.0.4.7014 - released

*New 12.0 series Release:
2019-10-05: XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4.6928 - released!

*New 11.2 series Release:
2019-09-23: XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4.6881 - released!

We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money. Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

WIFI Access Point

Everything to improve your speed, LAGG, VLAN, VPN, Port Forwarding, DNS, Gateway
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
s25a
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 9
Joined: 14 Dec 2017 21:51
Status: Offline

WIFI Access Point

#1

Post by s25a » 24 Jan 2018 10:41

Hi,

I already asked in the German Forum but as nobody had an idea maybe someone here can help. I just wanted to setup a WIFI AP to connect some wireless clients to nas4free.
First of all I bought a WIFI card which is recognized by nas4free and also supports the hostap mode. This is what I see in the logfile I think this is fine

Code: Select all

Jan 24 10:24:23 	kernel: 	ath0: <Atheros AR938x> mem 0xfb100000-0xfb11ffff irq 16 at device 0.0 on pci10
Jan 24 10:24:23 	kernel: 	ath0: Killer Wireless card detected
Jan 24 10:24:23 	kernel: 	ath0: [HT] enabling HT modes
Jan 24 10:24:23 	kernel: 	ath0: [HT] enabling short-GI in 20MHz mode
Jan 24 10:24:23 	kernel: 	ath0: [HT] 1 stream STBC receive enabled
Jan 24 10:24:23 	kernel: 	ath0: [HT] 1 stream STBC transmit enabled
Jan 24 10:24:23 	kernel: 	ath0: [HT] LDPC transmit/receive enabled
Jan 24 10:24:23 	kernel: 	ath0: [HT] 3 RX streams; 3 TX streams
Jan 24 10:24:23 	kernel: 	ath0: AR9380 mac 448.3 RF5110 phy 0.0
Jan 24 10:24:23 	kernel: 	ath0: 2GHz radio: 0x0000; 5GHz radio: 0x0000
Next step was to define the WLAN in the Interface Management. You can see this in screenshot 1
and then add this interface to opt1. A reboot was required after this.



Here is the config of the interfaces after the reboot. (The mainboard has some more interfaces please ignore this)

However no WIFI net can be found neither by my mobile device nor by my notebook.
So is there anything I have to add?

Thanks S

Code: Select all

ix0: flags=8802<BROADCAST,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
        options=e407bb<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,JUMBO_MTU,VLAN_HWCSUM,TSO4,TSO6,LRO,VLAN_HWTSO,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
        ether 00:25:90:5d:ed:34
        hwaddr 00:25:90:5d:ed:34
        nd6 options=29<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
        media: Ethernet autoselect
        status: no carrier
ix1: flags=8802<BROADCAST,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
        options=e407bb<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,JUMBO_MTU,VLAN_HWCSUM,TSO4,TSO6,LRO,VLAN_HWTSO,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
        ether 00:25:90:5d:ed:35
        hwaddr 00:25:90:5d:ed:35
        nd6 options=29<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
        media: Ethernet autoselect
        status: no carrier
igb0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
        options=6403bb<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,JUMBO_MTU,VLAN_HWCSUM,TSO4,TSO6,VLAN_HWTSO,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
        ether 00:25:90:5d:ec:0a
        hwaddr 00:25:90:5d:ec:0a
        inet 192.168.27.202 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.27.255
        nd6 options=29<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
        media: Ethernet autoselect (1000baseT <full-duplex>)
        status: active
igb1: flags=8c02<BROADCAST,OACTIVE,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
        options=6403bb<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,JUMBO_MTU,VLAN_HWCSUM,TSO4,TSO6,VLAN_HWTSO,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
        ether 00:25:90:5d:ec:0b
        hwaddr 00:25:90:5d:ec:0b
        nd6 options=29<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
        media: Ethernet autoselect (1000baseT <full-duplex>)
        status: active
lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 16384
        options=600003<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
        inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128
        inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x5
        inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
        nd6 options=21<PERFORMNUD,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
        groups: lo
wlan0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
        ether f4:b7:e2:0a:4f:d4
        hwaddr f4:b7:e2:0a:4f:d4
        nd6 options=29<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
        media: IEEE 802.11 Wireless Ethernet autoselect mode 11g <hostap>
        status: running
        ssid Audioserver channel 1 (2412 MHz 11g) bssid f4:b7:e2:0a:4f:d4
        regdomain 96 indoor ecm authmode WPA2/802.11i privacy MIXED
        deftxkey 3 AES-CCM 2:128-bit AES-CCM 3:128-bit txpower 20 scanvalid 60
        protmode CTS wme burst dtimperiod 1 -dfs
        groups: wlan
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
ms49434
Developer
Developer
Posts: 718
Joined: 03 Sep 2015 18:49
Location: Neuenkirchen-Vörden, Germany - GMT+1
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: WIFI Access Point

#2

Post by ms49434 » 24 Jan 2018 14:16

To confirm that your wlan adapter and its driver supports hostap please post the result of

Code: Select all

ifconfig wlan0 list caps
1) XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4 amd64-embedded on a Dell T20 running in a VM on ESXi 6.7U2, 22GB out of 32GB ECC RAM, LSI 9300-8i IT mode in passthrough mode. Pool 1: 2x HGST 10TB, mirrored, SLOG: Samsung 850 Pro, L2ARC: Samsung 850 Pro, Pool 2: 1x Samsung 860 EVO 1TB , services: Samba AD, CIFS/SMB, ftp, ctld, rsync, syncthing, zfs snapshots.
2) XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4 amd64-embedded on a Dell T20 running in a VM on ESXi 6.7U2, 8GB out of 32GB ECC RAM, IBM M1215 crossflashed, IT mode, passthrough mode, 2x HGST 10TB , services: rsync.

User avatar
b0ssman
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2458
Joined: 14 Feb 2013 08:34
Location: Munich, Germany
Status: Offline

Re: WIFI Access Point

#3

Post by b0ssman » 25 Jan 2018 09:13

the pain of the setup and the cost of a wlan adapter are in no relation to the cost of cheap access points that can be flashed with lede.
Nas4Free 11.1.0.4.4517. Supermicro X10SLL-F, 16gb ECC, i3 4130, IBM M1015 with IT firmware. 4x 3tb WD Red, 4x 2TB Samsung F4, both GEOM AES 256 encrypted.

s25a
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 9
Joined: 14 Dec 2017 21:51
Status: Offline

Re: WIFI Access Point

#4

Post by s25a » 27 Jan 2018 11:28

Hi,

thanks a lot for your answers and sorry for the late reply.

First I checked the capabilities:

Code: Select all

nas4free: ~# ifconfig wlan0 list caps
drivercaps=4f8def41<STA,FF,IBSS,PMGT,HOSTAP,AHDEMO,TXPMGT,SHSLOT,SHPREAMBLE,MONITOR,MBSS,WPA1,WPA2,BURST,WME,WDS,TXFRAG>
cryptocaps=1f<WEP,TKIP,AES,AES_CCM,TKIPMIC>
htcaps=701ef<LDPC,CHWIDTH40,SHORTGI20,SHORTGI40,TXSTBC>
--> Should work
the pain of the setup and the cost of a wlan adapter are in no relation to the cost of cheap access points that can be flashed with lede.
You are right however I need this for a special USE case.
Coming from the Linux world I can only say It's easy to setup and it's working for most of the WIFI adapters without any problems. And there are a lot of AP on the market running BSD so it should be possible I think. Something is blocking it in Nas4Free but no idea what.

If there's any further ideas you have please let me know. Thanks
S

User avatar
ms49434
Developer
Developer
Posts: 718
Joined: 03 Sep 2015 18:49
Location: Neuenkirchen-Vörden, Germany - GMT+1
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: WIFI Access Point

#5

Post by ms49434 » 27 Jan 2018 21:40

I just plugged a USB wlan stick into my test box, configured it as an AP. I am able to find the network and I am able to connect:

Code: Select all

wlan0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
	ether bc:f6:85:ac:fb:4b
	hwaddr bc:f6:85:ac:fb:4b
	inet 192.168.0.45 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.0.255 
	nd6 options=29<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
	media: IEEE 802.11 Wireless Ethernet autoselect mode 11g <hostap>
	status: running
	ssid nas4free channel 1 (2412 MHz 11g) bssid bc:f6:85:ac:fb:4b
	regdomain FCC country US authmode WPA2/802.11i privacy MIXED
	deftxkey 2 TKIP 2:128-bit txpower 30 scanvalid 60 protmode CTS wme
	dtimperiod 1 -dfs
	groups: wlan 
The configuration:
interfaces_opt.png
interfaces_wlan_edit.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
1) XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4 amd64-embedded on a Dell T20 running in a VM on ESXi 6.7U2, 22GB out of 32GB ECC RAM, LSI 9300-8i IT mode in passthrough mode. Pool 1: 2x HGST 10TB, mirrored, SLOG: Samsung 850 Pro, L2ARC: Samsung 850 Pro, Pool 2: 1x Samsung 860 EVO 1TB , services: Samba AD, CIFS/SMB, ftp, ctld, rsync, syncthing, zfs snapshots.
2) XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4 amd64-embedded on a Dell T20 running in a VM on ESXi 6.7U2, 8GB out of 32GB ECC RAM, IBM M1215 crossflashed, IT mode, passthrough mode, 2x HGST 10TB , services: rsync.

s25a
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 9
Joined: 14 Dec 2017 21:51
Status: Offline

Re: WIFI Access Point

#6

Post by s25a » 28 Jan 2018 09:33

Hi,

thanks a lot. I removed the Atheros minipcie card and plugged in an old USB WIFI Dongle from edimax. This one has an Realtek chipset.
I restarted and voila it worked out of the box and I could find the Network immediately.

So it seems there's a bug in the ATH module. I did a bit of a research and found lot's of user issues - unfortunatelly all related to Freebsd (and not nas4free directly)
So I am a bit confused as most of the users recommend a card with Atheros chipset which obviously has some problems with hostapd.

As I need an Minipcie card: Is there any recommendation of chipset? You can get a card with Realtek chipset in China / HK - in Europe it is difficult to get.
My favourite one would be an intel card (e.g. the 7260) as these worked alwasy very reliable in my Debian Systems (and you can get them very easyly).
However in my test the module does not support HOSTAPD...Any idea if it is possible though?

Thanks a lot and regards,

S
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
b0ssman
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2458
Joined: 14 Feb 2013 08:34
Location: Munich, Germany
Status: Offline

Re: WIFI Access Point

#7

Post by b0ssman » 31 Jan 2018 14:20

no the intel card 7260 does not suppor hostapd under linux/freebsd.

Atheros in general is recommended because it is better documented compared to other hardware.

however the wlan support in freebsd is rather lacking and not much time is devoted to the development of this.
Nas4Free 11.1.0.4.4517. Supermicro X10SLL-F, 16gb ECC, i3 4130, IBM M1015 with IT firmware. 4x 3tb WD Red, 4x 2TB Samsung F4, both GEOM AES 256 encrypted.

User avatar
mooblie
experienced User
experienced User
Posts: 87
Joined: 23 Jun 2012 13:31
Location: The Highlands, Scotland
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: WIFI Access Point

#8

Post by mooblie » 31 Jan 2018 14:39

@s25A:

I may be asking the obvious, but.... isn't your NAS already wired to a router? (which is giving the other devices in your house/office access to the Internet?)

And isn't that a wifi-capable router?
Martin

s25a
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 9
Joined: 14 Dec 2017 21:51
Status: Offline

Re: WIFI Access Point

#9

Post by s25a » 05 Feb 2018 10:30

Hi,

Thanks a lot.

@mooblie: Yes it is however I need this special use case and directly connect this to Nas4Free.
@b0ssman: Under Linux the HostAP mode is defintly working for Intel Cards I am using this for years. I tried 3 other cards and unfortunatelly noe of it is working. The only setup is the USB Dongle one.
I will try 2 more cards but I fear it will be the same like the Atheros, the Intel or the Realtek one.

Thanks S

Post Reply

Return to “XigmaNAS Networking Tune-up”