*New 11.3 series Release:
2019-10-05: XigmaNAS 11.3.0.4.6928 - released, 11.2 series are soon unsupported!

*New 12.0 series Release:
2019-10-05: XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4.6928 - released!

*New 11.2 series Release:
2019-09-23: XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4.6881 - released!

We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money. Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

Tool to test transfer rates. and what might this issue be

Everything to improve your speed, LAGG, VLAN, VPN, Port Forwarding, DNS, Gateway
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
NeilP
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 220
Joined: 15 Jul 2012 11:45
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands, Europe
Status: Offline

Tool to test transfer rates. and what might this issue be

#1

Post by NeilP » 08 Mar 2019 13:38

Yesterday i upgraded to the latest Xigmasnas 11 ..as of 8th march 2019. Previously I had been running Nas4Free 9 Shigwire version.

Just tried to copy a 46 Gb iPhoto library to my NAS under Xigmanas and the Mac copy window gave an estimated time to copy of 4 days :(

Luckily I kept my old boot HDD ..so i swapped back to Shigwire. I have my boot drive in an IDE swappable IDE caddy bay, so swapping back is easy/.

Back to Shigwire it is showing 4 hours.

What else do you need to know.


System information
Hostname backup.local
Version 9.2.0.1 - Shigawire (revision 972)
Build date Mon Apr 28 02:43:01 CEST 2014
Platform OS FreeBSD 9.2-RELEASE-p4 (kern.osreldate: 902001)
Platform x64-embedded on AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4600+
System Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. C51-MCP51
System bios Award Software International, Inc. version: F2 03/09/2006

Connection is a direct single ethernet cable connection from eh Mac Pro second port to a gigabit port on the NAS box..both giga bit connections. about 3 meter of cable..Cat 6, but not shielded metal plugs...

sharing the file system on the NAS using CIFS/SMB

Good transfer rate with Shigwire..at least good enough for me..very poor with XigmasNAS.

Where do I start looking

thanks
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4918
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Tool to test transfer rates. and what might this issue be

#2

Post by raulfg3 » 08 Mar 2019 15:40

start using iperf to test network speed: viewtopic.php?f=73&t=12194&p=76166&hilit=iperf#p76166
12.0.0.4 (revision 6766)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes

NeilP
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 220
Joined: 15 Jul 2012 11:45
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands, Europe
Status: Offline

Re: Tool to test transfer rates. and what might this issue be

#3

Post by NeilP » 08 Mar 2019 19:03

Thanks
Will give it a try when I get home

NeilP
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 220
Joined: 15 Jul 2012 11:45
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands, Europe
Status: Offline

Re: Tool to test transfer rates. and what might this issue be

#4

Post by NeilP » 09 Mar 2019 11:09

Getting up to 40MB/s second as reported on the Status Graphs page. And the app I am using on the Mac to to the backup (Chronosync) is reporting 14-18MB/s at the same time.

I changed how Chronosync was copying, , one file at at time other than Four concurrently..

Jumbo 9000 frammes set both ends.

Think this is acceptable to me...but could it be better..
No not tried iPerf yet.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

NeilP
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 220
Joined: 15 Jul 2012 11:45
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands, Europe
Status: Offline

Re: Tool to test transfer rates. and what might this issue be

#5

Post by NeilP » 09 Mar 2019 11:30

iperf...cheers :)

this was to my RaspPi via NetGear switch of some sort and a router

I tested the wrong machine by mistake

Hey ho..now I know how to use it at least :)
Screen Shot 2019-03-09 at 10.36.53.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4918
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Tool to test transfer rates. and what might this issue be

#6

Post by raulfg3 » 10 Mar 2019 04:31

try to test using Jumbo Frames=1500 some times ,jumbo frames offer worse speed than expected, so doing a test show you if is interesting to use jumbo frames or not
12.0.0.4 (revision 6766)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes

NeilP
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 220
Joined: 15 Jul 2012 11:45
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands, Europe
Status: Offline

Re: Tool to test transfer rates. and what might this issue be

#7

Post by NeilP » 10 Mar 2019 07:55

Oh.. really ? Thank you for that
Will finish my currrnt backup set and re boot with XigmaNAS, and do more tests.
I believe I read iPerf3 is already installed in Xigmanas?

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4918
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Tool to test transfer rates. and what might this issue be

#8

Post by raulfg3 » 10 Mar 2019 12:16

NeilP wrote:
10 Mar 2019 07:55
Oh.. really ? Thank you for that
Will finish my currrnt backup set and re boot with XigmaNAS, and do more tests.
I believe I read iPerf3 is already installed in Xigmanas?
yes is a command that you can invoque without need to install prior.
12.0.0.4 (revision 6766)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes

NeilP
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 220
Joined: 15 Jul 2012 11:45
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands, Europe
Status: Offline

Re: Tool to test transfer rates. and what might this issue be

#9

Post by NeilP » 14 Mar 2019 13:04

:) :)

should i be happy with this :) :D :D

Code: Select all

Last login: Thu Mar 14 11:47:45 on ttys000
MacPro:~ neil$ iperf3 -c 192.168.2.2
Connecting to host 192.168.2.2, port 5201
[  4] local 192.168.2.1 port 51328 connected to 192.168.2.2 port 5201
[ ID] Interval           Transfer     Bandwidth
[  4]   0.00-1.00   sec   109 MBytes   912 Mbits/sec                  
[  4]   1.00-2.00   sec   110 MBytes   920 Mbits/sec                  
[  4]   2.00-3.00   sec   107 MBytes   896 Mbits/sec                  
[  4]   3.00-4.00   sec   108 MBytes   909 Mbits/sec                  
[  4]   4.00-5.00   sec   109 MBytes   913 Mbits/sec                  
[  4]   5.00-6.00   sec   110 MBytes   922 Mbits/sec                  
[  4]   6.00-7.00   sec   109 MBytes   914 Mbits/sec                  
[  4]   7.00-8.00   sec   110 MBytes   922 Mbits/sec                  
[  4]   8.00-9.00   sec   110 MBytes   920 Mbits/sec                  
[  4]   9.00-10.00  sec   110 MBytes   919 Mbits/sec                  
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
[ ID] Interval           Transfer     Bandwidth
[  4]   0.00-10.00  sec  1.06 GBytes   915 Mbits/sec                  sender
[  4]   0.00-10.00  sec  1.06 GBytes   914 Mbits/sec                  receiver

iperf Done.
MacPro:~ neil$ 


MacPro:~ neil$ iperf3 -c 192.168.2.2 -V
iperf 3.1.3
Darwin MacPro.local 15.6.0 Darwin Kernel Version 15.6.0: Thu Jun 21 20:07:40 PDT 2018; root:xnu-3248.73.11~1/RELEASE_X86_64 x86_64
Time: Thu, 14 Mar 2019 12:08:27 GMT
Connecting to host 192.168.2.2, port 5201
      Cookie: MacPro.local.1552565307.384078.7e9a5
      TCP MSS: 1448 (default)
[  4] local 192.168.2.1 port 51430 connected to 192.168.2.2 port 5201
Starting Test: protocol: TCP, 1 streams, 131072 byte blocks, omitting 0 seconds, 10 second test
[ ID] Interval           Transfer     Bandwidth
[  4]   0.00-1.00   sec   110 MBytes   922 Mbits/sec                  
[  4]   1.00-2.00   sec   109 MBytes   910 Mbits/sec                  
[  4]   2.00-3.00   sec   109 MBytes   919 Mbits/sec                  
[  4]   3.00-4.00   sec   110 MBytes   923 Mbits/sec                  
[  4]   4.00-5.00   sec   110 MBytes   920 Mbits/sec                  
[  4]   5.00-6.00   sec   108 MBytes   903 Mbits/sec                  
[  4]   6.00-7.00   sec   110 MBytes   925 Mbits/sec                  
[  4]   7.00-8.00   sec   110 MBytes   926 Mbits/sec                  
[  4]   8.00-9.00   sec   109 MBytes   914 Mbits/sec                  
[  4]   9.00-10.00  sec   110 MBytes   919 Mbits/sec                  
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Test Complete. Summary Results:
[ ID] Interval           Transfer     Bandwidth
[  4]   0.00-10.00  sec  1.07 GBytes   918 Mbits/sec                  sender
[  4]   0.00-10.00  sec  1.07 GBytes   918 Mbits/sec                  receiver
CPU Utilization: local/sender 80.5% (12.2%u/68.3%s), remote/receiver 22.3% (1.3%u/21.0%s)

iperf Done.
MacPro:~ neil$ 

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4918
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Tool to test transfer rates. and what might this issue be

#10

Post by raulfg3 » 14 Mar 2019 15:48

ok, but share with all, the steps you do to have a good performance, please.
12.0.0.4 (revision 6766)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes

NeilP
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 220
Joined: 15 Jul 2012 11:45
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands, Europe
Status: Offline

Re: Tool to test transfer rates. and what might this issue be

#11

Post by NeilP » 14 Mar 2019 15:58

I can tell you all I know

Single Cat 5 or 6 cable, i cannot remember..connected direct from the Apple Mac Pro second ethernet port. direct via crossover cable direct to the onboard gigabit ethernet port on the NAS box

MTU (9000)
1000 Base T Full Duplex set on the Mac

Static IPV4 address and IPV6 set to Auto


Network/LAN management on the NAS box is set to as below
Everything else is default

Screen Shot 2019-03-14 at 14.56.22.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4918
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Tool to test transfer rates. and what might this issue be

#12

Post by raulfg3 » 14 Mar 2019 16:31

this appears not to be tunned.

how do you explain bad transfer rates you post on first post of this thread and trasfer on post #9 ?
12.0.0.4 (revision 6766)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes

NeilP
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 220
Joined: 15 Jul 2012 11:45
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands, Europe
Status: Offline

Re: Tool to test transfer rates. and what might this issue be

#13

Post by NeilP » 14 Mar 2019 16:39

Slow older HDD? these are the HDD's.

This reminds me I need to change the settings of change them from always on"" to something were they spin down.

perf3 is just just testing the network speed ? yes?

where as the slow data speed before was copying actual data to the HDD's...maybe the hard drive interfaces?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

NeilP
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 220
Joined: 15 Jul 2012 11:45
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands, Europe
Status: Offline

Re: Tool to test transfer rates. and what might this issue be

#14

Post by NeilP » 15 Mar 2019 12:15

Interesting .

I have now done this three times...

Setting MTU to 9000 on XigmasNAS stops the MAS box from 'fixing' a static IP address.

My old config backup from Shigwire, had 9000 set and it 'seemed to work'. At least it allowed the devie to be connected to on the network.

If I used that config file and restored it to XigmasnAS , it would not 'set an ip address' so the box cannot be connected via the WebGUI.
,
Three or four times this has happened, that the console connected to the actual NAS box, showed that there is no IPV4 IP address
I did not know what was causing it .

But just now...I noticed from the previous post, that the MTU box was not populated.

So I put 9000 in it.

Viewing the boot screen as the system boosts..shows a IFCONFIG file error ..related to MTU...did not get a screen shot of it...




So how can I change the MTU setting from the locally attached console, ? where is the MTU setting stored..in this IFCONFIG feel i guess.. I'll go search for it now

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4918
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Tool to test transfer rates. and what might this issue be

#15

Post by raulfg3 » 15 Mar 2019 13:27

Go to: Network > LAN Management and "save" no need to touch nothing, only push save button.

do several test with MTU = 9000 and MTU = 1500 ( change it on Network > LAN Management) and save.

DO NOT RESTORE old config files, use webGUI to do changes.

and post your experience.
12.0.0.4 (revision 6766)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes

NeilP
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 220
Joined: 15 Jul 2012 11:45
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands, Europe
Status: Offline

Re: Tool to test transfer rates. and what might this issue be

#16

Post by NeilP » 15 Mar 2019 13:58

Ah...the problem is that once the problem occurs ..you cannot get to the webGUI as the box does not have an IP address

as soon as you put the figure of 9000 in the MTU box nd hit save...the next re boot there is no IP address I have it set to static 192.168.2.2


There is also the issue you can also see of the volumes not properly dismounting..but ignoring that for now

If I change the MTU setting on the WebGUI then I must go to the Console and "Restore Defaults"

I am running a backup now...which was the whole reason for this box..so while it is still working and before Xigmanas does some other weird thing..I'll let it do the backup

The set MTU Invlaid argument yu see on the first screen shot only happens after change the MTU on the GUI.
and then after that you get no IP address ..as per the last image.
IMG_5228.JPG

This image where it says "waiting for 192.168.2.1 to respond to ICMP ping...also only happens after changing the setting in MTU box in GUI
IMG_5229.JPG
IMG_5231.JPG
IMG_5226.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

NeilP
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 220
Joined: 15 Jul 2012 11:45
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands, Europe
Status: Offline

Re: Tool to test transfer rates. and what might this issue be

#17

Post by NeilP » 17 Mar 2019 11:19

OK,
If I use 9000 in Shigwire in the MTU..it all works

If I set 9000 in th MTU in Xigmanas, it does not 'fix' and IP address. If I go both console and manually use the option to Configure the IP address, my static settings are still there..192.168.2.2 is still set..but putting 9000 at the WeBGUI and saving and rebooting, prevents the static IP address from being set.

Hitting 'Save' on the WebGUI with no figure int eh box..or with 1500 in the box works fine..

But it does not like 9000.

But Shigwire accepted 9000, and hardware is the same.

i can flick between N4F Shigwire and XigmasNAS 11.2.0.4 - Omnius (revision 6536) by a simple swap of my boot drive caddies.
Not an issue as iPerf3 shows good connection speed. but weird none the less..

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4918
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Tool to test transfer rates. and what might this issue be

#18

Post by raulfg3 » 17 Mar 2019 12:57

ok, notning more to say.

you need to decide if MTU=9000 is priority or you can live with MTU=1500
12.0.0.4 (revision 6766)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes

NeilP
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 220
Joined: 15 Jul 2012 11:45
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands, Europe
Status: Offline

Re: Tool to test transfer rates. and what might this issue be

#19

Post by NeilP » 17 Mar 2019 14:22

Well it seems fast enough at 1500
.

But it does seem to be that something has been broken in XigmaNAS that was working in Shigwire

Post Reply

Return to “XigmaNAS Networking Tune-up”