Page 1 of 1

RAM Compression

Posted: 31 Mar 2016 10:19
by Tharbad
Hi,

Is it possible to compress the RAM?

Thanks

Re: RAM Compression

Posted: 31 Mar 2016 12:24
by b0ssman
yes using a standard metal press. but the ram will be so compressed afterwards that it will not run in your system anymore.

joking aside. there is for ram disks but what are you trying to achieve?

Re: RAM Compression

Posted: 02 Apr 2016 10:50
by Tharbad
More RAM. It's an old PC. Most of the the time the CPU load is 10%. So why not...

Re: RAM Compression

Posted: 02 Apr 2016 14:14
by b0ssman
nas4free is using the geom_xmd that supports LZ4/LZ4HC, ZLIB, LZMA2.

any other compression does not really work. i.e compressing the memory that programs actually use.