*New 11.3 series Release:
2019-10-05: XigmaNAS 11.3.0.4.6928 - released, 11.2 series are soon unsupported!

*New 12.0 series Release:
2019-10-05: XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4.6928 - released!

*New 11.2 series Release:
2019-09-23: XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4.6881 - released!

We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money. Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

[HOWTO]NAT for Jails and single IP (VPS).

Jails with XigmaNAS
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Andy22
Starter
Starter

[HOWTO]NAT for Jails and single IP (VPS).

Post by Andy22 » 20 Mar 2014 11:30

Hi,

short guide on how to enable NAT for Jails, so u can use Jails with a single external IP, like on a remote VPS. I'm no expert but this setup did work for me, if u notice some strange parts feel free to correct!
NOTE: em0 is my external interface with a single public routeable IP.

[loader.conf]
ipfw_nat_load="YES"

[rc.conf]
gateway_enable="YES"
firewall_nat_enable="YES"
firewall_nat_interface="em0"

[sysctl.conf]
net.inet.ip.forwarding=1
// next lines are not needed for NAT, but i have those added since i need them for the backup application
security.jail.allow_raw_sockets=1
security.jail.sysvipc_allowed=1

I use a "nat_on.sh" script to add the ipfw rules, which is started right after the Jail starts via TheBrigs Addition Parameters "exec.poststart=/mnt/DataSYS/nat_on.sh"

I use "192.168.1.1/29" as my Jail ip's range.

nat_on.sh

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
fwcmd="/sbin/ipfw"

############
# Flush out the list before we begin.
${fwcmd} -f flush

${fwcmd} add 100 pass all from any to any via lo0

${fwcmd} add nat 1 all from 192.168.1.1/29 to any out via em0
${fwcmd} add nat 1 all from any to {your external single IP} in via em0
${fwcmd} nat 1 config if em0