*New 11.3 series Release:
2019-10-19: XigmaNAS 11.3.0.4.7014 - released

*New 12.0 series Release:
2019-10-05: XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4.6928 - released!

*New 11.2 series Release:
2019-09-23: XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4.6881 - released!

We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money. Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

Enable hast in gui, what happens?

Highly Available Storage.
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
daffy
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 13
Joined: 27 Sep 2012 21:01
Status: Offline

Enable hast in gui, what happens?

#1

Post by daffy » 04 Dec 2015 08:34

Inthe bottom of the nas4free page services->hast it states:

"When HAST is enabled, the local devices, the local services and the additional packages which do not support HAST volume cannot be used."

What does that mean exactly? What happens to local devices when enabling hast..?

mdsystems
Starter
Starter
Posts: 20
Joined: 15 Oct 2015 11:08
Status: Offline

Re: Enable hast in gui, what happens?

#2

Post by mdsystems » 04 Dec 2015 11:57

I cannot speak for the developers, but my interpretation is that you should be careful to use services that are compatible with your HAST setup. If you create a HAST volume on a physical disk, I guess there is a possibility that another service that is not HAST aware could allow you to select that disk, which would result in corruption if that service wrote to the disk. If a service is HAST aware, it would know that the disk is in use in a HAST configuration so would know not to attempt to use it.

mdsystems
Starter
Starter
Posts: 20
Joined: 15 Oct 2015 11:08
Status: Offline

Re: Enable hast in gui, what happens?

#3

Post by mdsystems » 15 Dec 2015 14:55

daffy wrote:"When HAST is enabled, the local devices, the local services and the additional packages which do not support HAST volume cannot be used."
Related to your other post, I wonder if this is why iSCSI is being disabled. Perhaps in the version of nas4free that you are using, the iSCSI service does not support HAST fully? Only a guess.

Cgger
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 2
Joined: 28 Jan 2016 03:52
Status: Offline

Re: Enable hast in gui, what happens?

#4

Post by Cgger » 28 Jan 2016 07:21

can't agree with you! I think nas4free is the key problem..







coque nexus 5X coque google nexus 5X

Post Reply

Return to “HAST”