*New 12.1 series Release:
2019-11-08: XigmaNAS 12.1.0.4.7091 - released!

*New 11.3 series Release:
2019-10-19: XigmaNAS 11.3.0.4.7014 - released


We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money. Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

Problem with AFP/CIFS and El Capitan

NAS4Free & Apple Filing Protocol.
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
sfranzis
Starter
Starter
Posts: 68
Joined: 27 Jun 2012 10:22
Contact:
Status: Offline

Problem with AFP/CIFS and El Capitan

#1

Post by sfranzis » 08 Oct 2015 20:21

Hi *,

I upgraded my Mac computers to OS X 10.11 aka El Capitan. And now I observed the following problem:

My Nas4Free is 10.2.0.2 - Prester (Revision 1868) with CIFS and AFP configured.
  • Connecting over 'go to server' afp://nas4free/ is ok
  • Only AFP activated on the NAS: Clicking on the server is ok
  • AFP and CIFS activated: Clicking on the server in finder brings a connection failed error
  • after this error I click on 'connect as' and enter username/password. But now the Mac connects over CIFS instead of AFP
What's the problem here and how can I solve it?

Stefan
Supermicro X7SPA-H 4GB RAM, 4x2TB Samsung Spinpoint F3, Crucial RealSSD C300

User avatar
Parkcomm
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 389
Joined: 21 Sep 2012 12:58
Location: Australia
Status: Offline

Re: Problem with AFP/CIFS and El Capitan

#2

Post by Parkcomm » 09 Oct 2015 04:00

I don't know how you can solve it - but I'm going to wait off on El Capitan until you do!

but have a look at the last post in this thread http://forum.synology.com/enu/viewtopic ... 4&t=103327

please post the result here
Last edited by Parkcomm on 22 Oct 2015 07:04, edited 1 time in total.
NAS4Free Embedded 10.2.0.2 - Prester (revision 2003), HP N40L Microserver (AMD Turion) with modified BIOS, ZFS Mirror 4 x WD Red + L2ARC 128M Apple SSD, 10G ECC Ram, Intel 1G CT NIC + inbuilt broadcom

DRF
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 5
Joined: 24 Jun 2012 03:17
Status: Offline

Re: Problem with AFP/CIFS and El Capitan

#3

Post by DRF » 21 Oct 2015 13:13

I had the same problem.

Based on the Synology thread linked above I turned off SMB sharing (AFP only) and now I can connect through the Finder sidebar.

mfridman
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 2
Joined: 26 Jun 2015 02:19
Status: Offline

Re: Problem with AFP/CIFS and El Capitan

#4

Post by mfridman » 22 Oct 2015 04:11

9.3.0.2 - Nayla (revision 1310), but same problem....

Upgraded 2 Macbook Air's to El Capitan and Finder Shared connection fails... (Macbook pro running Mavericks works just fine)
"There was a problem connecting to the server “.....”.
The server may not exist or it is unavailable at this time. Check the server name or IP address, check your network connection, and then try again."

Solution was to disable CIFS/SMB, but this is not optimal. Will try to peak under the hood when I get a chance...

User avatar
Parkcomm
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 389
Joined: 21 Sep 2012 12:58
Location: Australia
Status: Offline

Re: Problem with AFP/CIFS and El Capitan

#5

Post by Parkcomm » 22 Oct 2015 07:05

mfridman wrote:please do
NAS4Free Embedded 10.2.0.2 - Prester (revision 2003), HP N40L Microserver (AMD Turion) with modified BIOS, ZFS Mirror 4 x WD Red + L2ARC 128M Apple SSD, 10G ECC Ram, Intel 1G CT NIC + inbuilt broadcom

sfranzis
Starter
Starter
Posts: 68
Joined: 27 Jun 2012 10:22
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Problem with AFP/CIFS and El Capitan

#6

Post by sfranzis » 23 Oct 2015 08:16

So one point is the following:
* delete all references to your NAS from the OS X / iCloud keychain (Launchpad -> keychain)
* then connect from finder over 'go to server' afp://nas4free/ or afp://<yourNasName>/

But this is only a workaround.
Stefan
Supermicro X7SPA-H 4GB RAM, 4x2TB Samsung Spinpoint F3, Crucial RealSSD C300

mfridman
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 2
Joined: 26 Jun 2015 02:19
Status: Offline

Re: Problem with AFP/CIFS and El Capitan

#7

Post by mfridman » 10 Nov 2015 16:07

Without getting too technical, the AFP server name needs to be different than the CIFS/SMB netbios name

So, make sure you have a NetBIOS name (Services|CIFS/SMB|Settings), e.g., storage-SMB.

Then go to Services|AFP and ensure you have a Server Name filled out, e.g., storage-AFP. Do not leave it blank and enter a name different than CIFS/SMB netbios name. Save and Restart.

For sake of clarity, both storage-SMB and storage-AFP will still show up on your Mac sidebar, just make sure you connect to storage-AFP.

User avatar
Parkcomm
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 389
Joined: 21 Sep 2012 12:58
Location: Australia
Status: Offline

Re: Problem with AFP/CIFS and El Capitan

#8

Post by Parkcomm » 11 Nov 2015 04:48

Is that the only workaround needed?
NAS4Free Embedded 10.2.0.2 - Prester (revision 2003), HP N40L Microserver (AMD Turion) with modified BIOS, ZFS Mirror 4 x WD Red + L2ARC 128M Apple SSD, 10G ECC Ram, Intel 1G CT NIC + inbuilt broadcom

NeilP
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 220
Joined: 15 Jul 2012 11:45
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands, Europe
Status: Offline

Re: Problem with AFP/CIFS and El Capitan

#9

Post by NeilP » 11 Jul 2016 09:15

Did anyone experiment with the Zerconfig/Bonjour service enable/disable in relation to this?

I only have SMB enabled using Local User access and NT1 Protocol to allow connection with my Win XP workshop machine.

I do not have AFP enabled,
have just upgraded to El Cap.

I see that if I go from the Finder sidebar:
Device|MacPro|Network
With Only SMB enabled, the nas4free (Prester2545) share appears as a PC.
With Bonjour enabled on the WebGUI from System|Advanced page, then the share appears as a 'Mac' under the column list in the Finder


I had no issues with connection either way with upgrade to El Cap

NeilP
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 220
Joined: 15 Jul 2012 11:45
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands, Europe
Status: Offline

Re: Problem with AFP/CIFS and El Capitan

#10

Post by NeilP » 30 Mar 2017 11:02

mfridman wrote:
10 Nov 2015 16:07
Without getting too technical, the AFP server name needs to be different than the CIFS/SMB netbios name

So, make sure you have a NetBIOS name (Services|CIFS/SMB|Settings), e.g., storage-SMB.

Then go to Services|AFP and ensure you have a Server Name filled out, e.g., storage-AFP. Do not leave it blank and enter a name different than CIFS/SMB netbios name. Save and Restart.

For sake of clarity, both storage-SMB and storage-AFP will still show up on your Mac sidebar, just make sure you connect to storage-AFP.

And what name should you out in 'Hostname" on the System General page? a third different na,e again?
For a While with Bonjour Zero Conf enabled I had three shares showing up in the finder sidebar..one "general" one AFP and One SMB.

Now with El Cap and 11.0.0.4 - Sayyadina (revision 4124) I can no longer connect via AFP , and my SMB share to a Sonos box has failed to with a User author error.
grrr

sfranzis
Starter
Starter
Posts: 68
Joined: 27 Jun 2012 10:22
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Problem with AFP/CIFS and El Capitan

#11

Post by sfranzis » 30 Mar 2017 12:36

Please upgrade to 11.0.0.4.4141 - revision 4124 was buggy and had a faulty afpd.conf.

Addidional: beginning with this revision you can specify another name in the CIFS/SMB configuration, e.g. nas4freeSMB and CIFS/AFP shares show up seperately in finder.
Supermicro X7SPA-H 4GB RAM, 4x2TB Samsung Spinpoint F3, Crucial RealSSD C300

NeilP
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 220
Joined: 15 Jul 2012 11:45
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands, Europe
Status: Offline

Re: Problem with AFP/CIFS and El Capitan

#12

Post by NeilP » 30 Mar 2017 17:41

OK, thanks.

at work now wil give it a shot.

NeilP
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 220
Joined: 15 Jul 2012 11:45
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands, Europe
Status: Offline

Re: Problem with AFP/CIFS and El Capitan

#13

Post by NeilP » 30 Mar 2017 20:32

Well , yes and no.

I can now access AFP shares from the Mac, and the CIFS shares, also from the Mac.. But still CIFS shares are not able to connect to from a Sonos system. Still getting a user permissions error. it ( the Sonos webgui ) still says my user name / password is incorrect so no longer able to access Music stored not eh NAS from Sonos.

User avatar
ms49434
Developer
Developer
Posts: 751
Joined: 03 Sep 2015 18:49
Location: Neuenkirchen-Vörden, Germany - GMT+1
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Problem with AFP/CIFS and El Capitan

#14

Post by ms49434 » 30 Mar 2017 20:48

from the release notes:

cifs/smb note:
==============
From Samba 4.5.0 and up the default value for the "ntlm auth" option is changed from "yes" to "no".
This may have impact on very old clients which doesn't support NTLMv2 yet.
Only if you really need NTLMv1 Authentication you can set in Additional Parameters: "ntlm auth = yes".

did you try to add "ntlm auth = yes"?
1) XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4 amd64-embedded on a Dell T20 running in a VM on ESXi 6.7U2, 22GB out of 32GB ECC RAM, LSI 9300-8i IT mode in passthrough mode. Pool 1: 2x HGST 10TB, mirrored, SLOG: Samsung 850 Pro, L2ARC: Samsung 850 Pro, Pool 2: 1x Samsung 860 EVO 1TB , services: Samba AD, CIFS/SMB, ftp, ctld, rsync, syncthing, zfs snapshots.
2) XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4 amd64-embedded on a Dell T20 running in a VM on ESXi 6.7U2, 8GB out of 32GB ECC RAM, IBM M1215 crossflashed, IT mode, passthrough mode, 2x HGST 10TB , services: rsync.

NeilP
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 220
Joined: 15 Jul 2012 11:45
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands, Europe
Status: Offline

Re: Problem with AFP/CIFS and El Capitan

#15

Post by NeilP » 30 Mar 2017 22:11

??? I don't even understand the bit you quoted... I am afraid i am not that tech.and even if I had read that..it would have not helped it would not have meant anything to me


Thanks for trying to help ..but I need to go away and calm down for a bit I have already taken the HDD's out of one machine and trashed that.

I know that Sonos too have recently updated their systems..so now I can access my Sonos system from any of my Windows computers.. Sonos no now longer supports Win Xp



I have no idea if I need "NTLMv1 Authentication"

I am going to stop tonight and not do any more..I am already getting the feeling that all I want to do is take the server outside and kick the shit out of it ef&***& ing thing...
Alway a bad idea to upgrade to new OS's !!
Last edited by NeilP on 02 Jun 2017 10:06, edited 1 time in total.

sfranzis
Starter
Starter
Posts: 68
Joined: 27 Jun 2012 10:22
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Problem with AFP/CIFS and El Capitan

#16

Post by sfranzis » 31 Mar 2017 07:03

This is not an AFP issue any more. Please discuss this in the CIFS/Samba section.

Stefan
Supermicro X7SPA-H 4GB RAM, 4x2TB Samsung Spinpoint F3, Crucial RealSSD C300

NeilP
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 220
Joined: 15 Jul 2012 11:45
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands, Europe
Status: Offline

Re: Problem with AFP/CIFS and El Capitan

#17

Post by NeilP » 31 Mar 2017 08:52

Sorry to a pain
Thanks

NeilP
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 220
Joined: 15 Jul 2012 11:45
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands, Europe
Status: Offline

Re: Problem with AFP/CIFS and El Capitan

#18

Post by NeilP » 02 Jun 2017 11:39

Can some one remind me

do we need
ntlm auth = yes

to be set in the AFP Aux param box too to get it to work with OSX?

I have tried and I can still not get AFP working again.

doktornotor
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 191
Joined: 16 May 2017 00:22
Status: Offline

Re: Problem with AFP/CIFS and El Capitan

#19

Post by doktornotor » 02 Jun 2017 12:13

ntlm auth has nothing to do with AFP (which you shouldn't be using anyway, this junk has been abandoned by Apple for good reasons.)

NeilP
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 220
Joined: 15 Jul 2012 11:45
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands, Europe
Status: Offline

Re: Problem with AFP/CIFS and El Capitan

#20

Post by NeilP » 03 Jun 2017 12:35

That is what i was thinking that, but I can't remember how you get Mac OSX to 'do 'local User Authentication


So if I do not use AFP. .what do I use to connect to the NAS via the OSX finder? CIFS/SMB does not alway work successfully ...

what has replaced both AFP and CIFS/SMB for use in the 'Finder' ?

It will work as Guest, but not local user


11.0.0.4 - Sayyadina (revision 4303)

Screen Shot 2017-06-03 at 11.33.44.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

NeilP
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 220
Joined: 15 Jul 2012 11:45
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands, Europe
Status: Offline

Re: Problem with AFP/CIFS and El Capitan

#21

Post by NeilP » 07 Mar 2019 12:10

Almost two years later and still no money for new hardware and still not got this solved.

Sometimes it works sometimes not

Wish I had the money to buy new hardware. I came to FreeNAS many years ago as it was great with older hardware, enabling me to use older kit that I could salvage...this seems to have been lost now... :(

do you think the latest Xignas will run on my hardware :


System information
Hostname backup.local
Version 9.2.0.1 - Shigawire (revision 972)
Build date Mon Apr 28 02:43:01 CEST 2014
Platform OS FreeBSD 9.2-RELEASE-p4 (kern.osreldate: 902001)
Platform x64-embedded on AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4600+
System Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. C51-MCP51
System bios Award Software International, Inc. version: F2 03/09/2006

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4948
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Problem with AFP/CIFS and El Capitan

#22

Post by raulfg3 » 07 Mar 2019 15:34

yes, not problem to run,

CPU is enough to run normal NAS (Not for office or enterprise, but enought for normal home use)..

you do not post RAM (4GB minimun, 8 recommended to run a few better.

and please try this time use ZFSonRoot as boot
12.0.0.4 (revision 6766)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes

NeilP
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 220
Joined: 15 Jul 2012 11:45
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands, Europe
Status: Offline

Re: Problem with AFP/CIFS and El Capitan

#23

Post by NeilP » 07 Mar 2019 18:33

I did actually bite the bullet and try it

RAM,,,, I think 4gb. There are 4 sticks, which I did pull and re-seat, and I did notice one of them had a 1 GB sticker. So guess the rest are the same

Not sure about your meaning of ‘use ZFSonRoot as boot’

I downloaded the MBR USB image, used Etcher to write to USB
I booted from it, and installed on a new (another) 40gb WD IDE HDD.
I left it all exactly as Preferred Embedded install with Data + Swap

NeilP
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 220
Joined: 15 Jul 2012 11:45
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands, Europe
Status: Offline

Re: Problem with AFP/CIFS and El Capitan

#24

Post by NeilP » 07 Mar 2019 18:49

RAM indicates as 3.26GB on the status page.

I broke my leg in Prague on a motorbike in July, and I am still not walking properly, and this NAS box is in the attic. A mate carried it down for me, i worked on it today and it si now in the attic up a ladder again, so can't do any thing else to it for now

Been thinking about your comment about ZFS on boot, but no ...I used the default which seems to be UFS I am not good enough to try changing stuff from the default installation settings without some hand holding.. My username Status next to my posts says "Advanced" :D can that be changed back to long term newbie :D

I did find this

viewtopic.php?t=13650

but all the photo attachments are broken/ missing
Screen Shot 2019-03-07 at 17.42.01.jpg
Screen Shot 2019-03-07 at 17.42.44.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

NeilP
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 220
Joined: 15 Jul 2012 11:45
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands, Europe
Status: Offline

Re: Problem with AFP/CIFS and El Capitan

#25

Post by NeilP » 07 Mar 2019 19:31

The upgrade has obviously changed something in the network settings... :(

Screen Shot 2019-03-07 at 18.30.28.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4948
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Problem with AFP/CIFS and El Capitan

#26

Post by raulfg3 » 08 Mar 2019 07:36

you need to do some test to identify the botlleneck.
12.0.0.4 (revision 6766)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes

NeilP
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 220
Joined: 15 Jul 2012 11:45
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands, Europe
Status: Offline

Re: Problem with AFP/CIFS and El Capitan

#27

Post by NeilP » 08 Mar 2019 07:47

Seem to remember there were some network interface / packet size settings within NAS4FREE...

I sent my girlfriend up to the attic and she swapped the Quick release caddies, back to the old NAS4Free Shigwire boot media ( an identical WD 40gb HDD) and transfer speeds returned to normal, So it is a setting somewhere.

This is a direct gigabit to gigabit Card connection, computer to computer, single cable connection,

Thinking there is a setting .. MTU block size ? Will have a browse around to see in the ‘Network Speed’ Tune up sun forum

Post Reply

Return to “AFP”