Latest News:
2018-12-21: XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4.6315 - released!

We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS cost money, please consider a donation to our project so we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

Why Can’t You Copy DVDs to NAS Normally?

Buy, sell, jobs, music, fun, etc..
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
DJEmily
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 1
Joined: 21 Oct 2016 09:34
Status: Offline

Why Can’t You Copy DVDs to NAS Normally?

#1

Post by DJEmily » 21 Oct 2016 09:48

As a DVD collection owner, you will choose to rip DVD movies for more convenient playback. And if you have a NAS device, you probably would like to copy DVD collection to NAS drive to allow you to view via streamers. But How can I copy my DVDs to my NAS server?

Jack Foobar
experienced User
experienced User
Posts: 131
Joined: 07 Jul 2015 01:24
Status: Offline

Re: Why Can’t You Copy DVDs to NAS Normally?

#2

Post by Jack Foobar » 05 Nov 2016 23:07

Umm, set up samba and mount it is a network mapped drive in whatever OS you use? That's typically what a NAS does.

mariad
Starter
Starter
Posts: 29
Joined: 03 Mar 2017 12:57
Status: Offline

Re: Why Can’t You Copy DVDs to NAS Normally?

#3

Post by mariad » 14 Jun 2017 04:57

I was looking for an answer to this for so long now.

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4693
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Why Can’t You Copy DVDs to NAS Normally?

#4

Post by raulfg3 » 14 Jun 2017 08:50

use a DVD ripper to convert to ISO, and must be copied & stored in any NAS.

I Use DVDFab on my desktopPC, but someone suggest to use handbrake or ffmpeg
XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4 - Omnius (revision 6195)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes
Old Wiki

User avatar
lindsay
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 307
Joined: 23 Jun 2012 09:59
Location: Steinkjer,Norway
Status: Offline

Re: Why Can’t You Copy DVDs to NAS Normally?

#5

Post by lindsay » 14 Jun 2017 14:47

I use DVDFab and sometimes now redfox as anydvd is gone and hanbrake on my one desktop-PC
DVDFab is a must with nvidia card as you have to rip to HEVC and want to speed up the process.
Protected by smoothiebox Red,Green,
Purple,Orange Zones/VLAN`s
Powered by AMD A10-6700T


XigmaNAS Box-1 11.2.0.4 - Atomics (revision 5774)
Platform : x64-embedded on 2X Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2620 v4 @ 2.10GHz
Motherboard: ASUS Z10PA-D8, 2xSocket-2011-3
SATA Controllers : 1X Avago Technologies (LSI) SAS2008 and 1x Avago Technologies (LSI) SAS2308
Pool 1 (Media-Pool) 8X4TB in raidz2
Pool 2 (Media-Pool-2) 4X2TB in raidz2 and 2X2TB in mirror mirror and 2X3TB in mirror
Pool 3 (Media-Pool-3) 2X2TB in mirror and 2X4TB in mirror and 2X1TB in mirror

mariad
Starter
Starter
Posts: 29
Joined: 03 Mar 2017 12:57
Status: Offline

Re: Why Can’t You Copy DVDs to NAS Normally?

#6

Post by mariad » 20 Jun 2017 13:48

raulfg3 wrote:
14 Jun 2017 08:50
use a DVD ripper to convert to ISO, and must be copied & stored in any NAS.

I Use DVDFab on my desktopPC, but someone suggest to use handbrake or ffmpeg
What is the difference between DVDFab and Handbrake or ffmpeg?

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4693
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Why Can’t You Copy DVDs to NAS Normally?

#7

Post by raulfg3 » 20 Jun 2017 14:46

speed and webGUI only
XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4 - Omnius (revision 6195)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes
Old Wiki

mariad
Starter
Starter
Posts: 29
Joined: 03 Mar 2017 12:57
Status: Offline

Re: Why Can’t You Copy DVDs to NAS Normally?

#8

Post by mariad » 29 Jun 2017 12:45

raulfg3 wrote:
20 Jun 2017 14:46
speed and webGUI only
Is speed a remarkably different?

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4693
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Why Can’t You Copy DVDs to NAS Normally?

#9

Post by raulfg3 » 29 Jun 2017 12:54

yes in my test, I use 1/2 (half) time with DVDfab that I use with ffmpeg. but you can do your own test.
XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4 - Omnius (revision 6195)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes
Old Wiki

kenZ71
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 401
Joined: 27 Jun 2012 20:18
Location: Northeast, USA
Status: Offline

Re: Why Can’t You Copy DVDs to NAS Normally?

#10

Post by kenZ71 » 29 Jun 2017 15:47

I've had good luck with makemkv as well
11.2-RELEASE-p3 | ZFS Mirror - 2 x 8TB WD Red | 28GB ECC Ram
HP ML10v2 x64-embedded on Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-4150 CPU @ 3.50GHz

Extra memory so I can host a couple VMs
1) Unifi Controller on Ubuntu
2) Librenms on Ubuntu

Post Reply

Return to “Unrelated”