Latest News:
*New 11.2 series Release:
2019-06-20: XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4.6766 - released!

*New 12.0 series Release:
2019-06-20: XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4.6766 - released!

We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

Access from 2 different LAN

NIC, network controllers, compatibility questions, WOL, wake on lan
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
NMGMarques
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 1
Joined: 12 Feb 2019 10:28
Status: Offline

Access from 2 different LAN

#1

Post by NMGMarques » 12 Feb 2019 10:35

Hi all.

In our setting, we have 2 LAN, one corporate LAN working in the 10.8.1.0 range and another connected to our less secure internet provider on 192.168.1.0 range. I need to backup machines from both ranges to the NAS. Right now only the 192.168.1.0 range machines can connect to it.

If I create a NAS box with 2 NIC, can I set up one NIC to access the 10.8.1.x LAN and the other to access the 192.168.1.x LAN? If so, would the WebGUI be accessible on both NIC? How easy / hard would it be to setup?

To be clear, I am not looking for redundancy or speeding up the network access, just looking for a way to interface with 2 LAN ranges.

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4915
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Access from 2 different LAN

#2

Post by raulfg3 » 12 Feb 2019 10:45

configure 10.8 as LAN and 192.168 as OPT, and revise SMB settings (interface selection) to use one or both interfaces to comunicate
12.0.0.4 - BETA (revision 6625)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes
Old Wiki

User avatar
lindsay
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 318
Joined: 23 Jun 2012 09:59
Location: Steinkjer,Norway
Status: Offline

Re: Access from 2 different LAN

#3

Post by lindsay » 12 Feb 2019 16:30

raulfg3 wrote:
12 Feb 2019 10:45
configure 10.8 as LAN and 192.168 as OPT, and revise SMB settings (interface selection) to use one or both interfaces to comunicate
I think he is asking how to access GUI on both interfaces :D
Protected by smoothiebox Red,Green,
Purple,Orange Zones/VLAN`s
Powered by AMD A10-6700T


XigmaNAS Box-1 11.2.0.4 - Omnius (revision 6625)
Platform : x64-embedded on 2X Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2620 v4 @ 2.10GHz
Motherboard: ASUS Z10PA-D8, 2xSocket-2011-3
SATA Controllers : 1X Avago Technologies (LSI) SAS2008 and 1x Avago Technologies (LSI) SAS2308
Pool 1 (Media-Pool) 8X4TB in raidz2
Pool 2 (Media-Pool-2) 4X2TB in raidz2 and 2X2TB in mirror mirror and 2X3TB in mirror
Pool 3 (Media-Pool-3) 2X2TB in mirror and 2X4TB in mirror and 2X1TB in mirror

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4915
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Access from 2 different LAN

#4

Post by raulfg3 » 12 Feb 2019 18:15

lindsay wrote:
12 Feb 2019 16:30
raulfg3 wrote:
12 Feb 2019 10:45
configure 10.8 as LAN and 192.168 as OPT, and revise SMB settings (interface selection) to use one or both interfaces to comunicate
I think he is asking how to access GUI on both interfaces :D
sorry , then I misunderstand.
12.0.0.4 - BETA (revision 6625)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes
Old Wiki

User avatar
Lee Sharp
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 253
Joined: 13 May 2013 21:12
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Access from 2 different LAN

#5

Post by Lee Sharp » 07 May 2019 06:57

You can access the GUI on both is you wish or not. You are looking for the System -> General -> Hosts Allow section. You want " 10.8.1.0/24 192.168.1.0/24" in that section, or check the Ignore box below it.

Post Reply

Return to “LAN , Network controllers”