*New 11.3 series Release:
2019-10-05: XigmaNAS 11.3.0.4.6928 - released, 11.2 series are soon unsupported!

*New 12.0 series Release:
2019-10-05: XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4.6928 - released!

*New 11.2 series Release:
2019-09-23: XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4.6881 - released!

We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money. Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

Help Please - How to transfer Data with ConnectX 3?

NIC, network controllers, compatibility questions, WOL, wake on lan
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
vlad1966
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 5
Joined: 10 Aug 2013 05:53
Status: Offline

Help Please - How to transfer Data with ConnectX 3?

#1

Post by vlad1966 » 02 Mar 2019 17:21

Hello Everyone,

Would appreciate some help. I have XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4 - Omnius (revision 6315) installed on my custom-built server which has 6 4TB HDDs.
I will have a couple of PCs (1 Win10, 1 Linux Mint) connecting to the XigmaNAS via Peer-to-Peer setup using Mellanox ConnectX 3 2-port card in each PC & the XigmaNAS server.
Each of these 3 computers also has a 1Gb Ethernet connection to my router/internet.

Both ports on the Mellanox cars are recognized by XigmaNAS (OPT 0, OPT1).

Question is, what do I need to do on the XigmaNAS server to get the Win10 & Linux PCs to transfer files to the XigmaNAS server using the ConnectX 3 10Gb ports instead of the Gb ports?

Same question for the Win10 & Linux Mint PC if anyone can help there too.

Thanks!

vlad1966
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 5
Joined: 10 Aug 2013 05:53
Status: Offline

Re: Help Please - How to transfer Data with ConnectX 3?

#2

Post by vlad1966 » 23 Mar 2019 14:59

Anyone?

cookiemonster
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 163
Joined: 23 Mar 2014 02:58
Location: UK
Status: Offline

Re: Help Please - How to transfer Data with ConnectX 3?

#3

Post by cookiemonster » 23 Mar 2019 18:27

I'm not sure I understand the question. Even less sure what do you mean by peer to peer, do you mean a cable directly between computer and server, skipping the switch?
I'm guessing what you are trying to accomplish is force connections via a specific NIC, the one of the addon card of 10Gb instead of the builtin 1Gb.
If so, I would start by understanding: do I want to just disable the lower speed one or have both. If you just disable them, all is easy.
If wanting to selectively force traffic to the fast one and leave both enabled, then it becomes less easy but should be possible.
Can you explain a bit more what is the behaviour you want?
Main: Xigmanas 11.2.0.4 x64-full-RootOnZFS on Supermicro X8DT3. zroot on mirrorred pair of CRUCIAL_CT64M225. Memory: 24GB ECC; 2 Xeon E5645 CPUs; Storage: (HBA) - LSI SAS 9211-4i with 3 SATA x 1 Tb in raidZ1, 1 x 3 Tb SAS drive as single stripe.
Spare1: HP DL580 G5; 128 GB ECC RAM; 4 CPU; 8 x 500 GB disks on H210i
Spare2: HP DL360 G7; 6 GB ECC RAM; 1 Xeon CPU; 5 x 500 GB disks on H210i
Spare3: HP DL380 G7; 24 GB ECC RAM; 2 Xeon E5645 CPUs; 8 x 500 GB disks on IBM M1015 flashed to LSI9211-IT

vlad1966
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 5
Joined: 10 Aug 2013 05:53
Status: Offline

Re: Help Please - How to transfer Data with ConnectX 3?

#4

Post by vlad1966 » 23 Mar 2019 20:50

cookiemonster - Yes! You got it - I want to keep the 1GB & 10GB connections active on each of the 3 computers. I have them all connected directly to each other. No switch. Trying to force internal file transfers using the 10GB connection from the PC to each XigmaNAS server & also between each of the servers using FXP (using Wing FTP server - https://www.wftpserver.com/kb_fxp.htm). I want to keep the 1GB active on the PC for internet access (don't feel like disabling it any time I want to use the 10GB to transfer files).

Thanks!

cookiemonster
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 163
Joined: 23 Mar 2014 02:58
Location: UK
Status: Offline

Re: Help Please - How to transfer Data with ConnectX 3?

#5

Post by cookiemonster » 23 Mar 2019 21:18

Ok. the way I would investigate is going down the networking route. Of course that is done on the machine you want to force the traffic *from*.
Mind you, it might be tricky- see https://www.ixsystems.com/community/thr ... ment.7620/
Main: Xigmanas 11.2.0.4 x64-full-RootOnZFS on Supermicro X8DT3. zroot on mirrorred pair of CRUCIAL_CT64M225. Memory: 24GB ECC; 2 Xeon E5645 CPUs; Storage: (HBA) - LSI SAS 9211-4i with 3 SATA x 1 Tb in raidZ1, 1 x 3 Tb SAS drive as single stripe.
Spare1: HP DL580 G5; 128 GB ECC RAM; 4 CPU; 8 x 500 GB disks on H210i
Spare2: HP DL360 G7; 6 GB ECC RAM; 1 Xeon CPU; 5 x 500 GB disks on H210i
Spare3: HP DL380 G7; 24 GB ECC RAM; 2 Xeon E5645 CPUs; 8 x 500 GB disks on IBM M1015 flashed to LSI9211-IT

Post Reply

Return to “LAN , Network controllers”