Latest News:
2019-03-31: XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4.6625 - released!

Latest BETA Release:
2019-03-31: XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4.6625 - BETA released!

We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS cost money, please consider a donation to our project so we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

Missing space? 4tb use shows as 7tb used.

If you are new on this forum and you don't know where to post please use this sub-forum. Somebody will answer your question and/or will move your topic into the right sub-forum.
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
m119k
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 10
Joined: 08 Apr 2019 19:56
Status: Offline

Missing space? 4tb use shows as 7tb used.

#1

Post by m119k » 12 Apr 2019 22:22

Have an 8tb drive, windows showing 3.7TB of files if I right click all the folders and go properties, but the mapped drive is showing only 500GB free from 7.04TB?

User avatar
ms49434
Developer
Developer
Posts: 562
Joined: 03 Sep 2015 18:49
Location: Neuenkirchen-Vörden, Germany - GMT+1
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Missing space? 4tb use shows as 7tb used.

#2

Post by ms49434 » 13 Apr 2019 01:24

m119k wrote:
12 Apr 2019 22:22
Have an 8tb drive, windows showing 3.7TB of files if I right click all the folders and go properties, but the mapped drive is showing only 500GB free from 7.04TB?
There's nothing unusual your drive's capacity is 8tb which is 8,000,000,000,000 bytes and calculates as 7.28TiB (TebiByte) minus some overhead makes it 7.04TiB.

Please read the forum rules if you want further help: viewtopic.php?f=1&t=5
1) XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4 amd64-embedded on a Dell T20 running in a VM on ESXi 6.7, 22GB out of 32GB ECC RAM, LSI 9300-8i IT mode in passthrough mode. Pool 1: 2x HGST 10TB, mirrored, SLOG: Samsung 850 Pro, L2ARC: Samsung 850 Pro, Pool 2: 1x Samsung 860 EVO 1TB , services: Samba AD, CIFS/SMB, ftp, ctld, rsync, syncthing, zfs snapshots.
2) XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4 amd64-embedded on a Dell T20 running in a VM on ESXi 6.7, 8GB out of 32GB ECC RAM, IBM M1215 crossflashed, IT mode, passthrough mode, 1x HGST 10TB , services: rsync.

m119k
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 10
Joined: 08 Apr 2019 19:56
Status: Offline

Re: Missing space? 4tb use shows as 7tb used.

#3

Post by m119k » 13 Apr 2019 18:29

I understand 8tb will only show 7tb. My issue is I only have 3.7TB of files on there and it is showing as 6.5TB. No raid setup. Just 1x 8tb drive.

I didn't include software or hardware specifications because I didn't think it would be relevant to the question, but its an old H61 ITX board, Celeron, 8GB ram, 2x 8tb drives.

The drive with the issue was used on another iteration of this server, could it be windows recycle from another pc maybe?

cookiemonster
experienced User
experienced User
Posts: 106
Joined: 23 Mar 2014 02:58
Location: UK
Status: Offline

Re: Missing space? 4tb use shows as 7tb used.

#4

Post by cookiemonster » 13 Apr 2019 20:59

Did you format the drive when attaching it to your xigmanas? If so, which filesystem did you use? Also what protocol are you using to share it on the network i.e. cifs, nfs, etc.
Edit: what's the result of

Code: Select all

gpart show
Last edited by cookiemonster on 13 Apr 2019 21:37, edited 1 time in total.
Xigmanas 11.2.0.4 x64-full-RootOnZFS on Supermicro X8DT3. zroot on mirrorred pair of CRUCIAL_CT64M225. Memory: 24GB ECC; Storage: (HBA) - LSI SAS 9211-4i with 3 SATA x 1 Tb in raidZ1, 1 x 3 Tb SAS drive as single stripe.

m119k
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 10
Joined: 08 Apr 2019 19:56
Status: Offline

Re: Missing space? 4tb use shows as 7tb used.

#5

Post by m119k » 13 Apr 2019 21:37

No, as it was a UFS xigmanas disk previously. Just fitted and imported to a new machine, now being looked at from a different windows machine also.

cookiemonster
experienced User
experienced User
Posts: 106
Joined: 23 Mar 2014 02:58
Location: UK
Status: Offline

Re: Missing space? 4tb use shows as 7tb used.

#6

Post by cookiemonster » 13 Apr 2019 21:38

Ok, can you give the result of gpart show
Xigmanas 11.2.0.4 x64-full-RootOnZFS on Supermicro X8DT3. zroot on mirrorred pair of CRUCIAL_CT64M225. Memory: 24GB ECC; Storage: (HBA) - LSI SAS 9211-4i with 3 SATA x 1 Tb in raidZ1, 1 x 3 Tb SAS drive as single stripe.

m119k
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 10
Joined: 08 Apr 2019 19:56
Status: Offline

Re: Missing space? 4tb use shows as 7tb used.

#7

Post by m119k » 13 Apr 2019 21:50

Code: Select all

$ gpart show
=>         40  15628053088  ada0  GPT  (7.3T)
           40  15628053088     1  freebsd-ufs  (7.3T)

=>         40  15628053088  ada1  GPT  (7.3T)
           40  15628053088     1  freebsd-ufs  (7.3T)

=>        40  1953525088  ada2  GPT  (932G)
          40  1953525088     1  freebsd-ufs  (932G)

=>      40  30031792  da0  GPT  (14G)
        40        24       - free -  (12K)
        64      1024    1  freebsd-boot  (512K)
      1088       960       - free -  (480K)
      2048   4194304    2  freebsd-ufs  (2.0G)
   4196352  25165824    3  freebsd-swap  (12G)
  29362176    667648    4  freebsd-ufs  (326M)
  30029824      2008       - free -  (1.0M)
 

cookiemonster
experienced User
experienced User
Posts: 106
Joined: 23 Mar 2014 02:58
Location: UK
Status: Offline

Re: Missing space? 4tb use shows as 7tb used.

#8

Post by cookiemonster » 14 Apr 2019 00:07

Looks fine. ada0 and ada1 showing correctly the 7.3 TB. I don't have a windows machine to see what it shows but could it be a "windows thing" ? I can't remember if one can create quotas on ufs disks, but that would be on your xigmanas where it is attached anyway so you would know.
I'm not sure what to suggest, check with other operating system? And check for perhaps known issues relative to the protocol i.e. NFS, CFS, etc.
Xigmanas 11.2.0.4 x64-full-RootOnZFS on Supermicro X8DT3. zroot on mirrorred pair of CRUCIAL_CT64M225. Memory: 24GB ECC; Storage: (HBA) - LSI SAS 9211-4i with 3 SATA x 1 Tb in raidZ1, 1 x 3 Tb SAS drive as single stripe.

User avatar
JoseMR
Hardware & Software Guru
Hardware & Software Guru
Posts: 1003
Joined: 16 Apr 2014 04:15
Location: PR
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Missing space? 4tb use shows as 7tb used.

#9

Post by JoseMR » 14 Apr 2019 07:29

:shock: Ouch, 8TB drives with UFS is scary as its best, considering they URE increase the bigger they are plus the weakness of UFS in general;
Is even more terrifying a sudden power outage/unsynced buffers or fsck than ZFS + 8GB of Non-ECC RAM IMHO.

I hope you have a decent backup solution(you will need it) ;) , though it will not save you from random corruption due disk bitrot.

Back to the question, I've used to have very funny disk space reading back wen I was messing around with UFS and Windows mapped drives, so not to worry about as long as the NAS reporting the correct space.

Regards
System: FreeBSD 12, MB: Supermicro X8SI6-F, Xeon X3450, 16GB DDR3 ECC RDIMMs.
Addons at GitHub
JoseMRPubServ

cookiemonster
experienced User
experienced User
Posts: 106
Joined: 23 Mar 2014 02:58
Location: UK
Status: Offline

Re: Missing space? 4tb use shows as 7tb used.

#10

Post by cookiemonster » 14 Apr 2019 15:53

Indeed JoseMR. m119k, If I could I would move the data out, reformat as single stripe on ZFS and put the data back. As JoseMR said, as long as the OS is reporting the correct size, there's nothing to worry about.
Xigmanas 11.2.0.4 x64-full-RootOnZFS on Supermicro X8DT3. zroot on mirrorred pair of CRUCIAL_CT64M225. Memory: 24GB ECC; Storage: (HBA) - LSI SAS 9211-4i with 3 SATA x 1 Tb in raidZ1, 1 x 3 Tb SAS drive as single stripe.

m119k
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 10
Joined: 08 Apr 2019 19:56
Status: Offline

Re: Missing space? 4tb use shows as 7tb used.

#11

Post by m119k » 15 Apr 2019 14:37

Didn't realise it was so bad, last one of these I built was a freenas a few years ago, and haven't touched one since. That is actually ZFS with ECC, this is a copy of that for someone else.

Had a quick read up. I've formatted the drives and in the process of copying the files over again on ZFS.

I'd like to get the freenas over to xigma, I don't need half the space missing as backup, would rather the space back on that one. NOt sure how yet though. From memory it has 5 or 6 3tb and 5 or 6 6tb drives.

Cheers

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4797
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Missing space? 4tb use shows as 7tb used.

#12

Post by raulfg3 » 17 Apr 2019 08:57

Revise SMB share . Do not share /mnt/ada

share instead /mnt/yourdisk/Video or simmilar
12.0.0.4 - BETA (revision 6625)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes
Old Wiki

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”