*New 12.1 series Release:
2020-04-17: XigmaNAS 12.1.0.4.7542 - released

*New 11.3 series Release:
2020-04-16: XigmaNAS 11.3.0.4.7538 - released!


We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money. Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

4 hdds for zfs raidz?

Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
C.C. Chan
Starter
Starter
Posts: 38
Joined: 21 Nov 2013 05:04
Status: Offline

4 hdds for zfs raidz?

#1

Post by C.C. Chan »

Hi dear,
From the doc. it is suggested to use 3 hdds for zfs radz, and 4 hdds for zfs radz2. What is tje reason fot this? I just wondering if i can use 4 hdds for zfs radz?

Thanks!
NAS1: NAS4Free 10.3.0.3 - Pilingitam (revision 4107) / x86-full on Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU @ 3.00GHz / Shuttle Inc FB61V30 / 2G RAM / 2T x 2 zfs mirror
NAS2: NAS4Free 9.1.0.1 - Sandstorm (revision 847) / x64-embedded on Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU @ 3.00GHz / ASUS P5P800-MX / 2G RAM / 2T x 3 zfs raidz
NAS3: NAS4Free 11.2.0.4 - Omnius (revision 6400)/ x64-full on Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU @ 3.00GHz / ASUS P5P800-MX / 3G RAM / 1T x 4 zfs raidz

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5086
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: 4 hdds for zfs raidz?

#2

Post by raulfg3 »

12.0.0.4 (revision 6766)+OBI on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 12x3TB disk in 3 vdev in RaidZ1 = 32TB Raw size only 22TB usable

Wiki
Last changes

HP T510

User avatar
mrjacobrussell
Starter
Starter
Posts: 62
Joined: 05 Jun 2015 17:57
Status: Offline

Re: 4 hdds for zfs raidz?

#3

Post by mrjacobrussell »

This was very helpful too https://www.wintelguy.com/zfs-calc.pl
11.2.0.4 - Omnius (revision 6766)
x64-embedded on Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz 16gb ram 15.4Tb pool storage

User avatar
apollo567
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 736
Joined: 23 Jun 2012 06:37
Location: Ludwigshafen, Germany
Status: Offline

Re: 4 hdds for zfs raidz?

#4

Post by apollo567 »

1 Have 3 Pools with ZFS radz, which all worked fine for me yet. So more Space available
my NAS and its development until today: viewtopic.php?f=63&t=39&sid=039fed830cf ... 4d0abe4a04

Post Reply

Return to “ZFS (only!)”