Latest News:
*New 11.2 series Release:
2019-06-20: XigmaNAS 11.2.0.4.6766 - released!

*New 12.0 series Release:
2019-06-20: XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4.6766 - released!

We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

AutoExpand - another dumb question.

Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
idmah
Starter
Starter
Posts: 53
Joined: 10 Mar 2013 16:53
Status: Offline

AutoExpand - another dumb question.

#1

Post by idmah » 10 Aug 2019 05:41

Dumb questions cuz I'm about to try to grow my ZFS - Pool
Right now I have 5 X 1.5 TB and 1 X 2 TB hard drives in a Raidz2 config.
running 11.1.0.4 - Atomics (revision 5579)

want to replace those with 6X 6 Tb drives. I seem to remember or have seen something about
setting autoexpand somewhere but can't seem to find it in the GUI.
BFDMedia autoexpand off default
do I have to destroy my pool to fix this??

Also what's this 4KB thing mean? and how do I check that?? SMART has nothing


also will that destroy my ZFS- Pool?

as far as I've read I.

1. Offline one of the drives.
2. shut down the system
3. Swap the offline drive with a new 6TB - unformatted??? drive. if I need to formate it, can I do it on window or Mac with some utility,
4. reboot the system,
5. replace command <new drive> with old (device name ie.da1)
6. wait for scrub done.

sleid
PowerUser
PowerUser
Posts: 739
Joined: 23 Jun 2012 07:36
Location: FRANCE LIMOUSIN CORREZE
Status: Offline

Re: AutoExpand - another dumb question.

#2

Post by sleid » 10 Aug 2019 08:48

Step by step

First of all initialize your 6T disks under Windows. No partition or formatting.

Nas4free:
Command:

zpool set autoexpand=on name_of_pool

We check:

zpool get autoexpand name_of_pool


offline the firs disk

shutdown your Nas

exchange the first disk by the new 6T

boot your Nas
replace the old disk (which should appear as "1354568xxxx" was old first disk) by ne new 6T
wait for the end of the resilvering.

Go to the second and so on, the pool will only take its new size after the end of the last resilvering.

No data is lost during this operation unless two other disks fail.
12.0.0.4 - Reticulus (revision 6766)
FreeBSD 12.0-RELEASE-p6 #0 r349200M: Wed Jun 19 20:27:52 CEST 2019
X64-embedded sur Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU C2750 @ 2.40GHz Boot UEFI
ASRock C2750D4I 2 X 8GB DDR3 ECC
Pool of 2 vdev Raidz1: 3 x WDC WD40EFRX + 3 x WDC WD30EZRX

idmah
Starter
Starter
Posts: 53
Joined: 10 Mar 2013 16:53
Status: Offline

Re: AutoExpand - another dumb question.

#3

Post by idmah » 14 Aug 2019 17:59

Great thanks for the verification; hand holding appreciated!
I'm such a scardy-cat! Hahah!

cookiemonster
experienced User
experienced User
Posts: 148
Joined: 23 Mar 2014 02:58
Location: UK
Status: Offline

Re: AutoExpand - another dumb question.

#4

Post by cookiemonster » 18 Aug 2019 00:22

Hi, not questioning the advice, just curious. Why initialising the disks under windows first?
Main: Xigmanas 11.2.0.4 x64-full-RootOnZFS on Supermicro X8DT3. zroot on mirrorred pair of CRUCIAL_CT64M225. Memory: 24GB ECC; 2 Xeon E5645 CPUs; Storage: (HBA) - LSI SAS 9211-4i with 3 SATA x 1 Tb in raidZ1, 1 x 3 Tb SAS drive as single stripe.
Spare1: HP DL580 G5; 128 GB ECC RAM; 4 CPU; 8 x 500 GB disks on H210i
Spare2: HP DL360 G7; 6 GB ECC RAM; 1 Xeon CPU; 5 x 500 GB disks on H210i
Spare3: HP DL380 G7; 24 GB ECC RAM; 2 Xeon E5645 CPU; 8 x 500 GB disks on H410i

sleid
PowerUser
PowerUser
Posts: 739
Joined: 23 Jun 2012 07:36
Location: FRANCE LIMOUSIN CORREZE
Status: Offline

Re: AutoExpand - another dumb question.

#5

Post by sleid » 23 Aug 2019 19:34

cookiemonster wrote:
18 Aug 2019 00:22
Hi, not questioning the advice, just curious. Why initialising the disks under windows first?
Drives larger than 4T need to be initialized for use.
12.0.0.4 - Reticulus (revision 6766)
FreeBSD 12.0-RELEASE-p6 #0 r349200M: Wed Jun 19 20:27:52 CEST 2019
X64-embedded sur Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU C2750 @ 2.40GHz Boot UEFI
ASRock C2750D4I 2 X 8GB DDR3 ECC
Pool of 2 vdev Raidz1: 3 x WDC WD40EFRX + 3 x WDC WD30EZRX

cookiemonster
experienced User
experienced User
Posts: 148
Joined: 23 Mar 2014 02:58
Location: UK
Status: Offline

Re: AutoExpand - another dumb question.

#6

Post by cookiemonster » 23 Aug 2019 21:29

Right, I learn something everyday
Main: Xigmanas 11.2.0.4 x64-full-RootOnZFS on Supermicro X8DT3. zroot on mirrorred pair of CRUCIAL_CT64M225. Memory: 24GB ECC; 2 Xeon E5645 CPUs; Storage: (HBA) - LSI SAS 9211-4i with 3 SATA x 1 Tb in raidZ1, 1 x 3 Tb SAS drive as single stripe.
Spare1: HP DL580 G5; 128 GB ECC RAM; 4 CPU; 8 x 500 GB disks on H210i
Spare2: HP DL360 G7; 6 GB ECC RAM; 1 Xeon CPU; 5 x 500 GB disks on H210i
Spare3: HP DL380 G7; 24 GB ECC RAM; 2 Xeon E5645 CPU; 8 x 500 GB disks on H410i

User avatar
ernie
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1414
Joined: 26 Aug 2012 19:09
Location: France - Val d'Oise
Status: Offline

Re: AutoExpand - another dumb question.

#7

Post by ernie » 23 Aug 2019 22:00

sleid wrote:
23 Aug 2019 19:34
cookiemonster wrote:
18 Aug 2019 00:22
Hi, not questioning the advice, just curious. Why initialising the disks under windows first?
Drives larger than 4T need to be initialized for use.
Is it possible only with Windows ?
Or is it also possible with linux system (Debian, Ubuntu) or Freebsd ? And how ? Gparted ?
NAS 1&2:
System: GA-6LXGH(BIOS: R01 04/30/2014) / 16 Go ECC
XigmaNAS 12.0.0.4.6766 embedded
NAS1: Xeon E3 1241@3.5GHz, 4HDD@2To/raidz2 (WD red), 3HDD@300Go/sas/raidz1 (Hitachi), 1SSD cache, Zlog on sas mirror
NAS2: G3220@3GHz, 3HDD@2To/raidz1 (Seagate), 1SSD cache, 1HDD@300Go/UFS
UPS: APC Back-UPS RS 900G
Case : Fractal Design XL R2

Extensions & services:
NAS1: OBI (Plex, extendedGUI, BTSync, zrep, rclone), nfs, UPS,
NAS2: OBI (extendedGUI, zrep (backup mode))

Post Reply

Return to “ZFS (only!)”