Sorry we lost some posts because of database errors!

*New 12.1 series Release:
2020-09-01: XigmaNAS 12.1.0.4.7728 - released

*New 11.4 series Release:
2020-08-27: XigmaNAS 11.4.0.4.7718 - released!


We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money. Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

H310 drives showing 3Gbps or 1.5Gbps

Hard disks, HDD, RAID Hardware, disk controllers, SATA, PATA, SCSI, IDE, On Board, USB, Firewire, CF (Compact Flash)
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
peksi
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 4
Joined: 06 Nov 2019 21:16
Status: Offline

H310 drives showing 3Gbps or 1.5Gbps

#1

Post by peksi »

Hi all,

I have a new installation of Xigmanas with Dell Perc H310 flashed to IT mode. I've got 4 SATA3 HDDs and 2 SATA3.2 SDDs and strangely the HDDs show as 3Gbps and SDDs show as 1.5 Gbps. To my knowledge H310 should be SATA3 and all should be 6Gbps. Any ideas on how to correct this?

Screenshot attached. Thanks for any assistance.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
ms49434
Developer
Developer
Posts: 849
Joined: 03 Sep 2015 18:49
Location: Neuenkirchen-Vörden, Germany - GMT+1
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: H310 drives showing 3Gbps or 1.5Gbps

#2

Post by ms49434 »

peksi wrote:
06 Nov 2019 21:25
Hi all,

I have a new installation of Xigmanas with Dell Perc H310 flashed to IT mode. I've got 4 SATA3 HDDs and 2 SATA3.2 SDDs and strangely the HDDs show as 3Gbps and SDDs show as 1.5 Gbps. To my knowledge H310 should be SATA3 and all should be 6Gbps. Any ideas on how to correct this?

Screenshot attached. Thanks for any assistance.
Correction: The documentation is quite basic and doesn't clearly state the transfer rate for SATA drives.

According to the manual, there's an option in the BIOS which lets you switch between 6Gbps and 3Gbps. Source https://downloads.dell.com/manuals/common/rc_h310_h710_h710p_h810_ug_en-us.pdf
The chipset, the LSI 2008, supports 6Gbps SATA. Source: https://www.servethehome.com/lsi-sas-2008-raid-controller-hba-information/

This article might shed some light on your issue:
https://www.dell.com/community/PowerEdge-HDD-SCSI-RAID/PowerEdge-T320-SATA-sync-speed-only-3GBPs/td-p/4724825
1) XigmaNAS 12.1.0.4 amd64-embedded on a Dell T20 running in a VM on ESXi 6.7U3, 22GB out of 32GB ECC RAM, LSI 9300-8i IT mode in passthrough mode. Pool 1: 2x HGST 10TB, mirrored, L2ARC: Samsung 850 Pro; Pool 2: 1x Samsung 860 EVO 1TB, SLOG: Samsung SM883, services: Samba AD, CIFS/SMB, ftp, ctld, rsync, syncthing, zfs snapshots.
2) XigmaNAS 12.1.0.4 amd64-embedded on a Dell T20 running in a VM on ESXi 6.7U3, 8GB out of 32GB ECC RAM, IBM M1215 crossflashed, IT mode, passthrough mode, 2x HGST 10TB , services: rsync.

User avatar
raulfg3
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4984
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 22:13
Location: Madrid (ESPAÑA)
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: H310 drives showing 3Gbps or 1.5Gbps

#3

Post by raulfg3 »

change your SATA cable to be sure that cable is not the problem.
12.1.0.4 - Ingva (revision 7743) on SUPERMICRO X8SIL-F 8GB of ECC RAM, 11x3TB disk in 1 vdev = Vpool = 32TB Raw size , so 29TB usable size (I Have other NAS as Backup)

Wiki
Last changes

HP T510

peksi
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 4
Joined: 06 Nov 2019 21:16
Status: Offline

Re: H310 drives showing 3Gbps or 1.5Gbps

#4

Post by peksi »

It is connecting to Supermicro BPN-SAS-836A backplane using mini SAS 8087 cables, originally used with SATA2 environment.

Next question would be that are cabling and backplanes different with SATA2 and SATA3? I could try to update the backplane + cable packet next.

peksi
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 4
Joined: 06 Nov 2019 21:16
Status: Offline

Re: H310 drives showing 3Gbps or 1.5Gbps

#5

Post by peksi »

The backplane is 3Gbps only so that's the cause. New ones cost quite a bit so I think I will get rid of the backplane and connect drives directly with breakout cables.

Post Reply

Return to “Hard disk & controller”