*New 12.1 series Release:
2019-11-08: XigmaNAS 12.1.0.4.7091 - released!

*New 11.3 series Release:
2019-10-19: XigmaNAS 11.3.0.4.7014 - released


We really need "Your" help on XigmaNAS https://translations.launchpad.net/xigmanas translations. Please help today!

Producing and hosting XigmaNAS costs money. Please consider donating for our project so that we can continue to offer you the best.
We need your support! eg: PAYPAL

Transmission torrents IDLE after moving server

Transmission bittorrent server.
Forum rules
Set-Up GuideFAQsForum Rules
Post Reply
W1p3rA
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 4
Joined: 05 Feb 2020 21:10
Status: Offline

Transmission torrents IDLE after moving server

#1

Post by W1p3rA » 05 Feb 2020 21:18

Hey guys!

I have a little problem that occurred to me a few days back.

I have quit my job a month back so I took my torrent server to home. I did basically nothing but changed the IP address of the server to match the local network. Everything started up SMB worked no problem, but when I started the transmission webgui I saw that all torrents are idle. I was like okay, maybe the moving got it a bit more than I thought but whatever, deleted all the torrents and added new but all of them started as idle and will not budge. Tried fresh reinstall with latest stable, still no luck. Opened firewall on router and in the NAS but nothing happened, port in transmission webgui is either closed or unknown. Tried NATing the port to the server but nothing again. File permissions are right there is no error showing just simply idle. I tried canyouseeme.org and it shows my port is fine and open, when I close it on router or NAS it shows correctly that it can not see me. What could be the problem? Tried tweaking every setting, tried UPnP everything. Transmission does not set UPnP on the router by the way.

If I missed anything or more info needed do not hesitate to ask! :roll:

Thank you for your help in advance!

Cheers, W.

provels
experienced User
experienced User
Posts: 102
Joined: 05 Jan 2014 15:31
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Status: Offline

Re: Transmission torrents IDLE after moving server

#2

Post by provels » 06 Feb 2020 22:00

Peder
XigmaNAS 11.3.0.4.7014 Embedded / MiniDLNA and CIFS/SMB only
HP ProLiant DL320 G3 / P4 660 3.6GHz HT / 4GB ECC / 2 x 3TB WD Red, ZFS Mirror / APC Back-UPS BR 800

W1p3rA
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 4
Joined: 05 Feb 2020 21:10
Status: Offline

Re: Transmission torrents IDLE after moving server

#3

Post by W1p3rA » 07 Feb 2020 09:31

No sadly, ISP not blocking anything. Like really anything in the world :lol:

User avatar
Snufkin
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 297
Joined: 01 Jul 2012 11:27
Location: Etc/GMT-3 (BSD style)
Status: Offline

Re: Transmission torrents IDLE after moving server

#4

Post by Snufkin » 07 Feb 2020 11:15

W1p3rA wrote:
05 Feb 2020 21:18
Transmission does not set UPnP on the router by the way.
This transmission behavior is incorrect.
The root cause may be incorrect network settings, in particular, the default gateway.
Please, double check IPv4 Configuration in Network | LAN Management page.
XNAS 11.3.0.4 embedded, ASUS P5B-E, Intel DC E6600, 4 GB DDR2, 2 x HGST HDN726040ALE614, 2 x WDC WD5000AAKS, Ippon Back Power Pro 400

W1p3rA
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 4
Joined: 05 Feb 2020 21:10
Status: Offline

Re: Transmission torrents IDLE after moving server

#5

Post by W1p3rA » 09 Feb 2020 20:38

I wanted it so badly to set to static IP that I did not try DHCP. It works that way but I need it to be static... If I set my settings like: IP of machine is 10.0.0.3 and gateway is 10.0.0.1 because 10.0.0.2 is a domain server, it does not work. If set to DHCP it works, wonder why. Everything works correctly only transmission messing with me?

User avatar
Snufkin
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 297
Joined: 01 Jul 2012 11:27
Location: Etc/GMT-3 (BSD style)
Status: Offline

Re: Transmission torrents IDLE after moving server

#6

Post by Snufkin » 09 Feb 2020 20:42

W1p3rA wrote:
09 Feb 2020 20:38
I wanted it so badly to set to static IP that I did not try DHCP. It works that way but I need it to be static...
Did you try to bind XNAS Ethernet card MAC to IP address via your home gateway DHCP setup?
It gives you static IP, but assigned via DHCP.
XNAS 11.3.0.4 embedded, ASUS P5B-E, Intel DC E6600, 4 GB DDR2, 2 x HGST HDN726040ALE614, 2 x WDC WD5000AAKS, Ippon Back Power Pro 400

W1p3rA
NewUser
NewUser
Posts: 4
Joined: 05 Feb 2020 21:10
Status: Offline

Re: Transmission torrents IDLE after moving server

#7

Post by W1p3rA » 10 Feb 2020 09:52

The home gateway is a useless piece of... let me not finish it. It is an ISP requirement of the very low end possible, and they do not support me getting a better one, it gets replaced every few month. I even told them I will buy a new one on my money and they just have to config it but nooooo

User avatar
Snufkin
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 297
Joined: 01 Jul 2012 11:27
Location: Etc/GMT-3 (BSD style)
Status: Offline

Re: Transmission torrents IDLE after moving server

#8

Post by Snufkin » 10 Feb 2020 10:36

W1p3rA wrote:
10 Feb 2020 09:52
The home gateway is a useless piece of...
I'd suggest to install extra router between provider piece of... hardware and your XNAS box.
This will allow you to get an external address via provider DHCP and independently manage your own subnet.
XNAS 11.3.0.4 embedded, ASUS P5B-E, Intel DC E6600, 4 GB DDR2, 2 x HGST HDN726040ALE614, 2 x WDC WD5000AAKS, Ippon Back Power Pro 400

jamaroney
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 226
Joined: 13 Aug 2012 17:32
Location: Stroudsburg, PA
Status: Offline

Re: Transmission torrents IDLE after moving server

#9

Post by jamaroney » 13 Feb 2020 11:32

W1p3rA wrote:
09 Feb 2020 20:38
I wanted it so badly to set to static IP that I did not try DHCP. It works that way but I need it to be static... If I set my settings like: IP of machine is 10.0.0.3 and gateway is 10.0.0.1 because 10.0.0.2 is a domain server, it does not work. If set to DHCP it works, wonder why. Everything works correctly only transmission messing with me?
My XNas server always had a static IP, and I've never had a problem w/ Transmission.

Post Reply

Return to “BitTorrent”