User Tools

Site Tools


documentation:setup_and_user_guide:services_nfs_shares

6.5.1-Services NFS Shares


On this page you can create, delete or manage your NFS shares.

Click on the icon to open the Services|NFS|Edit page where you can create a new share.

Click on the icon to delete an existing share.

Click on the icon to manage an existing share.

Services NFS Edit

The parameters: Map all users to root, Authorised Network, All Dirs, Read Only, and Quiet are now set on a per share basis, and not for the whole NAS4Free server.

Path: This is the path to the storage that is to be shared using NFS. The format of this is /mnt/storagename where storagename is the mount point name. Click on … button at the end of the Path section to bring up a simple file system browser. Click the desired mount point then click “OK”. The mount point will be added to the Path.

Note - Only existing mount points can be shared. You cannot share a folder or directory, only the whole mount point.

Map all users to root: This means that on the NAS4Free server remote users will have root privileges while accessing the disks over NFS. The default is “YES”, and in general it is a bad idea to give remote users root privileges.

Authorised network: This parameter is the list of authorised networks that are allowed to connect to the NAS4Free Server via NFS. This list of authorised networks is defined by setting which group of addresses can access the server. Set subnet mask (usually 24)

Comment: Here you can add a comment to help describe your NAS4Free NFS Shares.

All dirs: If you check the All dirs box, remote users will be able to access all subdirectories that are located under the Path to your shares. If it is not checked, remote users will only be able to access the specified Path in your shares for NFS access.

Read only: If you check the Read Only box, remote users can only READ files from the NFS shares. If the Read Only box is not checked, remote users will have full READ & WRITE access to the NFS share.

Quiet: If you check the Quiet box, you can inhibit some of the syslog diagnostic error messages that will be generated for bad lines of code in /etc/exports. If the Quiet box is not checked, the default message logging level will be used.

Click the “SAVE” Button to write your changes to the NAS4Free configuration file. You should now be able to access your new share over the network if your client PC is capable of using NFS. For details on configuring Ubuntu to use NFS shares please read SUG Section 2.6.5-NFS Clients.

Latest info about multiple shares: http://forums.nas4free.org/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=1816

documentation/setup_and_user_guide/services_nfs_shares.txt · Last modified: 2018/07/08 16:57 (external edit)